We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time but not our last!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
North Liberty, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time but not our last!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

While our room has some minor maintenance issues, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff. We did not go to the bar (open 5-9 p.m. nightly) or the restaurant. We have favorite restaurants around town that we enjoy. Very convenient to the Red Line so you can park your car & get around Chicago easily. We did self park (garage 1 block away) but could do valet (parked at same location). We expected there to be a trash can and a recycling can - but no recycling program at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is pleased to learn that they were a memorable aspect of your experience. I do hope you get a chance to try our onsite restaurant, Meli Cafe, on your next stay with us. We would like you to know that we are consistently improving our green status and that we are green certified. We appreciate your suggestion in regards to recycling bins in the guestrooms and will take it into consideration for future updates. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    524
    159
    65
    46
See reviews for
221
449
113
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in one of the king rooms for 4 nights while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton and then stayed another night in a shared double queen room with a colleague when our flight was cancelled. Overall, I thought the Blake was a decent place to stay and a good price, but I think it could be a much nicer place if they invested some more effort in cleaning the place and updating the rooms. There were a lot of weird stains, beds were awkwardly made, and the fan in our shared room was insanely noisy. The staff was incredibly nice, so I feel bad leaving such a mixed review--but unless things improve I will probably stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. While I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly during your stay, I am sorry to hear about the issues with your room. You will be pleased to learn that I have taken this issue to our housekeeping department to ensure that this will no longer be an issue in the future. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly and responsive. High ceilings, and windows that open. Old hotel that has been renovated tastefully. Within 2 blocks of CTA. Great views of Chicago Public Library building and Willis Tower if you're lucky. Clean. Large bathrooms but no tub. Ice only available by going to 12th floor.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our property with special notice of our friendly staff and convenient location. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed one night and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is not directly next to a lot, however, it's within a few blocks of the magnificent mile & state street. We were able to walk to many different locations. For the people who are visiting from out of town, Gino's East Deep Pizza is directly across the street.

I recommend the valet service over the parking garages next to the hotel. You will pay a little bit more, but the convenience is worth it. Breakfast is not included, but they have a full restaurant attached to the property. The vents in the room were a little loud. The bathroom was fantastic. It included a lot of space, plus 2 sinks and a great walk-in shower.

I would recommend this hotel for shorter stays while you're in Chicago. It's good for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Hotel Blake Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property with special regards to our spacious rooms and convenient location to attractions in Downtown Chicago. I appreciate your kind feedback of your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location is not the best. We had a brick wall for a view. Only rooms facing the street have a view. A piece of wall molding fell and hit friend in head. Bar was closed even though sign said open Sunday. Only good thing is the restaurant is fabulous. When I go back to Chicago will stay elsewhere but definitely visit the restaurant to eat!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback in regards to your stay, and I apologize for incidents endured on your experience. I would like to further discuss the details of your stay to ensure that these problems do not occur in the future as the guest experience is the number one priority of our staff. Please contact the hotel directly at 312-986-1234. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Blake when in town for a show at the Chicago theatre. We have been to Chicago multiple times and wanted to stay in the theatre district. We booked through Hotwire so we didn't find out the name of the hotel until after we paid. We got a great deal that and we both feel like we got what we paid for. I think if we would've paid full price we probably would have been disappointed because the hotel does appear a little over-used. Valet parking was $47 per day which, in my experience, is the average cost at hotels in downtown Chicago. We drove around looking for another option but we couldn't find a lot that allowed over night so we just used the valet. It would've been nice if there was a valet only lane in front of the hotel, we had to lap around multiple times before there was space for us to leave our car for valet because there were cabs lined up. I called about a week before our reservation and reserved an upper floor, we were on the 7th floor and never had any issues with noise. Some hotels won't accept your requests if you use booking sites- so we appreciated this consideration! We were able to get early check in at 11:30am which we love. It was very convenient to get settled in the room and have more time to check out the city. We walked EVERYWHERE, even in -2 weather, the distance was bearable so we liked that about the hotel. We also liked that the room had HIGH ceilings, it made it feel large; but the room really was spacious anyways. One thing we disliked was the bathroom shower. I'm not sure if we were given a handicapped accessible room or what, but the shower was totally open to the rest of the bathroom. There was a curtain that did nothing so the entire bathroom got soaked during showers. We requested extra towels and staff brought us plenty so we had enough to keep on the floor for showers and use for ourselves. For us, since we were able to check in 4 hours early we just chalked it up to they accommodated us with what was available at the time and it really wasn't that bad! We didn't go in the bar or restaurant at all, there are too many cool places in Chicago! There was a Ginos East right across the street, which has always been our favorite Chicago pizza so we loved that. There is also a great hole in the wall bar called Kasey's Tavern that was about 2 blocks away we enjoyed too. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to stay here again if we got the same deal! The hotel itself was pretty average but the accommodating staff made it that much better.

Also, we forgot 4 shirts that were hanging in the closet and didn't realize it until we got home. I called and had to leave message for the housekeeping manager. I was contacted the next day and the staff shipped everything to us. We paid for the shipping, didn't request overnight or anything special and we received it within 2 days! Turned out to be another example of attentive staff members.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am glad that you enjoyed our property with special regards to our friendly and attentive staff. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next experience with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The staff is good here-actually really good, but the hotel misrepresents their offerings. Although they have a restaurant, the latest it stays open is 10pm-not 12:30am as is listed on their website. I found this out the hard way. I came back to my room from a day long conference, took a brief break, and 20 minutes later hopped onto a nearly 2 hour webinar. Thinking that I certainly had plenty of time until the restaurant closed, I made a few phone calls. When I went downstairs at 9 pm (totally a decent hour) I was informed by the bell hop (rather rudely might I add) that the restaurant was closed due to pending inclement weather. While that is certainly understandable, when I asked what they typical restaurant hours were, I was informed that they are 7 am - 10 pm, which differs greatly from what's listed on their website. Needless to say, I was more than a little bit frustrated. These guys just need to update their website to make it accurately reflect their offerings,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the Hotel Blake Chicago. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our staff. I apologize for the issues endured due to the discrepancy on our web site. The web site currently reflects the restaurant's spring hours, and I am sorry that this was a problem on your experience. We do hope you get a chance to try it on your next visit. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.