We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off + Free Parking!
Ranked #11 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The name "Ritz Carlton" brings with it the very high expectation of elegance and excellence. The Ritz Carlton Chicago easily meets these high expectations. The staff is superb, the facility is beautiful with great views, and the location is awesome. There are very few pleasures like sleeping in a Ritz Carlton bed. We have one more night left on our stay---sad to leave.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Drdave,

Thank you for sharing with us the pleasures you find when staying at The Ritz Carlton Hotel Chicago. It comes with great comfort to know the service you receive is consistent and your expectations of the service and facility are continually met. Please know your kind words will be shared with the staff. We greatly appreciate the feedback and safe travels home today!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    216
    70
    17
    15
See reviews for
292
328
49
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

this hotel is just fantastic..the people who work there are the nicest, most professional hotel staff..fromt the moment, you walk in to the lobby, the guy who guides you to the elevator is the most perfect for his job and then the resption desk is also friendly and helpful..
i called for a couple things i had forgetten, like a tooth brush and it was delivered within 5 minutes.
when it was raining, we were handed umbrellas as we left the hotel..
this is a hotel that doesnt know the word no and pays attention to small details, which really is the main difference this day..
the beds were comfortable and our room had a wonderful view of the lake..the abthroom was nice adn l'occitane amenties, which i love..
i highly recommend this hotel if you are going to be in chicago, for the location, but most of all for the wonderful staff..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Dtoney

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay experience at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the personable service, as this is something we strive for and sincerely care about. I am happy to hear we were able to provide you with the couple things you left behind during your travels and that the rain didn’t hold you back from enjoying the city! Your recommendation of our service is most humbly appreciated and we look forward to your future return.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

On my recent Business Trip to Chicago,we stayed at the Ritz Carlton .as allways in a Ritz or Four Season ,These hptels are Setting the Standards of the Hotel Industry. The Hotel is probably more than 25 years Old,but it is in stellar condition.the Fitness area Boots a Nice Pool ,Watson Nice After an hot Shopping Day,or a busy Business Day.there is a Nice terrace for Drinks in the afternoon or evening!
The only negative Thing is the breakfast area can be a Little Noise in the Morning !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Oew,

The Ritz-Carlton Chicago was built in 1975, making it well over 25 years old indeed! We made a recent renovation in 2010 and I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed the fruits of that labor during your recent stay with us. Summer 2013 is the hotel’s first summer offering a patio bar and it is great to see THE dec so well received by guests and the public alike. I understand you found Deca Restaurant to be a bit noisy for your preference in the morning but I do hope you enjoyed the delectable creations from Executive Chef Mark Payne’s kitchen.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
Gerneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite with connecting room. We had a fabulous view of the waterfront and the suites very generously sized but awkwardly laid out. We had no complaints on bedrooms but the bathrooms were the old style ones with the tub/shower combination. Also, housekeeping department is lacking here. I wore white socks which were pretty dirty after just one evening. Also, we are careful about keeping our rooms clean and respectful. However, one of their employees spilled coffee on the carpet and never cleaned it up! We tried to do it. The wifi is also the worst! After paying the premium charge to upgrade at 12.99? , there was no improvement at all in speed. We did comaim and they did take it off the bill but its a real pain not have decent wifi, especially at a ritz Carlton or four seasons. Room service was good, above average. Service was also decent but not outstanding. We have also stayed at the trump and the peninsula in Chicago and we like the trump the best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Pkmiles,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback on your stay at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago. I am terribly sorry to hear your recent experience was not up to par for what you would expect from a luxury hotel in Chicago. Your feedback regarding housekeeping and the internet are issues that are being taken very seriously and the respectful departments will be following up with these points internally. It is also concerning to me that you did not find the service to be more than average. If there is an issue particularly that you wish to discuss in regards to the service, I would be happy to further learn about the experience.

Again, your feedback is crucial in our stride to continually be improving service and exceeding our guest’s expectations. Thank you and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
Gerneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What went wrong? After checking in, we went to our suite, located on the west side of the building, and discovered that much of our Michigan Ave view was also a view of the roof of the connected Water Tower Place. My wife had made it explicit in an email that she didn't want a view obscured by a roof or building, and had been assured, in an email response, that she needn't worry.

Bad form.

What went right? Pretty much everything else, starting with the bellman who, upon hearing my wife read the emails to me, called the front desk and secured us a room on a much higher floor with a very nice, unobstructed view of the Avenue.

R-CC is a beautiful hotel. We love the lobby; its fountain is a delight for the eyes, and fills the room with a very, very soft, soothing sound of water in motion. Our suite was, clean and comfortable-- nicely appointed.

If you run into nasty weather, you can enjoy the hotel's lobby for drinks and snacks--or a full meal at Deca, or you can shop at Water Tower Place without venturing out in the elements.

R-CC is, for our time and money, one of the three best hotels in Chicago. We had an excellent three night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Profofphil,

I am grateful to hear The Ritz-Carlton team was able to turn around your experience from the start and you continued to enjoy a fantastic time in Chicago. Hopefully you didn’t experience poor weather but I am happy to hear the convenience of our direct connection to the Water Tower Mall is something you made use of and that you enjoyed the luxury and comfort of the grand lobby.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate it!Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the moment I stepped off the elevator into the 12th floor lobby, everything was exactly as I expected from a Ritz-Carlton property. Beautiful lobby, courteous staff, wonderful room, well-appointed bathroom. The wall of windows gave me a spectacular view of a crazy thunderstorm. Nice workout facility. Agree with other comments that breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear TimeToGoInNC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with breakfast; this feedback is highly valued in our continual pursuit to improve the guest experience. However, it is great that your expectations were met on all other counts of the hotel and that the staff was welcoming. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The staff was very superb. We arrived early and was able to check in immediately. Also we requested a late check out and they permitted a 2:00 checkout. The room was was beautiful and had a great view of the city and the water. The location was great. We had friends staying at the Four Seasons and I think we were much better off. The rooms and the lobby were much brighter at the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: loved being on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Linda33021,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz Carlton Hotel Chicago for your recent stay! I am delighted to hear your weekend was superb from the room to the staff and location. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I also hope your friends enjoyed our sister property, The Four Seasons, just as much!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz in the future!

Sincerely

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.