We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the middle of the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southeast Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the middle of the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The centralized location of the Ritz in Chicago is only the beginning of its appeal. This hotel is only 2 blocks from the Navy Pier, right off the lake, and a block off the Magnificent Mile. Now let's go inside. Beautiful, traditional décor and absolutely wonderful staff. We were greeted by Scott at the front desk and he was great, so personable. The bar area was relaxing and their band exceptional. The room was traditionally decorated, very relaxing and every whim was attended to. Mostly, however, the room was QUIET, the bed exceptionally comfortable and the pillows like laying your head on a cloud. What a wonderful night's rest. Our only complaint was figuring out the shower. Not exactly intuitive- once we got it figured out; however, it was quite relaxing. If you're traveling to Chicago and your plans revolve around the Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile area, this hotel is the place to be. Every penny spent well worth it. By the way, tip the valet well, they do such a fabulous job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Two Bears Traveling,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience while staying at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated; Scott and the valet team will receive an extra thank you for seeing through your arrival and service so kindly.

The Myles Hayes Band has made deca BAR the new place to be on Friday and Saturday evenings, I am so happy to hear you were able to experience them while staying with us. I am sorry you had a bit of difficulty figuring out the shower head however it’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the room and the comfort it brought you.

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Hotel as your home in Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    228
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
311
359
52
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach-sarasota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Unlike many hotels in this town it provides, high class service and attention to detail. Lovely suite upgrade thru Four Seasons overlooking water tower, Contemp museum. Nice but crowded gym in mornings. Excellent casual ding choices....refreshing in a 5 star.

Room Tip: Go for he suites if staying awhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Zforall,

I am happy to hear your time spent at The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago for your conference was made comfortable by our trusted staff and service and that you enjoyed your suite with a view. I hope that while you were here on business you were able to get out and enjoy what the city has to offer as well!

Thank you for sharing your experience, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a leisure stay next time!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel overnight with my two granddaughter (ages 5 and 3) as their parents worked hard setting up their new house in the suburbs. From the moment we entered the hotel until the time we left, the girls were showered with treats- beginning with stuffed animals from a welcome wagon, to delectable treats on entering our room, to child friendly shampoos and conditioners(chocolate and mango flavored), to luxurious terry cloth robes for our trip to the pool and hot tub, to our very own candy cart at our door! Every step of the way, we had impeccable service, friendly faces, and outstanding accommodations! A true 5 star experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Jill C

It is wonderful to hear you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time together and that our children’s amenities wowed them. Family stays are important to us and we take pleasure in creating those childhood memories that will last a lifetime.

Thank you for joining us for your night away in the city and I hope the new house has been successfully completed! Congratulations to the parents!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very luxurious and excellent service. The concierges went out of their way to help make our trip successful, providing excellent advice and accurate information. The lobby has a great fountain, lovely lounges for meeting friends for coffee or a drink, and the twelfth floor terrace for drinks has great views. A good location for sightseeing, next to a stop on the open-top bus route. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed. A bit expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with view overlooking the lake have a great view, includes some tall buildings and lots of int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear pampam2010,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor! It is fantastic to hear our concierge service assisted in making the best out of your time in Chicago; they will be delighted by this feedback. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some time on THE dec patio as well, that is great! Being located at the heart of the Magnificent Mile does offer easy access to Chicago attractions and shopping, I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the best of the city.

Thank you for joining us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Always a great experience. Everything about this facility says quality. Excellent, friendly service and terrific value. I always enjoy having a drink in the expansive and beautifully appointed lobby. My favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Bruce W,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Hotel as your home away in Chicago. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and it is a delight to hear our staff continually meets your service expectations. I hope you were able to enjoy one of the new inventive dec cocktails on the outdoor patio this time around!

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and as always we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ritz!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a great stay. First non-winter trip to Chicago. Concierges hooked us up with awesome tix for Book of Mormon. Also reserved tables for dinners and even told restaurants about special food requests. Used Chowhounds and Tripadvisor for restaurant choices. They also booked us on an architectural cruise which was fun and enlightening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear xsiviosh,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy some Chicago summer! It is a great season for city attractions and the architecture tour is a favorite!

It sounds like your trip filled out nicely with a good balance of entertainment and dining. Thank you for choosing to stay with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for our anniversary over a weekend. There were a few issues with our stay but we will definitely stay here again due to 3 things. First of all the location was perfect-shopping, dining, museums, lake...etc. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else based on this alone. Secondly, the room was beautiful and of course very clean. Third...the view. Our room faced the lake and the view was gorgeous!

Now for the negatives...when we first arrived a valet did meet us at the door. That said, he asked us if we could manage our luggage. We had 7 bags (several small bags and two suitcases). Of course I asked for a bellman. Not to mention that the hotel registration desk is on the 12th floor and we were not completely sure where to go since we had not stayed there before. That said, after I said we would like assistance, he did help us with our luggage and show us to the elevators. It seemed they were short staffed.

When we arrived at the registration desk it was 2:30. Check-in was not technically until 3 and our room wasn't ready. They said about an hour and took our # to call us. They also held our luggage. We had a drink at Deca which was really nice after a 6 hour drive and the area was very nice so we didn't mind so much. An hour later we had not received a call so my husband went to ask and they gave us a different room (we booked city view and ended up getting a lake view so no complaints really). They said they would send our luggage up.

At this point it was 4:00 and we had dinner reservations at 5:30. At 4:30 our luggage had not arrived, which we needed for dinner. My husband called the front desk and our luggage arrived at 4:40.

Our second day there we left the room at 10:30 and returned at 2:00PM and our room had not been picked up/cleaned. My husband again called and when we returned that night they had been by to tidy up. For us, that's part of the hotel experience.

The doorman at the front door was very friendly and gave good directions.

The staff at the lobby dining room for breakfast was not very friendly at all. They brought everything we needed and the waiter's assistants were friendly, but the waiter himself was very curt. The food....you could get that anywere but we wanted convenience.

Again we will definitely stay here again, but if these things really bother you then I'm not sure I would recommend this hotel. I can't say it was the typical "Ritz" experience we usually receive but overall not bad. The issues didn't bother us all that much...but a little out of the usual for a "Ritz".

PS. Parking is $48-$52 a day depending on valet. We knew this already and it's Chicago so we expected it...but it helps to know in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.