We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the touchstone for quality service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Still the touchstone for quality service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a nice hotel room in the city for Valentine's day. I checked in before I brought her later that evening. I asked that they have chocolate cake and champagne waiting for us when we were to arrive after dinner. Everything was set up perfectly as I asked. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We ordered breakfast in the room and it was excellent. All of the staff tried very hard to make our stay effortless and and pleasant. The hotel is not as new as some of the others in Chicago, but the experience overall is great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the lakeview suite for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    245
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
330
381
55
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on business. Convenient to Michigan Ave (Miracle Mile). Attached to shopping. For a city hotel, it was amazingly quiet. I had a lovely large and clean room which overlooked the lake. As always, service was absolutely exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear about your positive experience during your recent stay with us! It is the attention to providing great guest service that sets us apart as a hotel and I'm thrilled to hear feedback such as yours.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a wonderful view of the lake from our room. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
The amenities offered in the room certainly make your stay much more enjoyable. The food and service at Decca was wonderful. This hotel is just the best place to stay when in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines via Chicago
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, this hotel offered wonderful rooms, a great view of the lake, magnificent restaurants, one of the nicest pools I've ever seen and a huge art collection worthy of a visit in itself. The staff were all exceptionally polite and the concierge took care of everything for us. One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: The higher floors are much better for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I had a "staycation/babymoon" weekend at the Ritz and it did not disappoint. The service was spectacular from the time we pulled up our car. Every employee was extremely inviting and accommodating.

As this trip was a surprise to me from my wife, she had alerted the hotel that we were going to be spending the evening celebrating the upcoming birth of our first child. Upon check-in we were each greeted with a gift bag (contents geared towards the recipient). When we entered the room, we were pleasantly surprised to find lovely assortment of fruits and nuts; plus I was rewarded with a couple of beers on ice (unfortunately, pregnant mom could only enjoy the water)!

The room was exquisite and spotless. Everything was super clean and in order. Our bed was extremely comfy, and neither one of us wanted to get out of it the following day. Bathroom was quite spacious and came with his/her sinks and a separate showering room. Our view faced North and we had a great view of Lake Michigan and the John Hancock building.

The hotel location is great for an out-of-towner or a local, like myself. Plenty of shopping (for the ladies) and good eating all nearby or within the hotel, which is where we chose to eat dinner. The hotel restaurant/bar is called Deca. Our server Robert was excellent. For dinner we went with the special, which was a Goose Island paired 3-course meal. Each course came with a sampling of a different Goose Island Beer blend. Each course was better than the first. We definitely did not leave the table hungry. The main course was a sirloin pot-pie and melted in our mouths. It was a great meal and we couldn't have been more thrilled with our decision.

We would definitely encourage/suggest this hotel to locals or friends coming to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf our our entire team, a big congratulations to you and your family! We were thrilled to be a part of this special time in your life, and are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The details and attention to service that you experienced are what set us apart as a hotel, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future - we simply adore kids at the Ritz and have wonderful surprises for our littlest guests!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback. We wish the best of luck to your family.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Deca Bar which is situated on the 11th floor, overlooking the main lobby fountain, is a great place to relax with a late night beverage or snack. Desserts are also available from adjoining restaurant. The seating is very comfortable and well designed for views of the lobby interior or the surrounding buildings of the Mag Mile. On weekends there is always live music, which is most pleasant. The people watching is the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There are so many extras offered just for children. They are greeted upon arrival and made to feel special. They can bake cookies with the pastry chefs, the Candy Lady will deliver candies to the room, they show movies in the swimming pool...what other five star hotel caters to your children in this manner? Disney maybe, but not like this. There is something for everybody here. I highly recommend giving it a try.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one in the building, but the Ambassador Suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed their time with us. We adore our "Ritz Kids" and enjoy giving them the VIP treatment! Details such as our Cookie Baking Class and Dive In Movie are what set us apart from other hotels, and we are so glad you experienced these during your stay with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#6 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#5 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.