We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Chicago history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park Chill & Save: $124+
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Franklin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Downtown Chicago history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The owners of the place have done a decent job keeping up with the maintenance but there is room for improvement. The furnishings are better than the classic Hilton for they rounded corners off in the bathroom with tile not quite going all the way around the tub etc. The hotel is priced like a 4 1/2 star but the hotel is more of a proud 3 1/2. Way too big to be a true luxury hotel.

The best things going for this hotel are location, history, and the lobby. The Orange line from Midway and the loop are just outside one door, the red line is outside another, Millenium station and park, Grant Park, the art museum. the bridge over to the river to the main shopping district, some well place useful stores like Target, as well as several theaters are all within a 3-4 blocks. I really appreciated also that Millers Pub was next door as well.

My primary complaint and something that should be resolved by management is the noise from the electric sliding doors to the service area around the elevators. If you are staying in a room on that small hallway you will have a tough time sleeping. The doors on the 23rd floor were obnoxiously loud and constantly in use until way after midnight. I would think some well oiled swinging doors would be better then the sliders they have in place now.

Also, do not splurge for the Executive level. The food and beverage choices just are not worth the price. Also, the check-in process was way too slow.

The Palmer is a good hotel, just don't go in thinking you are going to get some sort of 5-star experience.

Pluses: Location, showers above my head with hot water, location, lots of elevators,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    1,844
    833
    406
    208
See reviews for
866
1,308
340
1,750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at the Palmer House Hilton for four nights in September 2013 and was amazed at the size of the lobby. At check in was asked if I would like to upgrade (travelled with my son) so pad the extra $ and was given a room on the 23rd floor, the upgrade included continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bagels, croissants, juice, yoghourt and much more. Also included in the upgrade were snacks during the day and Hors d'oeuvres between 5-7pm. On the 23rd floor we had access to TV and comfortable seating as well as two computers with internet which was really helpful for checking in for our flight and printing off our boarding passes. The room was large and spacious with a desk & chair and although we had a view, it was of the tops of other buildings on the inner side. There was no traffic noise but we were awakened on two mornings by the telephone ringing constantly at 6am in the adjoining room which was rather annoying. The people in the adjoining room were quite noisy at night too and we could hear all their loud conversations as if they were in the same room as us. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful and we loved the location of the hotel with regards to sightseeing. It is located just a short walk from Millennium Park where we visited a few times, once late at night, to take pictures of the Bean. Concierge gave great advice and we, with directions from them, travelled by bus and Blue Line to any destination for $2.25 each which is an absolute bargain. It was also recommended we take the open top tour, again, it picked up and dropped us off quite close to the hotel, and also the Architectural Boat tour which was a short walk from the hotel. I love the city but at night time there are lots of homeless people begging on the streets which unnerved us at first. It is sad to see so many desperate people and yes, we did give money to a few. I checked the swimming pool out and it was very small but ok if you have small children and unfortunately the hot tub wasn't working so didn't have the opportunity to try it out. The theatre is literally a short walk to the next block and there is a Starbucks in the lobby. We didn't eat at the hotel as there are so many restaurants close by with a pasta place across the road and a grill next to the hotel entrance. We walked a short distance from the hotel to Monroe where we picked up the Blue Line train to O'Hare Airport and the journey took about 40 minutes and cost only $2.25. The housekeeping was tip-top and I would definitely stay at the Palmer House Hilton if I get the opportunity to visit Chicago again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a lot of history. The staff is very warm and helpful. The food and beverage in the bar and lobby are a little pricey but it is very good. The location is central to many of Chicago's parks and theaters. It is also close to public transit. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although it's an historical landmark and it's lobby is beautiful, the Palmer Hotel in Chicago is not worth the money. The rooms are old and not updated. The bathrooms are tiny and not updated and it's located right by the "L", so don't hope for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

My dearest apologies for the inconvenience of the noise from the elevated tracks, and we’re sad to hear your experience did not live up to our reputation. Thank you for timing the time to share your experience, we take our guests feed back into great consideration.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

the hotel is beautifully appointed and a living piece of history. We were offered an upgrade to the executive level which we took and enjoyed the extras. The location was perfect for us. There is train noise as others have mentioned in reviews but we didn't find it instrusive or prevented us from sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

On reading previous reviews, I was grateful to be upgraded (Hilton Diamond Member) - and since I was there for a business meeting for several days, I appreciated being on the 23rd Floor. My room was large, beautiful and clean - but be prepared for very small bathrooms. I am not large - but I cannot imagine how a larger person would manage to navigate. Since this is a very old building, I recognize that not much be done to improve the situation. Housekeeping was very friendly, but on the whole, the rest of the staff that I encountered did not seem that happy - which did effect the experience. The food served and the snacks on the Business level were below standard - especially the breakfast bagels and breads.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding so got a good rate. Clean, comfortable, central. Near all transport. The pool did not look nice but was not interested in using it anyway. I would stay again if I got a good rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.