We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6624 S Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #54 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Grandville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a very convenient location as it is close to Bus and Train transportation into downtown Chicago loop and the surrounding area. It is very clean and has a "NO PET" policy. The parking lot is large with all night security. The front desk and help are great!!!!!! They also have a large bar area with several large screen TV's with all the live sporting events available. Our stay was very pleasant and a definitely recommended place to stay for anyone wanting to see the Chicago area. It is only a block or so from Midway Airport and the train station. (The Orange Line) 3 day unlimited ride passes on bus or train are also available for $14 each at the train station. They do not offer the "Smart Breakfast" as the Holiday Inn Expresses do but there are several restuarants nearby. There is a free shuttle from the hotel to the airport and or train station that runs every 20 minutes 24 hours a day so is very convenient and user friendly. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location and user friendly place to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    44
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
22
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A very, very busy place at the edge of a hotel/restaurant complex a half-mile away from Midway Airport. I've stayed here many times and it's not too bad a place. The front desk staff work hard and are very courteous, but they seem understaffed at certain times. Some rooms can be noisy. If you aren't out of your room early in the morning and dare to hang a DND sign on your door, housekeepers will punish your audacity with interminable vacuuming and loud conversation just outside your home away from home. If you want to sleep late, avoid rooms on any floor ending in or nearby _36, which is located near a stairwell and housekeeper's closet, the doors of which undergo constant slamming. The last time I stayed there I was subject to a job fair held at the hotel, which involved an all-day traffic jam and a constant stream of job seekers in and out of the hotel. Very chaotic and unrestful. On the up-side, they do have a nice workout and pool area. On a nice-day, walkers/joggers might or might not enjoy a 4-mile jaunt around Midway Airport. Happy Exhaust Breathing.

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending in or nearby _36 near stairwell and housekeeper's closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We strive to ensure that each and every experience is exceptional as well as provide every guest the opportunity to "Stay You". While some external noise is sometimes unavoidable wherever you stay, we certainly will continue to refine our processes here to ensure comfort regardless of the time of departure. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I would first like to say the G.M. was extremely friendly and down to earth! I had an opportunity to meet with GM, Jeff Hess to discuss my thoughts / feelings on how he ran the Hotel. *With all of my traveling around the country, I have only come across one other hotel that equally "bends over backwards" to give the "Best Customer Service" that I have ever experienced! The Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport has my business 100%! They have shown the highest level of Customer Service! (From the friendly front desk personel: "Krystal, Joy, Natalie / C.S. Tammy Knor to the Restaurant members: Alicio Herrera, Maria *(GM, Jeff Hess, had recommended something "light" / good - the Turkey Pita with the "special sauce." It was "great!" Thank You. Also, Maribel did a fantastic job with both Room Service and in the Restaurant area. *Last, but "definititely not least", I'd like to compliment the whole Housekeeping Staff. ( I was in room # 214 last week and would like to request it again for this next week - starting Sunday the 21st) My two housekeepers were Myraida and Mirna. They are the "best" and I tipped them well each day! They both did a fantastic job in keeping my room very clean. * They also gave me extra "regular coffee" when I requested it. * The Hotel's Overall Customer Service is the BEST! I'll be sure to recommend the Holiday Inn Chicago Midway Airport to all of my coworkers in Washington, D.C. We all work in the Government Affairs Dept. (directly across from the Capitol) I'll be certain to inform our Travel Dept about your great Hotel and Customer Service. *** It's truly nice to have a "Home away from Home" and a Hotel Staff that feels more like Family!!! *What else can I say?....other than a Sincere "Thank You." * I did not know anybody at this Hotel prior to arriving last week and I now think of them as Family! Sincerely,
Chris Welsh (Priority Club Rewards / IHG Platinum Member)

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that are next to the Elevators. (noise from the Elevators disturb sleep)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you Chris! We are delighted to have been of service and look forward to welcoming you and your coworkers back whenever your travel needs include Chicago or the Chicago Midway Airport area. In the meantime, best wishes for safe and productive travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Generally a great Holiday Inn and would recommend it to all. As others have said, looks and smells new. Only bad side, it is in a "Hotel Circle" and the airport shuttle is shared by 9 hotels, so the service is a little slow with 1 shuttle per 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel air md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were very pleased with the holiday inn midway. The hotel is new or newly remodeled. Clean. Modern. Friendly staff. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our first time using Midway Airport was totally stressless thanks to staying the night before and parking our car at the Holiday Inn at the Midway Hotel Complex. We found a great deal on the Sleep, Park and Fly website and although parking was free through this offer for 7 days, they gave us 12! For the price, the room, service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. Parking was easy and we were shuttled to the airport quickly and efficiently - runs every 20 minutes to Midway, but you must call for pickup if coming back from Midway. A few restaurants within walking distance in the complex of hotels and in a decent area on the outskirts of Midway. Only complaint was the breakfast food in the hotel. No free breakfast, so we ate at the Holiday Inn restaurant. Food was not very good for the price. We will definitely not only use Midway Airport again, but hope to find this deal once again. Hotel website may not offer the same deal as the Sleep, Park and Fly website, so make sure you compare. Thanks Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Make sure check Sleep Park and Fly website deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desloge, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here as part of a volleyball tournament for my daughter. The tournament was down on the Navy Pier. I did not know the Chicago area and might stay closer to downtown if we had to do it again. But the motel was clean, pretty new and comfortable. Beds were great. The rooms space seemed a bit tight, especially between the foot of the bed and the wall. But, it was quiet and would stay here again if needing to be near Midway airport.

The area to the north of the motel on Cicero is a bit rough, but we had no issues.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport

Address: 6624 S Cicero Avenue, Chicago, IL 60638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. It is also just a short drive to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Brookfield Zoo, and the Shedd Aquarium. The property features complimentary high-speed Internet Access and morning paper delivered to each guest room, an indoor pool, and fitness room. On-site dining is available including breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Coaches Sports Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.