We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good service, excellent concierge.Disappointing that the wifi in the lobby did not work.
Three times tried to get taxi, and there was no bellboy available, which is disppointing for the hotel with this magnitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear 2012she,

I am ecstatic to hear of your good experience with our concierge team; we take much pride in them. I apologize for the difficulty you had with our complimentary lobby wifi; your feedback has been directed to the attention of our IT department. It is very concerning the lack of service you received from our front door staff in your effort to get a taxi and please trust this situation will be brought to the attention of our front door team.

Your honest feedback is one of the most important tools in the continual improvement for the quality of service we strive to give. Thank you for your support and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    212
    70
    17
    15
See reviews for
278
319
47
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a nice time on our visit to Chicago with our children. The hotel was a great location, the hotel beds and pillows were comfortable. We were disappointed to find out that the pool was under repair during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear JenS_1342139,

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your time in this fine city! Thank you for choosing the Ritz Carlton Hotel Chicago as your spring break destination. We agree, it is great to enjoy all of the benefits of the Magnificent Mile right outside our door. I am sorry our pool was unavailable for your family’s use during your time with us, unfortunately there is never a good time to make repairs to such a popular outlet. I do hope your family will be able to come back and enjoy our pool once in it has reached completion. Thank you for your continued support and feedback!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Chicago is an oasis in Chicago's bustling downtown core. Warmth and hospitality radiate from the entire staff and leadership team. It was amazing to me to be personally greeted at check in by the Hotel's General Manager Tom Segesta, and Sean, Director of Sales. Their smiles and good humour really set the tone for everyone working at the property. Everyone seemed so happy and most welcoming.

My room had unrivalled views of the skyline and lake. The peace, calm and beauty of the meticulously attended room was very calming during my short and busy stay.

The hotel is gorgeous, as one would expect from a luxury hotel of this calibre. The service is impeccable; helpful, friendly, and extremely accomodating. No detail was overlooked. It was a very pampering but unpretentious experience.

Top marks for this wonderful hotel and all those who work there to make their guests feel so well cared for.

Helen L

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the room and were able to find the calm and comfort you came for. Always a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delafield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a wonderful stay this week with my 13 year old son at RC-Chicago. The original room I booked was a King bed. I notified reservations if it was possible to switch to a room with 2 double beds and they immediately accomodated my request. The room was well appointed, great amenities. They delivered cookies & milk when my son called room service to inquire about a treat and when we returned from shopping they had soda & carmel corn waiting for him as well. They truly do cater to younger kids which is a plus! Really love the location and convenience being attached to the Water Tower mall. I've never been disappointed when I've stayed here and always enjoy coming back!

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Chris K,

It is always a delight welcoming your family back! Great to hear your recent stay with us was wonderful for you and your son. I love the milk and cookies myself so I have no doubt they were enjoyed.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and support. As always, the feedback is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter loved the American Girl doll bed, robe in her size, and complimentary bath and snacks that came with our package. She liked the baking with the pastry chef too. I had forgotten a few personal items that they provided-including letting me borrow a phone charger temporarily. Cab rides are about $10 to planetarium. Shopping is great because you don't go outside and can drop off packages in your room and return for more shopping. American Girl stuff can be delivered to your room. We hope we can stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Kitty G,

Our American Girl Doll Package never disappoints the American Girl Fans. I am happy to hear your daughter had a memorable stay and even got to adventure back into the pastry shop to bake. Next time be sure to make an appointment for the Candy Man to visit your room!

Thank you for your great feedback and continued support.

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our entire family had a wonderful experience. The extras for the kids, like the candy man visit and baking cookies in the hotel kitchen were great! Everyone of the staff were extremely friendly and professional. The dining was excellent, the pool and spa were well used by our entire family and the location can't be beat. We stay in the city with and without our kids a few times a year, and this will probably be our new 'go to' place to stay.

Room Tip: Our business rate, provided us with a king room with a city view. Just ask at check in for Double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Maureen M,

Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Chicago for your family’s Chicago get-a-way. Your feedback and kind words are truly appreciated and will be shared with the staff. The Cookie Demo and Candy Man are great fun for families; it’s great to hear you partook in both activities. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in Chicago!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago in March of 2013 during the AAOS convention. It was quite far from the McCormick Convention Center but I liked to do the walk despite the brisk wind and 20 degree weather in March with ice on lake Michigan. The hotel rooms being on about the 25th floor where the lobby is. Ophra Winfrey had sold her penthouse apartment so we didn't get to visit here while there. Breakfast was great with fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit. Beds were very comfortable. The view of the city skyline was great. House of Blues was within walking distance and we had the chance to see Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes rock the place. Also enjoyed Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, and the Rhichard Thompson electric trio at 220 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago, Illinois in a very nice theater.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.