We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Two years ago I took my family to Chicago for a short vacation. We stayed at the Ritz and really like it. We had the opportunity to make a return trip this past week and stayed for 5 nights including the 4th of July. I had forgotten what a super hotel this is. When we arrived they greeted us like we stayed here every week. Since we had three grandchildren, they pulled out a red wagon filled with little toys and allowed the children to pick one toy. Needless to say, they loved it.
I had three rooms and they were perfect. The upgrade for my son and his family to a suite with two bathrooms was really reasonable and I took the opportunity to upgrade them. By the way, they kids had kids sized bathrobes and slippers!! My other son just had a new baby who was not two months old. They had a bassinet in the room as well as a baby washing tub all ready for them. Great touch.
The service we received from the front desk, concierge staff, bell staff, and quite frankly everyone we ran into was excellent and always with a smile. We asked to borrow a stroller and of course they had several to choose from for my "to tired" granddaughter.
They tried something new this year for the 4th fireworks at navy Pier(which were unexpectedly very short and poorly done). They had a large room off the lobby that faced the proper direction and had chairs, soft drinks available. It became so crowded they needed more chairs but everyone enjoyed and appreciated the effort.
My wife and I have stayed at 5 star hotel all over the world but this Ritz is clearly the best for all around service and quality.

Room Tip: lake view facing north are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear scott92,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    212
    69
    16
    15
See reviews for
276
319
46
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terra Firma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We've stayed at this property 5 or 6 times over the past 15 years and ALWAYS get treated well and very well taken care of. Whether you're there with family, which was our case this time, or as a couple you're not going to have a bad time here. Loved the pool, the outdoor bar, service,...just all of it.

Room Tip: We always request away from the elevators and high traffic areas, with lake view, and have yet to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear cheezburgee,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the finest hotel that I have ever visited. It is a first class operation all the way, and is enhanced in every department by the attitude and the quality of the staff. There is not a weak link in this hotel, and if you are looking for the very finest in a Chicago hotel, I would highly recommend The Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: A higher floor room provides amazing views of the city and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear scooterg45,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This past weeked my wife and I celebrated our 1 year anniversery at the Ritz. We couldn't say enough good things about the hotel and spa. The staff treated us great and from top to bottom it couldn't have been more luxirious. My wife has never been a fan of massages but I convinced her to try a couples massage and that was probably the highlight of our stay. She enjoyed it so much she wanted to go again the next morning! Out of the numerous massages I've had this one ranked near the top if not at the very top of my list. The hotel itself couldn't have been better but for me the thing that makes this one stand out to all other hotels in Chicago is it's location. You are within walking distance to so many attractions and for someone that doesn't vacation in Chicago often being able to see and do so many things in one day really makes a big difference. Honestly couldn't recommend a better hotel in Chicago

Room Tip: We had a beautiful city view- in retrospect I would have preferred half city/ half lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Kevin K,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When in Chicago I stay at this hotel all the time and never get surprises or disappointments. The beds are comfortable, no street noise, and the gym equipment is clean and in good working condition. They have many of the staff people that have been there on my previous visits and they are helpful in answering questions that may arise about the city. Recently I noticed that they put in an expresso machine in the lobby, Nice touch. Excellent location no car is necessary.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear highmarket,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here one night, it cost us around $500. The room was very clean and spacious. The location was great. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a good night sleep, maybe because of the pillows that weren't too comfortable. Even though the hotel was excellent, my expectations were a bit higher for a top hotel in Chicago. It was lovely but not wow for me. Can't really say it was a good value for money. But overall, I enjoyed my stay at Ritz and would return if I could get better rates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear nippygirl,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you don't want to read a long review, then it's just the best. I felt like even though it is expensive, you do not feel overcharged. We love the rooms, the bed, the staff are so nice, friendly, helpful. They even cater to your kids. And a great location, can't be beat.

Room Tip: we had the room across from the elevator, 2001, we never risk that, but at the Ritz, it was as quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear mynamehere2013,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz Carlton the next time you are in the Windy City!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.