We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off + Free Parking!
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“great hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is one of the nicest hotels in downtown Chicago - not just because of its location and ambience - but because the staff go above and beyond to help people.
great room and great exercise facility. bed was superb - and room was incredibly quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    221
    72
    17
    15
See reviews for
298
336
51
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were upgraded to a stunning water view room which looks over Lake Michigan, perfect for walks and jogging on the lake front. The style of the hotel is not quite to our normal taste (we would normally select a more boutique/ design style hotel) but we were travelling whilst I was pregnant and what I really wanted was comfort and the Ritz Carlton delivers this in bucket loads. I think there is a disparity between hotel prices in the UK /USA as we thought the price was quite reasonable for the facilities. All the fittings and finishes are top class and very well cared for. The toiletries provided were very high quality and the location is great. We were essentially in Chicago to dine at Alinea but thanks to some well selected coffee table books in the room we found that Michelin starred chef Tony Mantuano had both a 1* restaurant, an excellent Italian bistro and a pizzeria just a two minute walk from the hotel. The staff were really courteous and only too happy to help and the shopping (the hotel is attached to a high end mall) really good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Their staff were attentive and friendly. The street-view room offered a nice view of the Mag Mile. A bit noisy - maybe the windows are not thick enough. They offer yoga classes at their fitness room and that was a huge plus.

Room Tip: Request a street-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed dozens of times at The Ritz, Chicago. The level of customer service is consistent and well above average. Excellent location. This is the Windy City. When the wind is gusty expect strange, creaking and whistling sounds. This is especially true for the higher floors.

Room Tip: This is the Windy City. When the wind is gusty expect strange, creaking and whistling sounds. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear that our team delivers consistent service whenever you visit our property; these details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and I'm thrilled that you repeatedly experience them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We are still at the Ritz and they just keep making us feel more at home. Bed and decor is A+ and the staff is above grade. we have friends staying longer because they can't bring themselves to leave. keep up the great work. fun fun fun

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is simply one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in (impressions from two separate stays). Certainly in my top 5, perhaps even #1 (out of more than 100 hotels I have stayed at, most in 3 and 4-star properties, with a handful of 5-stars). Everything is great in this hotel, including very well-appointed rooms, impeccable service, and great location; even breakfast which is usually the most standardized and boring hotel affair manages to be interesting and different here. But there is also something more intangible here, I cannot put a solid label on it but it is just the type of hotel that makes you feel GOOD. Somehow even a normally annoying thing like having to wait in line to check in is handled effortlessly and smoothly, and does not create a ripple of dissatisfaction. I don't know what the secret sauce is (probably awesome service and attitude) but this hotel has it in spades.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your positive experience is truly what we aim to achieve, and I am thrilled to hear that you received consistent outstanding service. Please know that I will share your kind words with our entire hotel team, as invaluable feedback such as yours is what helps us to provide the attention to service that sets us apart as a hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our second visit to this outstanding property, located in the heart of the "Magnificent Mile." Dreamy bed and pillows. Quiet room. Perfect cleaning and prep of room. Roomy suite for our family of three.
Impeccable service. We left our car keys on the table of a local restaurant and discovered them missing the next morning. We had to leave early the next morning for the wake vs. notre dame game. The concierge called the pizza pub while we were away, secured the keys, and called to let us know they were ready to be picked up when we returned from the game. That is why they are the Ritz.

Room Tip: Michigan ave suites are roomy with a beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It brings me great joy to hear about positive experiences such as yours, especially when traveling with a family. The details and attention to service that you received are what set us apart as a hotel, and feedback such as yours is what keeps us motivated. Please know that I will certainly share your comments with our entire hotel team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.