We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changes final receipt after you leave & it's your fault” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Offer - Save Now
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Changes final receipt after you leave & it's your fault”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The first two nights the television didn't work....called about it and was told it wasn't just my television. I guess that was supposed to make me feel better...it didn't. After a long day of meetings, all I wanted was to relax and enjoy the television. Didn't happen and no information was provided. The third morning, the elevators was out (I was on the 12th floor). I mentioned this to the staff and they said they were working on it, but to remember this was an old hotel. On my last night I went to the front desk and told the clerk I'd be leaving early the next morning and I wanted to ensure my bill was settled. She assured me that all was well and the final bill would be under my door at 4 am or so. I got up at about 6 to prepare to leave and the receipt was under the door as promised. I've been staying at Hilton's for 25 years and never had to check my bill for accuracy, so foolishly, I didn't this time either. The trip was business to be charged to the government and it was the end of he fiscal year so I rushed my voucher brought only to check my account and find I'd been charged an additional $151+ on my credit card. I called and was transferred no less than 6 times finally I got to a female who basically said it was my fault. I had no problem with the charge but felt, and still feel, he hotel should have charged me properly the first time. Based on the antagonistic attitude of the staff when I called, I'd never ever stay here again nor would I recommend anyone else.

Room Tip: Check, double check and triple check charges...if you don't these folks blame you for trusting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    1,836
    830
    404
    207
See reviews for
855
1,299
339
1,743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked the Palmer House for 6 nights because a friend of mine recommended it. She told me it was central but because she never used public transportation she didn’t know how central.
The hotel is a huge, classical, renovated hotel. It is probably the biggest one I have been to. it has 23 or 25 floors and lots of rooms on every floor.

The public areas are beautiful, but the hotel is too busy, and the clients vary, from wedding crowds to business people or a high school basketball team.

The room we got was on an inner shaft. The deco and furniture were nice but because it was on an inner shaft, it was dark and felt dingy. Since the carpet was sticky we asked to change, but every other room they showed us was either on an inner shaf, or worse, on the wing where even with a close window you could hear the L train. On the following day we were moved to bigger and nicer room on the 21st floor with a view on the Monroe side of the hotel as well as the Navy Pier fireworks!!! We loved the room. Moving there really made a difference.

Everything was so close: the park, the museum, architectural society. All the restaurants and most of the shops. When we had to travel, the L train took us everywhere.
Staying there made us feel truly "Urban" this really was the Chicago experience.

Room Tip: It is obligatory NOT to stay on the inner shaft or on the L train side of the hotel. We Loved the 21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was fine could spend a little more attention\ to details. No ventilation in bathroom flaking paint and splitting caulk in different location throughout the bathroom. The mattress was a little soft for my liking

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Palmer House while in Chicago for a wedding, and found it to be clean, classy and convenient, as well as pricey. The staff was super helpful and considerate. Our room was smallish, but beautifully appointed and clean. My only complaint was that I thought that WiFi should have been included, and not an extra fee.
The Palmer house is a great location with restaurants and shops close by. Glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Small room (not there to stay in room all day!)...but overall stay was exceptional! Beautiful hotel!! Great cusotmer service!! I had to check out eatly for a ball agme but they allowed me to leave my carry on luggage there at the hotel so I didnt have to drag it to the next hotel which was the opposite direction of where I had to go. Its the little things that matter! Very courteous staff! I want to go back soon & stay at the same place in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Hard to find the lobby so just go the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on the Palmer House. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will have the opportunity to visit once again.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having stayed at Hilton properties around the country and globally, I expected better out of this location with its rich history. When we first walked in to the grand atrium (and we've been here before for drinks), we're awestruck. The height of the ceiling and elaborate mural works are simply beautiful. Check-in was a dud however. No enthusiasm from the check-in desk and all business about upgrades and readiness of rooms. My reservation was made 6 months ago and we arrived 30 minutes after the check-in time, so it wasn't like we were putting undue stress on the situation, I'd hope the staff weren't so flustered as to have to put on this show while checking a guest in. Shouldn't they know as they go through their line which rooms are available and on what floors?

Needless to say, we got our keys and went up find our room which was a battle unto itself. See my picture - it was confusing because what should have been a lit sign was dark. Not a big deal but flip a coin and 1/2 the time you'll choose the wrong hall and 1/2 time the correct hall. Of course after thinking maybe odd #'s on left and even on right we got it wrong and proceeded to try the other corridor and located our room. Note, when you do get to your corridor, the signs are affixed to the walls and legible (not lighted).

to our shoebox sized room where the bed (they did come through on my request for a King) took up most of the room such that the TV had to be placed on the side of the bed and not in front so there was access to the closet and bathroom. Bed was very clean and comfortable however and that's a blessing because in this case we had a busy weekend and didn't need a grand suite - but one always likes a bit more room. The in-closet safe was functional and served as a good place for my wife to stow her large purse in favor of an evening clutch. The bathroom, while clean could use some touch-ups where paint was peeling, door was warped and woodwork chipped and scuffed. However, good towels and decent shampoo and soaps.

Apparently this Hilton really wants every $0.01 they can get out of you, we had no coffee maker, tea which forced a trip down to the restaurant and if you needed a later checkout, they're happy to accommodate for a fee. As a hhonors guest (frequent traveler) I used to remember getting offered this service even if for an hour, but no longer apparently. This latter piece is an observation for this trip because they do have what I feel is a very reasonable checkout time of noon.

Our selection of this hotel was based on the close proximity access to Millennium Park which was very easy to get to as well as the Hilton brand, but there are other choices in hotels and I think in the future, I'll look around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids,Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night but will certainly return. It is a wonderful large hotel that is great "eye candy" for those who love history.Decor is so interesting, one will spent alot of time just looking at all the art. The staff was outstanding to say the least. We lost our camera and today they called and said they have found it. Because we are a Hilton Honors member ,they are sending it to us free of any postage. Hats off to a great hotel and a very caring staff.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.