We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balance Spa at Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Offer - Save Now
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Balance Spa at Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had a groupon for a facial and a massage for about $100. I would say it was worth it. I don't think I would pay $100 for just a 50 min massage unless I had a royal treatment and I knew beforehand the massage therapist was experienced. The spa was clean spacious and I felt welcomed by the staff. I arrived late due to traffic and lobby elevators were extremely slow. Note: there was a high school conference with 1000 kids running around the hotel so that is probably why elevators were slow. They took the time off of my appointment, which I thought was unfortunate, but I understand if they are busy (but didn't appear so).

Facial: I did not like the pumpkin odor of the scrub used, it was just too strong and I'm not a fan of pumpkin. I did end up buying a white tea moisturizer she used, it smelled wonderful and in Chicago it's a must. She wore gloves and only her fingers for extractions.

Massage: Osha (spelling not sure) gave me a sweedish massage and concentrated on my back. It was more of a sports massage than a relaxing calming massage, not to say it was bad or anything. She just had quick movements. I am sensitive to the back of my calves and she was respectful and applied the *perfect* amount of pressure to my calves.

I would give the professionals 5/5, but the spa itself was more clinical than relaxation. The spa was chilly, so the heated beds were nice. I used the shower before dressing. It was nice and clean but the atmosphere could use a little more spa culture (water fountain, communal area for hot tea, etc. some heat to keep it warm, the furniture was not that comfortable). It was just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on the spa, thrilled you enjoyed a relaxing moment. We appreciate the feedback and most certainly several of the points, in particular the atmosphere, are things we can change rather quickly. We look forward to hosting your next “spoil you” day.

Regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    1,836
    829
    404
    207
See reviews for
855
1,298
339
1,743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton is an exceptional property in the Hilton Family and is one of their true Crown Jewels. Whenever in Chicago, I plan to stay there. I find the lobby to be an outstanding example of design and architecture and the overall experience represents true excellence of customer service. The staff, truly, treats you well and insures you have an enjoyable experience either for business or pleasure. I plan to return with family in June.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words on our team and noticing that we strive to provide the very best personal service to each and every guest.

Kind regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, mi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The wife and I spend a long romantic weekend here. We considered a lot of hotels before we made our reservation. I was drawn to the historical aspects of the hotel, but was worried that it would be run-down. Not the case. Our room, a “Hip” king, was clean and spacious, (especially for the heart of Chicago). Bed and pillows were excellent. The room even had a mini-fridge, which surprised me. We were on a corner on the 19th floor, so train noise was not a problem. The room was quiet, for the most part, except during the day when I think they were working on some pipes and the clanking sound filtered to the room. Service was excellent. Hilton could hire some more desk clerks though, as there was only one on duty when we checked in and about four parties in line. Clerk was very efficient though and moved the line along smartly. We got a good rate from Orbitz, about $100 per night. Loved the Palmer House trivia feeds on the T.V. and in the elevators. Found out Pat Sajack was a desk clerk there during the 1960's. Although I prefer the River North area when staying in Chicago, I would stay here again if the price is right, if for nothing else than for the spectacular lobby!

Room Tip: 19th floor toward the back of the hotel. No city view, but hardly any train, street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Palmer House and you enjoyed the wonderful winter promotions that we are featuring. We pride ourselves on the service provided and the updated schemes to our rooms that work also to celebrate our history. We do hope to be of service to you in the future.

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The ambiance of the hotel is impressive, with a beautiful lobby and ground floor adorned with sculptures and lights. The room was pretty solid too with nice beds, a sexy couch and a nice HD TV!

The bathroom, however, was a joke. It was WAY too small I could barely stand in it and the bathroom lacked some necessary amenities such as toothbrush and toothpaste and a fan, thank god I brought my own-- also, the lifts are really scarce (there are only 6 lifts that serve 25 floors and not all the lifts go to your floor), that causes the wait for lifts to be very long and it can be a pain at times. Also, no complimentary breakfast was provided, making it a major turnoff.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the railway tracks are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at the Palmer House. I am very sorry you experienced a wait time for our elevators, we have nine that service groupings of floors as to minimize wait times, and we will have someone look into this. We gladly deliver any items that you may have left behind, chose not to travel with, or would simply like to have, just give us a ring and we will get them right to you.

Kind regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My family was at the Palmer House for a wedding and found the hotel and neighboring area accommodating to whatever we needed. From a simple breakfast, to elegant dining. Shopping of all kinds, as well as transportation to wherever we needed to go. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Palmer House, we are most definitely in the middle of it all and getting around is very simple. Happy you enjoyed a wonderful stay!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were nice and clean. I ate at the hotel several times and the food was always great. The front desk staff was very friendly. The only negative experience that I had was the hostess in the resterant was rude, but we still had a great time at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for allowing our team to host you at the Palmer House and that you enjoyed Lockwood, we are so very proud. We will surely investigate your feedback regarding the hostess and do hope this does not deter you from being our guest again.

Regards,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Disappointed that I only stayed their one night. The room was cosy yet luxurious. No problem getting a cab as there seemed to always be a bellman at the front door. Employees I came in contact with were invariable, friendly, professional, and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Palmer House, our rooms are cozy. Hopefully we can cure your disappointed with a longer stay next time and very soon!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.