We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #62 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wyndam Blake Chicago was fantastic! Right when we pulled in front Showtime (Greg) was amazing and helped with our bags! We literally pulled up and he came out the door waving! The room was a great size and clean. Shower was amazing and the bed was so extremely comfortable we didn't want to leave (or get out of the bed each day!). The location was right in the middle of what we needed. We walked to Navy Pier while stopping at shops and were able to walk to Columbia College Chicago very easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay due to our friendly staff, spacious rooms, and location within close proximity to attractions and shopping. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your business and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    493
    156
    65
    45
See reviews for
207
418
106
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter wanted to go to Chicago for her 12th birthday. My husband has never been to Chicago before so I wanted to stay at a nice hotel. I spent many hours reserching hotels and found the reviews of this hotel to be good. It is a very good location at a good price. I was impressed from the moment we pulled in to valet park the car. The bell staff was great. The front desk was very frendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff in the hallways always spoke to us. The room was spotless. The public areas were very clean. The maintence staff must be doing their job because there were no problems for me to report. You can tell that they take pride in their hotel. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am thrilled to hear that we could be a memorable aspect of your trip to Chicago for your daughter’s birthday. I have passed along your comments to our staff and they were happy that they could make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a brrrr cold weekend in Chicago to do a little sightseeing down by Shedd and the Field Museum so we wanted something close. The Wyndham was very convenient and very reasonably priced. The staff were awesome, particularly the parking attendants. I highly recommend buying the package that includes valet parking because Chicago downtown parking is a small mortgage payment in itself. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and well appointed, and not super small like other Big City hotels. We didn't use the bar and the leased restaurant had unexpectedly closed but the hotel had arranged for discounts at local restaurants within walking distance. Blackie's had a particularly good breakfast and we're thankful for the hotel's recommendations. I would ABSOLUTELY stay there again and gladly recommend this hotel to anybody needing downtown Chicago accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our convenient location, friendly staff, and comfortable rooms. We are also pleased that you took advantage of our Park and Play Package during your trip. I hope you get a chance to stop by our new restaurant when it reopens on your next stay. We are very excited for the new menu! Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I came across this hotel online while I was booking our tickets with Amtrak for our trip to Chicago. The price was right vs other hotels in the area I was looking at.

Our room was very clean when we arrived. Was impressed when I saw they offer breakfast there, and looking forward of having breakfast there than having to find a place near by for it.

The first night, it was kinda hard for us to sleep, we were on 2nd floor, and was close to the street level, and the noise from the street was bothering some for us try to sleep.

Next morning, we headed down for breakfast, and asked the front desk where it was, and we had to pay $9. I was taken back that we had to pay for continental breakfast.. Most place we've stayed at were free. Figured, no big deal will do it anyway. I was pretty dissapointed on what was offered for it.. I felt it wasn't worth $9 for what was there. (Juice, coffee pastry, fruit, and hot oat meal) after this, we just went else where for breakfast that was worth $9.

The room temp was comfy most part, however, the next evening it got VERY warm in there. I lowered the t-stat that afternoon since it was warmer than I'd like it, and didn't noticed the stat went to "Cool mode" setting, so the stat was trying to "Cool" the room, but it can't since the pipes feeding the air handler was hot water, not chilled. Wish the stat had a "Heat/Cool mode switch". We went out to eat, and we came back, it was 85˚, so I end up turning if off, and the room cool down on it's own. It did cool down pretty fast since the window was pretty drafty.. Looks like they tried to fix the leak with duct tape!

When returned back to our room the next day around 4:30, the cleaning lady had the TV on watching daytime TV, as we walked in, she quickly went back to cleaning. I was kinda shocked that room cleaning was being that late in the day and watching TV... But she did finish her job.

The shower was a good drenching shower! However, the shower curtain always blew into the tub due and "attack us" so I end up leaving it open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel of value and enjoyed our clean rooms during your stay. On your next visit, be sure to request a room on a higher floor for a quieter night. We are proud to announce a new restaurant in the works which we hope to be open by April. We are very excited for the new menu and hope you come back again to give it a chance. I have passed along your comments in regards to the issues endured with the thermostat in your room to Engineering to ensure this will no longer be a concern with future guests. I have also informed our General Manager, Tom Bruno, of your feedback. We would appreciate it if you would contact him at (312) 986-1234 so that we can address your other issues in further detail. We value your business and hope you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.