We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Second Night Free
Ranked #16 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Barbara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

A trip to Chicago is never complete withuta stay at our favorite hotel there, the Ritz Carlton. Ideally located at Watertower Place, the Ritz is just a welcoming respite with a fabulous staff and lovely rooms. As in all hotels, some rooms are better than others (size, location) and this is also true at athe Ritz..although all rooms have the same quality appointments. A few disappointments this time, however: theirr reknowned dining room is gone, and the only restaurant available in October was in the lobby. Nice, but not up to par. Renovations are also going on in their famous lobby bar and a temporary wall was built until spring (?)) when a new larger bar and restaurant will overlook Lake Michigan. I'll return again, but hopefully all will be back to normal. Prices are not for the fainthearted.

Room Tip: Ask for lake views, be a repeat customer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    157
    62
    14
    12
See reviews for
215
236
41
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a conference at this hotel. Great location, clean, VERY comfy beds!!! Very polite staff from the minute we were dropped off at the door to the registration folks.
A couple of things that made this a 4 star vs 5 star for me....hardly any water pressure in shower, took forever to rinse my hair. On the last day, there was only scalding hot water in the shower, no cold or in between. OUCH! And the conference rooms were absolutely freezing as were the hallways to our rooms. You could feel the AC coming down on you and I was there in December!
Had drinks at the bar that were horrible. Not sure the bartender knew how to make our drinks and we didn't ask for anything special.
All in all I would stay here again if I were coming back to Chicago for a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but I apologize for the details missing from your experience. You absolutely should have had a consistent shower in both pressure and temperature, and I have followed up with our engineering staff in regards to this. We regret to hear of the uncomfortable temperatures in your meeting room as well; we strive to attain the perfect atmosphere for all guests to be comfortable in and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation. Details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and I'm sorry to hear you did not experience all of them.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to Chicago. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may provide any assistance: thomas.segesta@fourseasons.com.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This classic Chicago hotel remains superb, especially for business travel. The large 12th floor lobby makes up for the bland ground floor lack of curb appeal. The rooms were nicely upgraded and smartly designed. TV swivels, lots of outlets, smart lights and furniture. GREAT for sleeping, quiet and lots of light blocking options. Room service was fast and flavorful. Service was a cut above a typical Ritz. The location near the Watertower place is also great. There were a lot of staff members around to get what I needed and they were extremely friendly and fast. Price was reasonable too for Ritz. The food at Deca Restaurant located in the lobby was very good. I found the tall and open restaurant to be lacking in warmth, but the food and service made up for it. Wifi was a bit slow, but HD TV was very good. Also, thanks to being one of only a handful of hotels that still have a MINI-BAR... because when you need a Diet Coke... you don't want to take an elevator 25 floors to hunt for it. Bathroom was clean and modern. Decor is very classy...

Room Tip: City view is nice, but some raved about the Lake View rooms. Ask for a view if you will be in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed here three times and plan to return. Although relatively pricy, the location and service are great. Rooms are clean and fairly roomy. You can shop in the Water Tower without going outside which is a plus during winter. And best of all they allow pets without an additional fee and provide bowls and Evian water!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is one of the nicest hotels in downtown Chicago - not just because of its location and ambience - but because the staff go above and beyond to help people.
great room and great exercise facility. bed was superb - and room was incredibly quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were upgraded to a stunning water view room which looks over Lake Michigan, perfect for walks and jogging on the lake front. The style of the hotel is not quite to our normal taste (we would normally select a more boutique/ design style hotel) but we were travelling whilst I was pregnant and what I really wanted was comfort and the Ritz Carlton delivers this in bucket loads. I think there is a disparity between hotel prices in the UK /USA as we thought the price was quite reasonable for the facilities. All the fittings and finishes are top class and very well cared for. The toiletries provided were very high quality and the location is great. We were essentially in Chicago to dine at Alinea but thanks to some well selected coffee table books in the room we found that Michelin starred chef Tony Mantuano had both a 1* restaurant, an excellent Italian bistro and a pizzeria just a two minute walk from the hotel. The staff were really courteous and only too happy to help and the shopping (the hotel is attached to a high end mall) really good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Their staff were attentive and friendly. The street-view room offered a nice view of the Mag Mile. A bit noisy - maybe the windows are not thick enough. They offer yoga classes at their fitness room and that was a huge plus.

Room Tip: Request a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Four Seasons Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz
Chicago Ritz-Carlton
Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Amex, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.