We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Really, one of the best places in Chicago to stay. As a frequent business traveler, I can think of no better place in Chicagoland. From an unbelievably attentive staff to the well appointed rooms, every aspect of this hotel is nothing short of superlative. Chris

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    194
    69
    14
    15
See reviews for
258
295
45
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz one night during a short trip to Chicago and were absolutely blown away. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to one of the lake view rooms on the 28th floor after booking through Amex Platinum's FHR program and it was incredible. The room itself was quite large and tastefully decorated in muted blue as seen in many pictures here. The bed was very comfortable (think W bed). The bathroom had double sinks which was welcome but a combined shower/tub, which was my only gripe. I would have probably traded some space in the real room for separate shower and tub but I imagine I'm in the minority.

The property itself was stunning. The lobby looks as good as the pictures and is huge. Everything is decorated in the slightly over the top Art Deco style, but it very much fits with a lot of the architecture in the rest of the city. The elevators are speedy and the layout is simplistic (an underrated quality). I can't say enough about the gym and spa either. The gym was huge for a hotel with all the equipment you could want and the locker room behind the spa desk had any amenity you can imagine and then some - shaving cream warmer, combs, lotions, you name it. It was connected to a lap pool and hot tub area with a very cool skylight and a separate sauna. The restaurant was great but it deserves a separate review.

As many have said, the service at the Ritz consistently goes above and beyond. From our wait staff, to the receptionists, and the locker room attendants, everyone worked really hard to make our stay here memorable. I will return the next time I visit Chicago without question.

Room Tip: Lake view is incredible. Despite all of the Chicago wind, they are very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by Natalie at the front desk and she arranged the most fabulous room, stay, and experience in Chicago. Our room was so pretty and so beautifully appointed. The view of Lake Michigan on a crisp sunny morning was delightful....so nice to eat a special room service breakfast and enjoy the view. This hotel was just a special treat and I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington IL
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

When you think about a hotel that does everything well and everything right, the Ritz Carlton 4 Seasons in Chicago has everything going for it. The location is in the northern end of Michigan Avenue in the same building that houses Water Tower Place. It is a half block east separating it from all the hustle and bustle that comes with Michigan Avenue. The hotel itself has been nicely kept up to date. I hadn't been here in nearly 25 years and everything in the hotel appeared as if it was freshly built yesterday. For a hotel of this quality, I found the staff always friendly and helpful. We had come to town for a Bears game so we were not dressed with the customers who had come for a special weekend, but we were treated with the same friendliness and respect as everyone else. The rooms were comfortable, spotless, and roomy as were the bathrooms. You learn to expect them to go overboard with the amenities in the bathroom and they didn't disappoint.I am a regular at Hyatt, Westin, Marriott, and Hilton, but I notice the difference when I am at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton ... or in this case both.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that all of the details you were expecting were included in your experience. These details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and it brings me great pride to hear you that enjoyed them. Please know that I have shared your comments with our entire team, so that we can continue to strive for excellence with each and every guest.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We certainly hope to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

LOVED our stay here. Rooms are nicely appointed, staff is very friendly, location freaking awesome (walking distance to many things), lobby area is gorgeous, room service quick and yummy, view from room was SPECTACULAR (ask for a high floor) and decent value for price. We stayed here during a 3 day music festival...nice to come back to after a day/night of dancing around. Only bummer was that while it's a "rtiz carlton" it is not applicable for reward points? I guess bc it's a four seasons? still confused by that.
At any rate...great hotel! will return if back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just recently had a great weekend at the Ritz Carlton Chicago. The accommodations were wonderful but second to the staff and the welcome that we received. How do they always know your name and welcome you personally? We relaxed, enjoyed and were sad to leave. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Well, we only stayed in one room of course, but we had a northerly and easterly view of the like tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Details such as knowing how to address you and anticipating your needs are what set us apart as a hotel and it brings me great pride to hear that you had experienced them.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We would love to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH-IO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had the wonderful experience of spending the New Year's weekend at the Chicago Ritz. The property is beautiful, the location is primo, the lounge and restaurant are excellent....all that you would expect from a Four Seasons property and more. I want to express my gratitude for the exceptional service on this particular visit. Holiday travel can be a miserable experience, but the staff at the Ritz Carlton bent over backwards to solve all of the problems that sometimes arise. When we needed help with dinner reservations on short notice...no problem. Left a cell phone at the theater, they were on the case and followed through until it was retrieved.

THe show stopper was when I received an email after returning home from security asking me to contact them because of an item left in the room. I had no idea what I was being contacted about. I responded and was told that a bracelet had been found, and they were Fedexing it to me. I thanked them, and then asked wifey if she was missing any jewelry. She didn't think so, but when I mentioned a bracelet her face dropped. It seems that she had left a bracelet of my mother's. Not only does it have significant sentimental value, it also has monetary value. How wonderful for the Hotel staff to return this piece to us! Thank you Ritz Carlton!!!

The Pearson Room was a wonderful venue to watch NYE fireworks and enjoy a champagne toast....and a little cake that the staff found for us to help ring in the New Year. We love the Ritz!

Room Tip: The suites are a wonderful splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review of our hotel. Your words have brought great pride to myself and our entire team, and we want to thank you for them. Details and attention to service such as the examples you had mentioned are what set us apart as a hotel and I am truly happy to hear that you experienced these during your stay, and that we helped to start your New Year off well.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#8 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;