We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #62 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is great! This hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the metro and sights of Chicago.

The room was spacious, clean and well appointed with modern decor. The bathroom was clean and the shower, simply amazing, great water pressure. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great nights sleep. Did not have a great view from the room, facing a lane way, but that didn't matter.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel does not have an onsite restaurant which limited the availability of in room food options, however there are a few restaurants within walking distance.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and concierge was extremely knowledgeable about the area. Overall, this hotel offers a solid product at a great rate.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay at our hotel with our friendly staff, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and location within close proximity to transportation and attractions in Chicago. On your next stay, be sure to request a room with a view to see some of the sights around the city. While we are currently in between restaurants, I would like to let you know that we are very excited for opportunities in the near future. I am pleased to hear that you were able to find restaurants in the area in the interim. We value your business and look forward to your next stay with us again in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    486
    156
    65
    45
See reviews for
203
415
105
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay at the Wyndham Blake was everything we could have wanted! The concierge was very friendly and helpful. He assisted us with our bags, gave us excellent directions, and offered great suggestions for meals and entertainment. We also were provided meal coupons and discounts at some Chicago attractions just by talking with the concierge. The hotel lobby and rooms are beautiful! We could not have been happier with our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor. This offered a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am pleased that you enjoyed an excellent experience at our hotel with our friendly staff that could go above and beyond to make your trip more enjoyable. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your business and look forward to your next stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our first visit to Chicago very happy have had a great time
Excellent location walk or short cab ride
Lovely room very comfy bed
Very friendly helpful staff at front desk and Showtime so friendly and helpful at front door
Wi certainly recommend abc would stay again
Thanks
Geoff & Deb from Oz

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Wyndham Blake Chicago. The staff and I are happy that we could be a memorable aspect of your first trip to Chicago! We are pleased that our friendly staff (especially Showtime), deluxe amenities, comfortable rooms, and location within close proximity to attractions made your stay more enjoyable. We value your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

ITS SHOWTIME! Walking into the lobby we were introduced to a very friendly bellhop named showtime. He helped my fiancee with her bags and gave us tips on the hot spots in the area and provided us with complimentary alcohol vouchers. Before leaving for a pub downtown we stopped to use them at the hotel bar. the hotel bar is located in the lobby and we ended up having such a great time with the bartender, showtime and even the manager behind the bar we ended up spending the night in the lobby. A great experience, and this is now my go to hotel when I'm Chicago.

Room Tip: Parking is $27
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a memorable trip in Chicago at our hotel. I have passed your comments along to Showtime and he was glad that he could make your stay enjoyable. Be sure to “like” us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARENGO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for new years eve. I have no complaints for the room except for the window. On the window there were very noticeable oily handprints. We opened the curtains and were greeted with that, which was kind of gross. Aside from that, the room was very clean. The only other thing I was disappointed with was the lack of food. We wanted to just stay there for the night but we had to go out for food. The front desk clerk said the hotel didn't re up the lease. Any kind of dine-in food would have been great. Also lastly is the fact that the only ice machine was on top floor. Going up there was a pain, should really consider putting ice machines on every floor. Well enough of the bad. We loved the look of the room. The bath tub was great. The view was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and all did a great job. Overall I will most likely come here again, but the food thing that would make me hesitate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago. Your feedback is important to us in order to ensure that we maintain high quality service and accommodations for our guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that our friendly staff could be a memorable aspect of your stay. I apologize for the inconveniences endured during your experience. At the Wyndham Blake Chicago, we strive to meet the needs of our guests. We are sorry that we could not meet your standards during your stay. You will be pleased to know that I have passed along your comment in regard to the issues of cleanliness in your room and it should no longer be a problem in the future. I understand the frustration you expressed about the lack of a hotel restaurant during your stay. While we are currently in between restaurants, we are very excited about new opportunities in the near future. Be sure to check with our front desk and bellmen on your next visit for suggestions of other restaurants in the area. Also, I know that it can be an inconvenience that the ice machine is located on the 12th floor, but we feel that it is the ideal location as to minimize the noise for our guests. On your next visit, I would suggest calling the front desk for assistance with ice. We value your feedback and hope that you give us another chance to show you the best we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were only in town for one night, room rate was great (appx 110), service with a smile, comfy and spacious room and walking distance to all that downtown Chitown has to offer.

I wish I had been told to book direct, I didn't get any points because we booked with a travel website.

I would recommend and would stay here again myself when in town again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am happy that you enjoyed a memorable stay with our competitive rates, accommodating staff, spacious rooms, and location within close proximity to attractions in Chicago. Be sure to "like" us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your business and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham Blake from Thursday 27th to Monday 31st December 2012 and I couldn't fault anything. The location was great being only a block away from metro lines and major bus routes. I got the train from O'Hare airport to La Salle station (2 minutes from hotel) for only $2.50!!!
Major bus routes from the hotel took you to Soldier Field, Navy Pier and Lincoln Park Zoo. If you didn't want to take the transport, you could walk to so many locations including the mile to the start of the 'Magnificent Mile' on Michigan Avenue for all the shops, but there was so many other shops to visit before even hitting the 'Magnificent Mile'
The hotel didn't have a restaurant, but there was two close by (sorry i can't remember the names), where you could go and eat and receive a 10% discount if you showed them your room card. Also the famous Gino's East (as seen on Man v Food) was right across the road serving up awesome pizzas.
The hotel was very clean, tidy and bright with maid service everyday. I had a big room with a lovely king size bed that was a dream to sleep in. Bathroom was a luxury size with two sinks and large glass fronted walk in shower. The large 32" (i think) Samsung tv was a great touch also. I really couldn't have been happier with this hotel and the service received from the front desk and bell boys was the friendliest i have experienced in a long time.

If anyone else would like more information or pictures, please feel free to contact me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vee J, Director of Sales at Hotel Blake Chicago, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Wyndham Blake Chicago! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay at our hotel with our spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff, deluxe accommodations, and locations within close proximity to transportation and restaurants in Chicago. The staff at the Wyndham Blake Chicago strives to meet the needs of our travelers, and we are thrilled that we could go above and beyond to make your experience exceptional. Be sure to "like" us on Facebook to learn about upcoming specials and promotions. We value your business and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.