We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Call for Summer!
Ranked #90 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brookfield, Canada
1 review
“Excellent stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice and very helpful. She actually upgraded our room to a King with a fireplace. A very nice gesture that she did not need to do!! Great overall experience at a terrific hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I hope you had a lovely honeymoon, and that you enjoyed the upgraded room with the fireplace. We look forward to your next visit to the Palmer House.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    2,069
    941
    444
    231
See reviews for
994
1,493
365
2,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Did I mention the lobby?

A great location - better than staying north along the Miracle Mile - this place is close to the Art Institute, Macy's, and Millenium Park. We had a corner room - which I suggest - and loved the service and decor. And the lobby is the place to meet friends for a drink - wonderful !!

Get you photo taken at the famous peacock gates - a work of art in itself.

Reasonably priced, I will stay here whenever I'm in Chicago -

Room Tip: Corner room - higher up - I was on the 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Palmer House as part of event my company was running. The hotel service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and willing to help out our group with all of our requests, even the last minute ones that may have seemed like a pain. This is the second time we have used this location for an event. I would continue to consider this hotel in future if the need is there.

The line for the front desk when checking in could be very slow moving at times, however they were also very helpful. My room was clean, a little small maybe, but seemed updated. My room was located more on the inside of the building and I had little to no cell service. For the rooms on the outer edge of the building I am sure this was not a problem. The concierges and the bellmen were outstanding! The lobby area is impressive and grand. The location was very convenient with many stores, restaurants, and sight seeing things within walking distance. There was also close and convenient access to the L.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the outer edge of the building for better cell service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had to set up a business conference along with meeting rooms and hotel rooms for the attendees. Dalia, my meeting coordinator, was very helpful in this regard.

The hotel is gorgeous and smack dab in the middle of downtown, walking distance from all the main attractions. The "egg", Buckingham Fountain and a few shopping areas. However, note a lot of the shopping areas close earlier than I prefer so keep that in mind. There's also the metro, which was right outside my window, but it wasn't too noisy and an excellent way to get around if you didn't feel like walking.

My first night I had a tiny room, which I didn't really care about because the bed was comfy and the room was clean, but I was next to the elevator and it was noisy. I was able to switch rooms, which in turn ended up being larger and much more quieter. I also, had to call because my AC was "not" working. Ended up being that the vents were pointing towards the ceiling and engineering came and fixed that within 5 minutes.

The food and cocktails were great, too. I had to order room service the first night and it arrived relatively quickly and they even had the milk/cream in a tiny carafe in case I didn't want too much cream in the cocktail I ordered. The little things.

The main bar was always crowded, but there's another one towards the back that's a bit more intimate and quieter that was just as nice so don't forget to check that one out.

All in all, if we end up having another conference in Chicago, Palmer House would be a top contender. Didn't have many complaints from attendees that weren't fixed by the staff as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the "outside" perimeter for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I recently needed to book a business meeting in Chicago. The Palmer House provided a competitive bid and provided excellent service. Booking a meeting at a large hotel is not inexpensive, but the Palmer House really delivered.

But you may not be reading this to learn about their meeting services. I last stayed at the Palmer House about 12 years ago. It was a tired hotel then, and I avoided returning there when I was in Chicago. I decided to give it another try for this meeting and was pleasantly surprised.

I had a room on the Hilton Honors floor. It was comfortably large, the bed was comfortable, and the cleanliness was excellent. The lines at check-in could have moved a bit better if you couldn't use the HHonors line, but once I reached the counter the service was friendly and helpful.

Using the El and the subway, the hotel is convenient to just about anything you might want to do in Chicago. It was a simple ride in from the airport and a block or two walk to the hotel. The bits of historical information around the hotel are interesting and the Lobby bar had a decent selection to choose from.

The next time I'm in Chicago, I won't hesitate to consider staying at the Palmer House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oia, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a business conference. The room rate was reduced but the room also was very small. We wanted to upgrade but they would not allow us to upgrade and pay the difference. Our room needed new carpet and was obviously well used. There was ample closet space, and a nice large dresser. The only window looked out into an alleyway that was constant hustle and bustle 24 hrs a day. It was loud even at night. The bed was average comfort but had very few pillows and they were quite flat! I had to buy a small one at a local discount store for the duration. Internet was only in the lobby unless one had a hotspot and even that did not work well in our room.
The hotel is situated near the Loop with multiple entrances for ease in locating your destination. It is within easy walking distance of attractions, State and Michigan Ave shopping districts, the Red Line and bus system. There are a wide variety of restaurants close by with excellent cuisine. The lobby is well-appointed with staff nearby. But breakfast meals in the hotel are very pricey and not particularly tasty. I found a wonderful coffee shop with awesome omelets that became my breakfast choice for the rest of the stay.
The overall impression is that while relatively clean and comfortable, it is a place past it's heydey everywhere except the lobby. Not shabby but not up to date at all. There was no microwave nor refrigerator in our room. The bathroom while clean lacked many of the amenities one has come to expect in a hotel of this price range.
I would not stay here again as there are other hotels in the same price range more well-appointed, cleaner, up to date. The last hotel I stayed previously would get my business as it was a suite for $50 less a night than the small room we had at the Palmer.
The one thing that was superb at the Palmer was the porters/lobby staff. They had all the answers of where everything you could possibly want to see in Chicago was located! And the most convenient, fastest way to get there. They stowed my luggage in the morning before a late afternoon flight, had my limo to the airport waiting at the time I needed it exactly! When it rained, they had umbrellas at the ready and warm hand towels for my hands when I returned from the outside cold at night! They are the best ever!
The staff were courteous, helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Palmer House Hilton for a work convention this summer and it was just ok. The location is pretty good- minutes away from Millennium Park, the red line stop, restaurants, a Target and about a ten minute walk to Michigan Ave shopping. The hotel is massive. While I was staying there there were four weddings and numerous conventions. The hotel was full, which made the service a bit slow, understandably. The rooms are updated, clean, but very small, as is the bathroom. The walls are very thin and it almost seems as if your neighbors are in the same room with you. If you're looking for a hotel that's in a good location and you won't be spending much time in the room, this is an option. If you have kids and will be hanging in the room for any period of time I would look elsewhere. Also the pool is very, very small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#51 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.