We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay...great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park to your Saves list
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 N. Columbus Dr., Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #70 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay...great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

My wife and I decided to get away for a night and we booked through Priceline. Great location convenient to Millennium Park and Navy Pier. I asked for a view of the park, and the friendly desk attendant advised that I would have to pay for an upgrade, but he'd see what he could do. He put us on the 31st floor with a lake view instead! Much better than my request indeed.

The room was spotless, but with the minor irritation. The magnet that holds the shower door closed was missing, so the door was slightly ajar and a bit of water got on the floor.

We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    526
    222
    92
    55
See reviews for
248
410
75
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Nice room, warm welcome, nice bed, huge bathroom and shower area, clean, great view of Millenium Park down to Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, etc.... (SOuth facing). Not overly spectacular. Good room service one night at about 11pm because no restaurants in the area were serving food that late. We were in Chicago for my partners birthday and I told the attendant on the phone who sent up a piece of cake with our room service. Very nice gesture.

The hotel is a few blocks from Michigan Ave and the river although it felt like a miles away from any happening area. Seemed more business than tourist although if it wasn't as warm out as it was it would have been easily walkable to most places.

Next trip will stay at N. Michigan Ave although not because the hotel is lacking in anything in particular but rather location, location, location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Stayed here with my husband and baby for a large meeting & conference. The conference facilities were good and that end of the trip was fine.
We had a king room booked with a crib. On arrival we were given a double queen room, but they did change it for us when we pointed out the error. The hotel has had a recent refurbishment however there does seem to be quite a bit of wear and tear. This I think is due to not great housekeeping. The carpet in our room was dark brown with coloured stripes and it was not clean. It needed a good vacuuming. The bathroom was large with an over the bath shower but the bath itself had worn at the bottom and didn't look very clean. We managed to blow the circuit in the room a few times, by having the tv on while blowdrying our hair !! We had a nice view over the roof garden of the Aqua building and out to Lake Michigan beyond that. The concierge service was very good and we had dinner out twice in restaurants they recommended which were very good. The restaurant in the hotel "Aria" is grossly overpriced. Our meal for two with a glass of wine came to almost $200.It is mainly asian fusion style. Anyone in our very large group who ate there said the same. Apparently the restaurant that was there before the refurbishment of the hotel was much better according to the other delegates that I spoke with. There are better hotels in Chicago. I much preferred the Marriott on the mile and the four points by Sheraton.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We booked 2 rooms, one deluxe double and one suite, traveling with 4 adults, 2 teenagers and 1 child. The hotel is clean and well situated. The issues we had were inconvenient and annoying, and should not be issues when staying in a hotel of this caliber. We payed 231.00 and 271.00 per night before taxes so it was not cheap.. The suite had 2 tv's and no remotes, the phones did not work and the coffee station that was in the room had not been cleaned from the last guest and there were dirty cups and used coffee pods laying around. I have to say the front desk did take care of the situation pretty quickly once we complained. We blew circuits in both rooms a number of times. You cannot blowdry your hair while watching tv is what we found out, even when we left all the other lights and appliances off. The suite had a sofa bed which was not outfitteed with linens so that was another phone call. "They brought us a comforter which, although nicely wrapped, smelled like mold or they had wrapped it in plastic while it was still wet. We asked for another and same thing so we gave up. Basically the hotel is well kept but the housekeeping staff is poorly supervised. The smell of a certain kind of smoke which may have been coming from the housekeeping closet was quite noticeable a number of times on our floor and it wasnt cigarettes. The concierge was very helpful and recommended one of the best Italian restaurants I have been to, Viaggio, not touristy or overly expensive but a delightful staff and amazing food. All in all I would say with the amount of hotels to choose from in the city with comparable prices, I would probably not return to the Fairmont, which is a shame because the location is perfect and the rooms are quite generous in size and quality. I should say that the front desk did remove $100,00 from our bill for the inconveniences but the Fairmont should really try to do better than the Days Inn. I was really surprised and disappointed because most of the other reviews here are quite good and that made my decision to stay at the "Fairmont. Management would be wise to read these posts.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed during the Lollapalooza music festival in Grant park, for which it is well positioned. I was suprised to find that my room was available at 9:30am, which was extremely convenient. Still, the young man at reception was somewhat arrogant and lacking in manners.

The room was very clean and tastefully fitted. The bed was perhaps the most comfortable I have encountered, and I had three excellent nights of sleep with no noise from other guests at all. The bathroom was also very nice and featured one of those large rainfall shower heads.

The hotel is easy to find, being located right behind the AON centre (the huge white skyscraper which has a similar design to the old world trade centre in New York). So despite being called the 'Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park', the hotel does not directly border the park.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Enjoyed our stay. Concierge was very helpful and gave us great recommendations.

Really enjoyed our room and it had a large luxorious bathroom.

Close to all amenities.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We had a 3-day special for a suite, with was good for us with 2 toddlers to run around in. I've never been to Chicago before but I'm not sure it's a 5-star hotel, more of a good 4-star. Nevertheless the room was comfortable, large (suite) and what you'd expect from a quality brand. The bed was very comfy, we had two LCD TV's, one in the bedroom one in the lounge. Breakfasts were good (not included in package) but not as good as the Omni in San Francisco! The restaurant was quiet for breakfast probably due to the hotel's mainly business clients, and the front desk staff are a bit humourless at times - don't blame them! The Bell staff were very helpful though with our 12 tonnes of kiddy luggage! Two negatives now:- first the tap in the bathroom went dry and then sludge came out on our last morning - the hotel claimed that this was due to external factors beyond there control, but then again didn't feel it necessary to warn people. Luckily we had a second tap in the lounge, but other guests from normal sized rooms complained a lot and got upgraded. The A/C also switched off unexpectedly on our last morning - again ok for us as we were leaving anyway but others were annoyed. Second complaint - as we were heading off to the airport we were advised that we couldn't book a large taxi for all our stuff (very odd claim I thought), and one could simply be flagged down. Of course when it came to it, it took much longer than expected and then there was confusing between us and other guests as to who's taxi was who's. As we had lots of luggage we didn't mind giving up the smaller ones and wait for a larger one - all in all a bit of a shambles.
I would consider staying here again but would definitely check out other 4 and 5 star hotels as well. Under normal circumstances this would be a good bet for a stay in Chicago - great location a few minutes from Millenium Park, near the lakeshore. For families, there's a pharmacy opposite as well for any essentials. Note the hotel staff also claim that due to the economic circumstances no room service is provided after 10pm - although the night staff were helpful in getting milk to us for the kids in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park

Address: 200 N. Columbus Dr., Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park 4*
Number of rooms: 687
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Chicago. Overlooking Grant and Millennium Parks, the Fairmont Chicago features 687 guest rooms including 65 suites. Experience, Fairmont Gold, mySpa, Aria Restaurant and Bar. Ideally located just steps from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile, the Theatre District and world renowned museums, the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park is perfect for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park Hotel Chicago
Fairmont Hotel Chicago
Chicago Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.