We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore Chicago.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early for Summer!
Ranked #86 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
south dakota
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Chicago.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Palmer House is a visual treasure, as it has been restored to its original elegance. It is close to everything and we were able to take in a play at the Oriental Theater, shop on State Street, visit the Art Institute, the Christkindlmarket in Daley Plaza, and the Symphony Orchestra - all with walks that were under ten minutes. I would suggest that you select it for location, as the basic rooms are small, and the bathrooms are downright miniscule. Room upgrades may solve that issue. HVAC found difficulty in maintaining a pleasant temperature in the room. When the hotel is full, there is a strain on timely access to elevators. Even though, some of this seems less than ideal, the location and the very attentive and accommodating staff would sway us to utilize the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are so very proud of our history and try never to take it for granted. Sorry about the elevators, they struggle sometimes during peak times, glad it did not hamper your stay and we do hope to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,101
    1,978
    894
    421
    220
See reviews for
952
1,418
356
1,900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel in the downtown shopping area of Chicago. It was a getaway for us and we enjoyed the shopping. Also there are plenty of restaurants for whatever you have a taste for within walking distance of the hotel. We liked that the hotel check-in and seating area was located on the 2nd floor instead of the main walk through area on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, we hope to be of service to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend stay ation. The hotel is truly a gem. It is very rich and full of history. I tried to find the old Gaslight Club on the 5 th floor. My grandfather alwUs spoke of it. They have turned it into a beautiful spa. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed a nice stay with us and hope to be of service to you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance of many Chicago attraction. It's a historic hotel with a great lobby. However, be careful if you want to stay there at Christmas time. It took us over 30 minutes in line to check in the Saturday before Christmas. The lobby bars were packed too. It wasn't worth it! The rooms are average. Look for a deal before staying here. Sometimes they give free parking - which makes it worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are very sorry for the extended check in time, we do our best to staff according to historical arrival times and sometimes it just doesn't work out. We do hope we will be afforded the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed here for a holiday trip to Chicago. They upgraded our room for no extra charge to Executive, which was spacious and beautifully decorated, as was the whole hotel. Probably the most comfy beds I've ever slept in. Lots of perks came with the room and the staff was super helpful and friendly. We will definitely make Palmer House a Christmas tradition from now on!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad to be a part of your lovely Christmas memories, we look forward to being of service to you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Palmer House Hilton is a grand old hotel located in the heart of the loop; you have easy access to great restaurants and all the major attractions of the city (Museum campus, Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park, Art Institute, Willis tower, great restaurants) within 2 miles or less. The prices are very reasonable and the lower end rooms are comfortable if not large...but you should be out in the city so all you really need is a good bed and bathroom which the Palmer house supplies. The lobby is fantastic BTW, great place to meet with friends for a drink or snack.

The Palmer house is my go to hotel for Chicago, I really think it offers the best of everything you could want and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we are happy we will host you again, soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, within walking distance of lots of things in downtown right out the door. Historic hotel. Beautiful lobby. We've stayed here multiple times and will be back. Close to Union Station train station. The hotel was decorated very nicely for Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and that you enjoyed the decorations, have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.