We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz-Carlton Chicago--a wonderful place to stay. Great location,warm friendly service,beautiful views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Ritz-Carlton Chicago--a wonderful place to stay. Great location,warm friendly service,beautiful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I think Peter f. did not stay at the same hotel I did. Just ask and they will bring you a teapot or a coffee maker. I thought the bed was heavenly. The concierge booked us in wherever we wanted to go and got us some tough reservations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    228
    76
    17
    15
See reviews for
311
359
52
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I arrived at Reception at 5.45pm on my check-in day at the end of 20 hours travelling from Melbourne. All I wanted was a shower and to fall into bed and sleep. Surprise! My suite was not yet ready. At 5.45pm! Reception offered me a free drink and sandwich in the Bar whilst I waited. Instead, I talked with the Concierge about arrangements to be made for Sunday's activities. In the end she couldn't help me at all with any bookings (even though I later made the bookings online readily in my room). Given my checkin experience, I was primed to notice everything that dissatisfied. Bear in mind that the suite is $560 night + tax. Here is a short list of my gripes: (a) no tea and coffee making facilities, (b) an electric iron that kept leaking large amounts of water onto my morning ironing, not just the customary drops here and there, (c) poorly stocked in-room refrigerator, (d) a TV that I had to keep turning off altogether in order to get back to the main TV station selection menu, (e) fast wi-fi (at a charge) that was anything but and to overcome I had to get a fixed line ethernet cable (f) loud aircon, and (g) tired, tired, tired decor and fitout. The only saving grace was the hard-working and resourceful staff in the lounge/bar. I would not recommend this hotel and I will not stay here again. What a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago last week and we stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is beautiful and the location is practicle. We went to the spa that was very nice with excellent staff. The room was nothing spectacular but quite big and clean. However, the beds were very unconfortable, too soft and the pillows as well. We asked to change our room expecting better bed but the other one was the same, very soft matresses. I had to sleep on the couch because it was more confortable and firm that the bed.
It is unfortunate because for the rest, we loved that hotel but because of the beds, we won't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed four nights and it was everything we expected. The staff was friendly and helpful and the turn down service was a nice added bonus. Super convenient that it was connected to the mall! Great location and close to everything! Will definitely stay again next time we're in town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear M_Mx28,

I am extremely pleased to hear we met all of your expectations on your first stay at The Ritz Carlton Hotel Chicago. We sincerely appreciate your time giving us feedback on your experience and please know your kind words will be shared with all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in March 2013. Room was nothing spectacular. We had one facing Lake Michigan. It was clean and relatively simple. The reality is that this is probably more like a 4.5 star hotel. However, what makes this better than the rest is the service. It is fairly rare to find decent service anymore. Thankfully, you still can at the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed a three night long weekend at The Ritz Carlton Chicago in April 2013 and the property certainly was what I expected from a Four Seasons managed hotel. Though as mentioned in other reviews, elevators in two different sections may be a nuisance for some, but for me it was an added bonus as I was able to access the shopping mall at the Water Tower more easily. Stayed in a King Lake View room and the view was terrific looking west facing the lake. Room service breakfast each day was delicious with prompt delivery. Overall a great looking hotel with the top notch service that Four Seasons does so well.

Room Tip: Platinum AMEX will get you a credit and free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear jo2er,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz Carlton Hotel Chicago for your windy city weekend get-a-way this past April! I am happy to hear you found our convenient connection to the Water Tower Place to your liking as well as enjoyed your Lake view room and daily room service. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Ritz Carlton enjoys a good location within Chicago, and rising up to 31 floors above the city, the views from the north end of the building are excellent. However, the location is somewhat inconvenient for driving up (Pearson is dead easy to get to, but the layout is not conducive to driving up, and the parking attendants are confusing/not terribly helpful), and as the building is multi-purpose, the lobby is somewhat inconveniently located on the twelfth floor. However, the lobby space is impressive and well utilised with a decent (though not outstanding) restaurant and bar (with expensive but unimpressive speciality cocktails--best bet to stick with something like a gin and tonic--and spicy nuts, but you can request plain nuts). In evenings at the weekend there is live music, comprising a piano, standards-singer and sometimes bass.

The rooms are somewhat small in comparison to other hotels in the city and by no means particularly opulent (see pictures on website; they are representative). Shower water pressure is so-so. The shower and toilet are in a small room together and that space is somewhat difficult to navigate. While wifi is free, it is slow (unusably slow for Citrix connections), and the "premium" wifi costs $12/night.

The staff were competent if a little distant and not at the level of friendliness/helpfulness one might expect at a five-star hotel. They seem under-staffed, and there was often a wait at the concierge/reception desk.

It is a not a particularly child-friendly hotel. The pool, when it was open (it was closed half the time I stayed), was not particularly fun for the kids and it was clear nobody wanted the kids to go swimming anyway. There were not really activities for the kids; there was talk of either a goodie-bag or "candy-man" coming to my niece's room, but it never materialised. With a number of points in the stay, I expect service could have been improved if I complained more, but life is about value judgments, and it should not be necessary to complain about value-judgment-type things at a five-star hotel.

I stayed for seven nights. There was nothing infuriating about the stay but at the same time nothing endearing. I would sooner choose another location in Chicago than stay here again.

Room Tip: To the extent you are able, request a room on a high floor with a north facing view: you will see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.