We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lobby, but.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Save Saved
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi Savings
Ranked #84 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“nice lobby, but.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is clean and nice, the staff was helpful. We had a reservation for a king bed, it was clearly a queen. Nice location, but beware of trying to get a cab. The gentlemen working the front door blowing their whistles will let people go in front of you if they say they are headed to a special occasion or to the airport. This happened to us on both nights. We had a special occasion as well. It was very rude of the staff. Other parties around us that were waiting in line complained too. Also beware their is no free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,584
    1,590
    706
    346
    183
See reviews for
726
1100
293
1449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Love this hotel and staff. Being the first trip to a large city for my daughters I wanted to go all out and stay close to all the great Chicago attractions. The concierge was a great resource for the elements of the trip I did not plan, and it resulted in a very positive experience. Location was worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Priceline, always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is good (it's near the Magnificent Mile, and public transportation). The lobby, restaurant and bars are beautiful. I think the rooms could use a bit of sprucing up. You don't get a lot of amenities for what you pay for. For example, wi-fi must be purchased for use in the guest rooms. The rooms seem a little dated. I could have paid less money to stay in a more modern hotel (which I will consider for my next visit to Chicago)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

nice looking hotel but very impersonal. Did not feel welcomed or at home. they charge for early check-in, late check-out. I did not get the help desk when i called twice. Even the bell boys remind you that they expect a tip, before storing your bag.
i am glad I there there for 1 night only!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a Hilton Diamond member I've stayed at several of the Chicago Hiltons (still trying to stay at The Wit, never available!). I highly recommend this hotel over the Hilton on Michigan, the Executive Lounge is much better and the staff seems much more accomodating. Another old classic building which is what you would expect in a big city like Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As a weary couple traveling with a day full of delays, multiple means of transportation and one of us sporting a cold, the Palmer House was a welcome oasis!
Our agent, Olivia checked us in and fortunate for us, worked diligently to find us the perfect upgrade (platinum status) to magnificent suite!! She was a superb representative for this fine hotel and set the tone for our delightful, comfortable and treat of a stay! Thanks to her, we ended up with a suite that was beautiful, spacious and quiet with well appointed furnishings and spectacular views.

All the staff at the hotel, including the Concierge, Bell captains, Housekeeping, Hospitality and Doormen were courteous, helpful and a pleasure to engage with.

The hotel is an architectural marvel and although busy with 1600 rooms, once we returned to the hotel from our busy conference days, it was like being home with all the comforts and then some!

The complimentary breakfast buffet and happy hour offerings on executive level were adequate but with so many great restaurants and a convenient location to many of them, we chose local spots. It was easy enough to walk, take a $5.00 cab or subway lines to navigate from.

Likely we will return here when in Chicago again. It was a perfect stay for us!

Room Tip: we had a corner suite, great view and very quiet, 2 full bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was clean and nice... but not worth the price you pay. It has an amazing location. People seemed to rave about the lobby. Reminded me of a cheap Vegas hotel. And the lobby was the best part of the hotel. My room was tiny. I'm just over 6ft tall and walking down the hallways I felt like I had to duck under the light fixtures. They were barely 8 foot ceilings in the hallway. And I was on the Hilton Honors floor. Hate to see what the other floors looked liked. 1 person barely fit into the bathroom. And to close the bathroom door you almost had to get into the shower. I did have a large king size bed... it took up most of the floor space. Take out the ironing table and its full.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.