We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #60 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were warmly greeted by the doorman. The desk staff was friendly and helpful in directing us to the best way to get to US Cellular. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were very clean. The staff even held our bags for us while we attended a baseball game. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    459
    151
    61
    44
See reviews for
195
391
103
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good hotel. Reasonably priced. Nice staff. Well positioned. Went in July 2014 for a three night stay. No complaints nothing amazing. Pretty steady. Thought it was a bit loud but whatever does no big problem seen much much worse before on our world travels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are looking for a good location / reasonable price hotel in Chicago the Hotel Blake fits the bill.

Very near a rail station on the Airport (Blue) ? line. We purchased a three day pass and your travel in / out of the airport is solved plus you can use buses / trains during your stay at no extra cost.

The hotel is near many breakfast cafe's and restaurants and a walk away from one of the main blues clubs. With the train station and bus stops near by its easy to get to the main shopping area.

Hotel was clean / comfortable and quiet, it didn't have a restaurant when we stayed Dec 13 but with good cafes/restaurants within easy reach this is not a problem at all.

We have been two years running and will be back...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel Blake demonstrated the big heart of Chicago beginning with a warm and hearty welcome from "Showtime" who shepherded us in and got us settled in our room. We traveled with small children and all the excess baggage and care that entails.
The desk helped us with dinner recommendations and a discount coupon. They also arranged the boat tour with a discount.
The room was beautiful and quiet. The beds were fantastic.
We travelled by train and this was a great location for our overnight stay. Easy to access other attractions without a car.

Room Tip: We were next to elevators and never heard a sound. Window faced a wall but this may be preferred ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I wrote a review of this place in 2013 and have come back again so can update. There are no massive changes, although there is no longer a bar in the lobby. All is clean, no administrative problems. The decor is quite tasteful (except perhaps for those white jars in reception), the layout of the lobby is a little odd but not a serious problem, and the rooms can be truly wonderful when they put their minds to it. The corridors are endless, bleak and rather awful, and the carpets could do with a review, but this is hardly an issue. This year's top tip from me is about room choice. The corner rooms - ending in suffix 24 - look right across at the Washington Library, and have large windows on two sides of the room that flood the entire place with light. As the drapes work well, one can block the light out as required for early morning sleepins, and this is a spectacular view to admire naked, to the consternation of the old lady in the coffee shop opposite. A good place to stay, and there are often lastminute deals to be had that land you a nice room (which you can usually wangle to an upgrade if you smile sweetly) for about $130 (plus tax) or so. Overall recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights here Aug. 2014 and loved it. The hotel is small but comfortable, the rooms are quiet and well decorated, bathrooms are great. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they went out of their way to make sure we had a good time in Chicago. Location is about 3 blocks off Michigan Ave. within easy walking distance of Buckingham Fountain, the Art Institute and loads of places to eat. We could also catch the L just around the corner if needed. Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable, we had a great time and will stay here again when in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very nice luxurious hotel in downtown Chicago. The accommodations were excellent and the Hotel staff was nice and courteous. Would highly recommend for weekend getaways with family or friends and also a nice place for business trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.