We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is such an amazing hotel. The food is delis! Try the Deca salad with salmon. The staff is very knowledgeable and able to pair wine or cocktails with your entree. Amazing ambiance and lovely musical entertainment at night on the weekends. The best part of all is the new outdoor terrace is ready and absolutely stunning! The DEC at Deca - It's the new "place to be seen" in Chicago! The new menu is unlike anything around and the new cocktails menu is PERFECT. This is THE summer destination. Actually, I am thinking I should not post how AWESOME this is because I want to keep it all to myself. LOL! Really really fantastic and the perfect renovation to make the Ritz the best hotel in Chicago! (Well, its always BEEN the best hotel but again, I'm trying to keep it a secret!! haha)

Check it out! You can thank me later!! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the Navy Pier lake view. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Shari M,

It is wonderful to hear great feedback on the new Dec rooftop bar. Executive Chef Mark Payne and his team truly put their hearts into creating the new menu and it is fantastic to hear it has been well received. This summer will certainly be an exciting one that we are thrilled to share with our guests.

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us, we appreciate the feedback. See you on The Dec!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

You know the hotel is exceptional when the individual you share an elevator ride with mentions they have been visiting this property for years and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else......Amazing service, great location, spectacular views......I could not agree more!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFig543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna hills
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Ritz. We had a beautiful Lake view that I loved waking up to and the room was decorated very nicely. The toiletries were nice but the toilet paper was 1-ply. You'd think they would at least have 2-ply toilet paper for such a fancy hotel. The lobby was gorgeous although we didn't spend much time there. We didn't use the spa unfortunately because of limited time but they do offer a free sauna, steam room, pool, and jacuzzi. They looked very relaxing. The only reason I'm rating it 4 stars is because for such a well known hotel name, we expected more. Like we wanted to feel special. Sometimes we felt like employees questioned if we really "belonged there" since we aren't exactly rich (had a discount). If I went back to Chicago, would I stay there...maybe. It was a pleasant experience overall.

Room Tip: Request lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiashahmalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent stay, great room, great location. I had only one issue, and it was minor. Ordered room service - attendant informed me that the wait would be a little long - actually arrived before quoted time. Burger was ordered 'medium'..was probably closer to 'med well'. Otherwise...excellent hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I wanted to do something special for for our 15th anniversary. I am SO glad we chose to stay at the Ritz! Even though it was an anniversary trip, we brought our 10 year old daughter with us, and we were truly overwhelmed by the amazing staff and their attention to not only us, but our daughter as well. We were greeted with anniversary wishes, and a gift for our daughter from the red wagon (she was thrilled)! Our beautiful suite was not only ready for us, but filled with amenities celebrating our anniversary AND amenities for our daughter!! What a fantastic surprise! The staff even thought to decorate the sink with confetti and left a pink toothbrush and toothpaste for our little one. Every detail showed thoughtfulness for all of us.

I can't say enough for the beauty of this city hotel, the genuine kindness of the staff from the doormen to the housekeepers to the room service attendants, and the exceptional overall service level at every turn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location can't be beat. The Lego store in the attached mall is great for kids or gifts. You are in the middle of the grand stores, a pleasant walk from the funky restaurants and don't forget to dine in the Ralph Lauren flagship store. I loved my view of Lake Michigan. The staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvg
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay in Chicago with our Bacchus group and have never been disappointed in the accommodations, service, and elegance. Its location is perfect, shopping, dining, and everything one desires is close at hand. Service here borders on perfection. Only dislike is a separate charge to use the pool facilities.

Room Tip: ask and you shall receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmmcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#4 of 182 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 182 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#7 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Address: 160 E Pearson St, Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing