We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary Hotel - wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #14 of 169 hotels in Chicago
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exemplary Hotel - wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago and had a wonderful experience. From the moment I got out of the taxi and was whisked to the beautiful lobby, their team greeted me with welcoming, accommodating assistance and service.

The room itself was flawless: pin-drop quiet (which is rare for a city hotel), uber-comfortable bed and wonderful bath amenities (L'Occitane - the absolute best!). I will certainly return to this hotel on my next trip to Chicago and look forward to another night of excellent sleep and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    183
    67
    14
    15
See reviews for
250
275
45
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Ritz in Chicago several times and are never disappointed. We had a suite for the 3 of us and had plenty of room! They brought in a rollaway bed for my son who slept in the parlor . We had some trouble with the tv in the parlor area and the engineer came right up. Unfortunately, he was unable to fix the problem and we could not rent a movie. Late night dinner and drinks downstairs were great as well as the room service breakfast. The hotel is in a great location and the staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: Corner suite was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

I would like to apologize for the technical difficulties that you had experienced with your in-room movie rentals, however. We always strive to deliver the very best experience to each and every guest. Please allow us to take care of any movies during your next stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the city very soon.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We came for a wedding. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere and it was great when we returned at the end of our day The staff wonderfully accomadating, professional and unobtrusive. All what would be expected in a Ritz. Everything is first rate
and very warm and comforting. The service and food at the wedding was truly great.

Room Tip: standard room with view of Lake Michigan and some of the city...looking north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stay at the The Ritz-Carlton Chicago for many years. I have always enjoyed my stay. The rooms are great. The service is one of the best in the world. If you ever need anything, you just pick up the phone and its done. I will continue to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: I like to face the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton on holiday weekends for many many years. We watched with disappointment as this matron of style went through new ownerships; we opted for other hotels in the interim. Our recent stay was, however, back to the warm and inviting atmosphere of former days. The cafe is still a great place for breakfast and the warm mini donuts are excellent, as is all their offerings.

Room Tip: I'd ask for Michigan Ave view; the lights are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that your recent stay with us was a positive one! We love to hear when guests receive the service and attention to detail that they are looking for. We believe that this is what sets us apart as a hotel and are so happy you experienced them.

Thank you also for your review of our deca RESTAURANT+BAR - we're thrilled that you enjoyed the mini doughnuts (they're a hotel favorite!)

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the city very soon.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Took my 9 year old daughter here for our annual mother-daughter shopping weekend. We booked the American Girl package - includes standard room with a lot of fun extras for your child and her doll. While the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the location is superb...the real attraction here is the service. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, is amazing. I must admit I expected the service to be good - it is a Four Seasons property after all. But it was refreshing to see genuine warmth in the staff here, not just the polish which can get a little artificial and "uppity" in a luxury property. The staff here is kind, professional and truly outstanding.

The amenities? Of course they are all wonderful too. Deca (the hotel's restaurant) was good, room service was excellent and the concierge made excellent recommendations. The Ritz Kids program is TOP NOTCH. The check in staff kindly asks you to fill out an information sheet which includes your child's favorite color, movie, book, etc. During your stay, they incorporate those things into little surprises at meal times, turn down service, etc. What a fantastic idea!

I can honestly say this was by far the best mother-daughter weekend we have had to date! Thank you Ritz Carlton Chicago! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Absolutely one of the better locations to be had when staying in downtown Chicago. The door man suggested for us to park our car ourselves to save the cost of using their overnight parking. It was so convenient and a good suggestion since we stayed several nights wanted to use taxis to get around. The only unusual circumstances are that you have to go thru their lobby to go down to the health facilities and pool area and it felt strange walking thru the lobby wearing our bathing suit and robes. Also you have to take a different elevator to get to the lobby than the one that goes to the rooms. We had a very spacious room with an outstanding view of Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.