We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)) (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enhance Your Stay
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a conference at this hotel. Great location, clean, VERY comfy beds!!! Very polite staff from the minute we were dropped off at the door to the registration folks.
A couple of things that made this a 4 star vs 5 star for me....hardly any water pressure in shower, took forever to rinse my hair. On the last day, there was only scalding hot water in the shower, no cold or in between. OUCH! And the conference rooms were absolutely freezing as were the hallways to our rooms. You could feel the AC coming down on you and I was there in December!
Had drinks at the bar that were horrible. Not sure the bartender knew how to make our drinks and we didn't ask for anything special.
All in all I would stay here again if I were coming back to Chicago for a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, but I apologize for the details missing from your experience. You absolutely should have had a consistent shower in both pressure and temperature, and I have followed up with our engineering staff in regards to this. We regret to hear of the uncomfortable temperatures in your meeting room as well; we strive to attain the perfect atmosphere for all guests to be comfortable in and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation. Details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and I'm sorry to hear you did not experience all of them.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to Chicago. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may provide any assistance: thomas.segesta@fourseasons.com.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    247
    85
    19
    18
See reviews for
334
384
55
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This classic Chicago hotel remains superb, especially for business travel. The large 12th floor lobby makes up for the bland ground floor lack of curb appeal. The rooms were nicely upgraded and smartly designed. TV swivels, lots of outlets, smart lights and furniture. GREAT for sleeping, quiet and lots of light blocking options. Room service was fast and flavorful. Service was a cut above a typical Ritz. The location near the Watertower place is also great. There were a lot of staff members around to get what I needed and they were extremely friendly and fast. Price was reasonable too for Ritz. The food at Deca Restaurant located in the lobby was very good. I found the tall and open restaurant to be lacking in warmth, but the food and service made up for it. Wifi was a bit slow, but HD TV was very good. Also, thanks to being one of only a handful of hotels that still have a MINI-BAR... because when you need a Diet Coke... you don't want to take an elevator 25 floors to hunt for it. Bathroom was clean and modern. Decor is very classy...

Room Tip: City view is nice, but some raved about the Lake View rooms. Ask for a view if you will be in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed here three times and plan to return. Although relatively pricy, the location and service are great. Rooms are clean and fairly roomy. You can shop in the Water Tower without going outside which is a plus during winter. And best of all they allow pets without an additional fee and provide bowls and Evian water!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is one of the nicest hotels in downtown Chicago - not just because of its location and ambience - but because the staff go above and beyond to help people.
great room and great exercise facility. bed was superb - and room was incredibly quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were upgraded to a stunning water view room which looks over Lake Michigan, perfect for walks and jogging on the lake front. The style of the hotel is not quite to our normal taste (we would normally select a more boutique/ design style hotel) but we were travelling whilst I was pregnant and what I really wanted was comfort and the Ritz Carlton delivers this in bucket loads. I think there is a disparity between hotel prices in the UK /USA as we thought the price was quite reasonable for the facilities. All the fittings and finishes are top class and very well cared for. The toiletries provided were very high quality and the location is great. We were essentially in Chicago to dine at Alinea but thanks to some well selected coffee table books in the room we found that Michelin starred chef Tony Mantuano had both a 1* restaurant, an excellent Italian bistro and a pizzeria just a two minute walk from the hotel. The staff were really courteous and only too happy to help and the shopping (the hotel is attached to a high end mall) really good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Their staff were attentive and friendly. The street-view room offered a nice view of the Mag Mile. A bit noisy - maybe the windows are not thick enough. They offer yoga classes at their fitness room and that was a huge plus.

Room Tip: Request a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed dozens of times at The Ritz, Chicago. The level of customer service is consistent and well above average. Excellent location. This is the Windy City. When the wind is gusty expect strange, creaking and whistling sounds. This is especially true for the higher floors.

Room Tip: This is the Windy City. When the wind is gusty expect strange, creaking and whistling sounds. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear that our team delivers consistent service whenever you visit our property; these details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and I'm thrilled that you repeatedly experience them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#6 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 437
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.