We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Chicago location & quiet elegance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #14 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Merto Ny
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Chicago location & quiet elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Hotel in Chicago is perfectly located in the heart of the "Gold Coast". Museums, shopping, really great dining are all a stroll away or less! The staff is truly caring and professional, particularly the front desk and concierge staff. The rooms are very generous in size and amenities and some rooms have stunning views! There is a lovely spa and 12th floor outside terrace bar [a HOT spot of the area!]. The restaurant however is not recommended. The service is unbelievably slow! Food is fine, service crawls!! Took 1 hour to get tea, poached eggs and smoothie.

Room Tip: Any room with a view. higher floors especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear PeterMmertoNY,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am elated to hear you took great pleasure in staff and service, enjoyed your room and view as well as our location in the Gold Coast. It is wonderful to hear you experienced THE dec and enjoyed it, however I am deeply sorry to learn how disappointing of an experience you had in Deca Restaurant. It is an unacceptable service lapse and not the kind of experience we wish upon our guests. Thank you for this critical feedback.

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    183
    67
    14
    15
See reviews for
250
275
45
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the Ritz Carlton is in the heart of the city. You can walk or take a short cab ride to restaurants, shopping, museums, etc. The service and staff of the Ritz were exceptional. The view of lake Michigan from our room from a huge surprise and we even saw fireworks from Navy Pier one Saturday night. We had 2 adjoining rooms with our four kids and the rooms were incredibly spacious for Chicago standards. We did not eat at the hotel, but we did go to the bar and they just built an outdoor area to enjoy that is amazing! The service there was amazing too. The kids (ages 10 -14) were disappointed that the indoor pool did not have better hours, but that's was the only complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Natalie M,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago on Trip Advisor, we sincerely value your feedback. It comes with great pleasure to hear the service you received from all staff was exceptional and that you had the opportunity to experience THE dec. I am truly sorry your children were disappointed by the available pool hours, thank you for sharing this experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

An enjoyable stay in a lower key Ritz. The rooms were small but pleasant with nice linens. The food was not exceptional but good. We liked the location but the parking was expensive without any options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Tess57seattle,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Hotel for your recent stay in Chicago. I am happy to hear you found comfort in your room and our location suited you well. I am sorry your dining and parking experience were not what you would have expected; we greatly appreciate this honest feedback as we look for ways to improve the guest experience.

On behalf of the hotel we value your shared experience, thank you, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed there frequently over the years and always treated very well. Address you like they want you there vs a typical generic hotel/guest relationship. Always friendly and trying to make you comfortable. Fitness center cramped, but still works. Food/room service great. One of my favorite Four Seasons globally.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear D E,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and support of the Four Seasons brand. It is a pleasure to know The Ritz Carlton Chicago delivers the service you expect from a Four Seasons Hotel and that you personally find it friendly and comfortable. I am sorry to hear the Fitness Facility does not meet your spatial expectations, thank you for this feedback as it helps in our pursuit to improve the guest experience.

We appreciate you taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of the Ritz Carlton (which ironically is a Four Seasons Hotel, not in the Ritz Carlton group of hotels) is one of its best attributes. The service and staff of the Ritz are on par with other Four Seasons Hotels. I have stayed at this location once before when I was younger and this facility is beginning to show its age although not quite as apparent as some other places I've seen. Aside from excellent service and a great view of lake Michigan the hotel has exceeded my expectations for two reasons: 1.) My wife left a rather expensive watch in the hotel room which was mailed back to us after we inquired whether we left it or not. 2.) My car was damaged by the valet staff (which is a different entity from the hotel). The hotel was very instrumental in my claims process to have the damage to my car covered in full. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on a high floor- you will see the John Hancock building with stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear WSoonatt,

Thank you for choosing the The Ritz-Carlton Hotel for your recent stay in Chicago. I am happy your car and watch incidents were resolved in a manner that exceeded your expectations of service and that you enjoyed the view from your room. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Truly enjoyed everything about this hotel from our reception to our departure. Our room was a corner suite which was spectacular! Loved the view! We were with another couple who raved about their accommodations as well. We started our day in the restaurant and ended them in the terrific bar. This trip included great meals at Ditka's, an architectural riverboat tour, a ride on the double decker big red bus, all recommended by staff. Can't wait to go again.
Chicago IS my kind of town!

Room Tip: Request a corner suite!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Vikings55,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Chicago to host your recent visit. It is great to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and that the recommendations you received for local touring suited your party. It sounds like you enjoyed Chicago's best! We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great place to stay. Friendly, professional, helpful staff and clean rooms. Great location in downtown Chicago. American girl is basically attached to hotel. Pool is pretty small but so many other things to do it didn't really matter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear KimberlyScott,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago. It brings great pleasure to know you received great service and enjoyed your room. Your review and feedback is sincerely appreciated and will be shared with our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.