We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms, top service, good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms, top service, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited to attend a conference recently and had an even better experience than last time. Location is super, walking distance to great restaurants and wonderful shopping.
We had wonderful lake views from the room. The room was very very clean (a high priority for us), and very comfortable in every way (bed and pillows perfect, temperature control really worked and windows could be cracked open for a bit of fresh air). The desk was amply sized, the fast speed internet was worth the modest extra charge. There was a comfortable chair and ottoman for reading.
The business center was well staffed and very helpful. They have a great printer and screen on the concierge desk for printing airline and train boarding passes and they are also nice about working these machines for those of us not so technilogically up-to-date.
The housekeeping staff was very polite. The room was freshened, with towels several times a day and the bed re-made mid day after a nap.
Likewise front desk staff, bellmen, bar and room service waiters were all very polite and efficient. Check in for a second room for a family member who stayed only part of our stay was efficient, the connecting room was opened and closed up right on schedule.
We had a great meal in the lounge next to the fountain and also tasty room service meals. The quick delivery from room service was the fastest we have ever experienced. A slight misunderstanding with the phone clerk at room service was handled promptly.
Spa services were provided by top notch professionals. We enjoyed a manicure/pedicure in a relaxing room with great views of the pool and energizing light from sky lights, as well as an inroom massage the night before departure. The pool was clean and a nice length for swimming laps.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, very beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    246
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
330
381
55
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The staff, all of them were the most accomodating group of people, from the doormen to servers to room staff - all completely wonderful. Convenient location, lovely rooms, great food. By far, the staff are one of it's greatest assets.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

What an absolutely beautiful hotel. We were in town for a meeting at the convention center (west side), which is about a 15 minute or less cab ride from the hotel.
We first encountered Ashley at the check in desk. When I checked in, she was very excited because as an American Express Platinum card holder we are immediately upgraded rooms if rooms are available. One such gorgeous room was available. I was in room 3019 and the room was unbelievable! Ashley said it was a beautiful room and she was right!
I had a walk in closet.. Let me repeat, in a beautiful hotel, I had a walk in closet! This is my first time staying at a Ritz but that blew me away. Such a little thing, but then I turned around and walked in to my humongous bathroom as well. Big tub (I don't ever use them) but I also had a very nice stand up shower.
The bed, Oh! the bed. It was probably the best night's sleep I've had in two years. After very long days of meetings, it was nice to be able to come back to a comfortable bed, with comfortable pillows. It doesn't happen often nowdays in hotels, but it was just such a nice feeling to know I'd get a great night's sleep.
I've mentioned several times throughout my posts that I'm on Weight Watchers, the team in their room service department worked with me each day for breakfast to keep it light and healthy. They were incredibly accommodating and were just super! Make sure to get their fresh berries in the morning, what a compliment to anything on their breakfast menu.
It was also very cool that my room had a dvd player in it. Not every room did, as my Dad nor my brother had one, but what a neat feature to add to the rooms!
I did get to work out down in the gym one of the nights. Although I'm not a fan of the life cycle equipment, it fit the bill for the 45 minutes I needed to do on the elipitcal. The do offer cold towels that have peppermint oil or mist on them. They were heavenly after a hard workout.
Did I mention this hotel is on top of a shopping center?! I'm a woman who loves to shop, plenty of shops outside of these (massive Anthropology store is down the street, it's the only thing I wished had been in my building. Ask for Kathy if you hit up that store, she was wonderful). But the ladies in Eileen Fisher were marvelous and incredibly helpful. I had such a wonderful stay it would probably be part of why I'd want to go back!!
Thank you to the team at the Ritz if you ever read these, everything - I mean everything is just marvelous at your hotel. The only thing I wish I'd done is see if I could buy my pillow from my room!
I'd suggest anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay that is looking for a marvelous hotel, and a wonderful experience, stop - you've found the Ritz. You needn't look any further.

Room Tip: If you can get room 2019, you're an incredibly lucky individual - I loved this room! But if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The location and staff were amazing. It is off Michigan, and within walking of shops, and activities. After looking at other hotels, I prefer this location to any other. I didn't like that you had to take an elevator up to floor 12 to get to the lobby, then get an elevator to your room. It wasted a lot of time, although it does keep you away from the noise of Michigan Ave. The rooms were small, but I did appreciate the large bathroom. The fitness center was just above average, and crowded. Still, for what we paid for the room compared with others, I think it was a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider the hotel as being a great value. The feedback that you provided regarding the elevators and fitness facilities is greatly appreciated, as we strive to continually offer the very best product possible. We will certainly reflect on your comments and work to improve for our future guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Got great prices for what is a fantastic location and certainly one of the grand hotels. Room size is extremely generous and gives you enough space to walk around. If you are in Chicago on business, this is the hotel you should choose. It is not overtly far from the airport and within 5-10 minutes drive from the city centre/downtown area. Breakfast was extremely nice and the service in the restaurant was top notch. Fast, efficient and great value-just what you need when you are visiting a hotel on business.The fromt office staff was also helpful although they seemed swamped with the number of visitors on a busy evening.

Room Tip: I was there for a short visit so the view did not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Feedback such as yours is extremely important to us, and please know that we have shared your comments with our entire hotel team.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from a stay with my granddaughter. This is my new favorite hotel. We felt so welcome there that I will visit Chicago again just for the opportunity of staying at this wonderful hotel with the nicest, most helpful staff. Love, love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelled for 24hours and got to RC finally. I got the junior suite for my family as we had our kids traveling with us. Hotel room was nicely furnished and the hotel staff was really courteous. They were generous with their time and really went out of their way to give us details on where to eat/shop etc. One hiccup though was the a/c unit and the amount of time it took to fix it (2 nights of faulty a/c) - you can imagine how LONG 2 nights can be if you compound that with jet lag. In the end, they comped one night and surprised us with breakfast in our room! Manager really knew how to make up for it. Great hotel and location is also very good - just along Magnificent Mile so shopping is easy. Supermarket was also conveniently located (Walgreens). i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomSegesta, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback in our continual pursuit to enhance the total guest experience.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago soon!

Sincerely,
Tom Segesta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#6 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#5 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel)

Address: 160 E Pearson St at Water Tower Place, Chicago, IL 60611-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a Four Seasons Hotel) Hotel Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (a 4 Seasons Hotel)
Four Seasons Chicago Hotel
Ritz Chicago
Ritz-Carlton Chicago
Chicago Four Seasons
Chicago Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Chicago (A Four Seasons Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.