We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We couldn't believe it when upon arrival the very efficient and charming man at reception couldn't find our booking (within 3 minutes). We weren't too alarmed but he was horrified and kept apologising profusely. He did find it, must have taken him all of 2 minutes, kept apologising for the delay then to our amazement upgraded us to an incredible suite overlooking Lake Michigan and after a few minutes in our room sent up a platter of chocolates with a hand written note of apology - we were suitably impressed :-) This is an excellent hotel, fabulous restaurant, great art on the walls and the staff are among the best I've ever encountered in our numerous trips around the world. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that your experience was a positive one! The details and attention to service that you mentioned are what set us apart as a hotel and we are so happy to hear that you experienced them during your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    212
    69
    16
    15
See reviews for
276
319
46
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent accommodations and a very pleasant staff. This was our first trip away alone in quite a while and this was an excellent choice. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we felt very comfortable and like people were glad we were there. Great drinks at the bar and an excellent breakfast selection. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Ritz in Chicago truly lives up to its name. Upon checking in on 2/24/13, my wife and I were advised that our Deluxe Lakeview King had been upgraded to a Deluxe Lakeview SUITE. And sweet it was--Awesome views with a deluxe King room, plus 1 and a half bathrooms, dining room, foyer and living room, with two flatscreen TVs! The view is wonderful, the location can't be beat close to great restaurants, shopping, and business locations, and the staff is empowered to provide impeccable service. There is just an aura of quality at this hotel that you don't find anywhere else in Chicago, and my wife and I are seasoned travelers, having stayed in 5 star properties around the world. Truly a wonderfully managed, spectacular property--we will be back!

Room Tip: It is well worth it to get a Lake View Room or Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and deca RESTAURANT+BAR. I am thrilled to hear that your experience with us was a positive one! The details and attention to service that you mentioned are what set us apart as a hotel and we are so happy to hear that you experienced these during your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Superb across the board. Perfect balance of fine and friendly. Cleanliness everywhere. Studied ambiance. Breakfast/brunch excellent. Staff executes everything to perfection. The proximity of the concierge to the front desk seems to encourage cooperation among those serving the guests in different capacities, including the bellman.

Room Tip: Lake view is an instant look at the current weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Centrally located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel was a perfect location for shopping and dinning. The room was comfortable and luxurious! Staff were friendly and personable and always smiling. Would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Quiet and comfortable location yet in the midst of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very comfortable hotel. Stayed is a standard room which was very attractively furnished. Staff were pleasant and professional. Gym was OK. Eggs benedict in the restaurant lobby eatery was to die for. Great location for shopping etc. Close to Michigan Avenue shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a business trip (Thursday - Saturday) and we were simply amazed. Under the carport, is Macy's with eight floors of shopping. From inside of the hotel, we were able to access an indoor mall (reminded me of Vegas). The Ritz-Carlton is right off of Michigan Ave, so we did a lot of walking, shopping, and eating at some fabulous restaurants. The spa was incredible! If enough time allows, I would suggest stopping in. The food at the Ritz, along with the fitness area, were way beyond my expectations. We are looking at booking another weekend in April!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor. Had a slight view of Lake Michigan. Not sure if there is a bad room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, spa and deca RESTAURANT+BAR. I am thrilled to hear that your experience was a positive one! The details and attention to service that you mentioned are what set us apart as a hotel and we are so happy to hear that you experienced these during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the very near future - April in the city is stunning!

Best,
Tom Segesta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.