We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blake Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blake Chicago to your Saves list
Hotel Blake Chicago
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago) (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #59 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I booked 3 nights at Hotel Blake for my friends through Expedia website. The charge was on my credit card. However three days after my friend left Hotel Blake, he found his credit card was also charged with same amount. Nobody contacted him or me for this mistake which cost him around extra $600 USD.

My friend and I went to Hotel Blake receiption for explanation, the staff was soooo rude and impatient. His name is Chris. He made the mistake and even teased us by saying: Wow, you really need this $600 dollars, poor you! We got really angry.

I tried to talk with Hotel Blake's manager, but they were helpless. They asked me to deal with Chris only because it was him who did this mistake. My friend and I were really really disappointed. We will NEVER book Hotel Blake again!

Wish all travelers to be careful of your bills when checking out!!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    495
    156
    65
    45
See reviews for
208
420
106
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Booked 2 months in advance, reconfirmed two days before my stay -- got to the hotel and was told that they overbooked by 30+ people! Traveled with a group of six others for a convention in the downtown Chicago area, and we were all told that were we going to be sent to another hotel 30min outside of downtown. We were in the city for a three day convention, two of which days were overbooked at the Hotel Blake -- the most unprofessional hotel experience I have ever experienced.

  • Liked — Sad to say, nothing
  • Disliked — Very poor service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We had high expections for the Blake - some of them were met - the rooms and decor were stylish, attractive, comfortable - definitely well above average and I liked the nabe, but there were disappointing lapses. It seems to me the Blake is trying to deliver the amenities of an upscale chain but to also provide an individual flavor. The attractive individual flavor and comfort were there but there were annoying issues in maintenance and staff training , which I guess might have been dealt with in a chain hotel. Im thinking of a broken AC fan, which made a noise like a jet - we had to call the desk to figure out how to turn it off, a leaky faucet in the bathroom that left a pool of water on the lovely stone vanity, veneer damage that had not been repaired on the attractive furniture and a missing pull in our son's room, towells that were not replenished, WIFI down in the rooms, and some staff that were, to my taste, inappropriately informal in behavior. Others might have liked that last. I hope the Blake has been able to address some of these.

  • Liked — style, comfort and location
  • Disliked — niggling flaws given the price
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

My husband and I went to Chicago for Labor Day weekend. We love music and architecture and have been wanting to go for a long time. Many of the hotels I tried to book downtown were super expensive. I ran across Hotel Blake on Priceline and then called the hotel to book a room. The listing price on the website was 499.00 a night but w/ my AAA rate it was 151.00 a night. I was hooked!

Looking at photos of the hotel doesn't do justice. This boutique hotel is very modern and chic. The wood is a dark stained wood throughout the hotel and the lobby is gorgeous. We checked in around 3pm and the help was very nice and informative. Check in did take a little extra time as they only had me staying one night, when I reserved two nights. I showed them my reservation confirmation and it was fixed (another reason I ALWAYS print it out).

We went up to the room and was very happy. It was beautiful and very modern w/ tall ceilings. The bathroom was a bit small. There is no shower curtain..just a small piece of glass that is decorated like many foreign hotels. The bed was super soft and nice! Had a high thread sheet count and feather down comforter and pillows.

All in all we were very happy, especially with the location being right near the Loop. I would definitely stay here again as it was in my price range and everything was great!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomson, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

My co-worker and I stayed at the Blake for 2 nights while we were attending a class downtown. We really enjoyed our stay at the Blake. The rooms were a very nice size for a downtown hotel, and the bathroom was huge! The beds had high thread count sheets and very comfy duvets, and the room had a very modern, chic decor.
We didn't use the workout room at all, but it looked very clean, with a lot of newer equipment.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Spent the weekend at the Blake and will be going back. We got to Chicago in the morning and since our room was available, we got to check in several hours before the normal time. Our room was on the first floor facing the front (Dearborn). There was some noise from the street but not enough to bother us. In fact, it was nice to look out the window and see the activity on the street. Everything in the room worked perfectly and the room was clean. The personnel were very helpful and courteous. We did not eat at the Custom House because it is fairly expensive, but you are not far from other restaurants and don't miss Orange around the corner for breakfast or lunch. Since this is a small hotel, it also felt safe and secure and I enjoyed staying somewhere besides the Magnificent Mile, yet being close to everything. I will certainly be back to the Hotel Blake.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

I spent two nights at the Blake. All of the employees were nice and the room was great. (I was on the 11th floor...facing the Dearborn St.) I also liked the location. I had a friend staying at the Hilton on Michigan Avenue and it was only a five-minute walk.

It was also easy to walk to the Loop, with lots of cool places to eat.

This was the best price I found for the weekend I was in Chicago (Sat/Sun nights). The TV in the room didn't work. When I called the front desk they said the engineering dept. had gone home for the night and cheerfully deducted some money from my nightly rate for that night. I was quite impressed. The TV was fixed the next day.

I think that some of the negative reviews are because the hotel's website make it sound like all of the rooms have very high ceilings and other amenities. I think it's only the suites that have them. Sloppy wording on the hotel's part.

The only issues were that the room would small a bit musty when I walked it, but the smell would go away. I think it was from the humidity in the bathroom since there doesn't seem to be a fan to dissipate the steam. Also, it would be nice if they had more then one computer in the business center, even thought the people using it were more than happy to give it up if they saw that others were waiting for it.

For the right price this is a great place to stay. It's also across from the main Chicago library, close to subways and Michigan Avenue.

  • Liked — price, location, rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blake Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blake Chicago

Address: 500 S Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60605 (Formerly Wyndham Blake Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blake Chicago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in Hotel Blake, a landmark of luxury in one of downtown Chicago’s most vibrant neighborhoods, Printers Row. In walking distance to shopping, Millenium Park, Soldier Field, Willis Tower and many other cultural places, The Hotel Blake Chicago offers a robust taste of Chicago’s rich culture and diversity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blake Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Blake Chicago Hotel Chicago
Blake Hotel Chicago
Blake Motel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blake Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.