We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, needs staffing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early for Summer!
Ranked #86 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, needs staffing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at the Palmer House for a quick overnight. Hotel is beautiful, rooms are clean and good sized. They seemed recently updated as well. The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 was the serious delays during check-in and check-out. There were two attendants at this huge counter with a good amount of people waiting. It is honestly too big of a hotel for 2 front desk workers. Other than that, great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the review. We regularly monitor arrival and departure trends for staffing and sometimes miss the mark, very sorry we did not have the right amount of team members upon your arrival. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    1,981
    895
    421
    220
See reviews for
952
1,420
356
1,902
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is best place to stay. The staff is awesome! We have never had such a really great experience at another hotel. If you get the chance to stay here - do it!!! The beauty of these hotel is so incredible and I love the fun-facts in the elevators. They let you go and explore the hotel and they know all the best places to see and great places to eat outside the hotel. It's also pet friendly. Stay here and you will NOT be sorry!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review. The history factoids in the elvator are fun, it is a great way for us to share our history and entertain you on your elevator ride or in your room. Look forward to being your hosts again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos heights, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This has to be one of Chicago's treasures. Can't wait to stay here again! The Hotel and the room has the charm and beauty of yesteryear. The price point was unbelievable and I told everyone. This is a must for the Holiday's in Chicago, close to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, glad you had a great time. We love our history and try to celebrate it at every opportunity. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon coast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this on Hilton.com and reserved a Standard Room for $143 a night. Expected a small room near elevator. Assigned a very nice corner room. Great location in middle of Loop. Only 2 blocks from Blue Line which runs straight to O'Hare.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for the review and glad you had a great stay, we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownstown Township, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had the worst service in the restaurant and lounge area. The elevator down did not stop on our floor. Our room had a lot of space but only one chair. The bathroom was so small that the door just missed the toilet and sink when you opened it. Will never return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for the review. Please consider reaching out to us at commentsph@hilton.com so that we may address the specifics of your feedback. Our elevators actually will not stop when they have reached the weight limit so I am thinking this is what happened and being busy you encountered extended wait time. I am very sorry and would like the opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed in the 2 bed/2 bath room on the executive level and was extremely disappointed in the size of the beds...maybe a twin and a half size....one adult or two small kids per bed is what they should advise customers on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we will surely take this into consideration when describing the room attributes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It's a shame because we wanted to love this hotel. Yes, the lobby was impressive. Once we got over that, we had to make a real effort to feel okay about staying there. Our room was spacious and nice, no doubt. The problem was the amenities or lack thereof. We were shocked to see we were not provided with robes nor slippers; no bottled water in the room; no mini fridge or microwave; we had to request a coffee maker; there was a charge for internet service, even though we are in the Hilton Honors program. The Room Service prices were outrageous. The Fitness Center was first rate, we loved it. It's just that the hotel itself did not feel special enough to warrant the price we paid.

An excellent example of value for money in an upscale hotel is La Valencia in La Jolla, CA; we've stayed there several times. When we were there, we knew we were somewhere extra special, we could feel it. We cannot say the same about The Palmer House; I mention La Valencia because the rates of the two hotels are comparable. We don't mind spending the money, but when we do, we want to feel we got what we paid for. Unfortunately, we left The Palmer House feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie T, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, I can assure you we do our best to fulfill each and every request and strive to provide the highest level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.