We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Save Saved
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
October Sale $149
Ranked #84 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The building is very impressive. The food is very good. The service is amazing. Things to improve: The AC is noisy. Hot water came from the cold water faucet and cold water from hot water faucet. Small things but you are not expecting that in the executive floor of a 300 plus USD a night hotel. They should do something more visual in the floors for people not to get lost. THe hotel is huge and you can easily walk around several times around the floor before you find your room. Gym is good and pool too. Unfortunately if you are not Hilton Honors Gold you have to pay.

Room Tip: I had breakfast in the executive floor. Nothing special but keeps you going until lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    1,676
    748
    367
    189
See reviews for
777
1177
304
1531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there for a few days last month. Value-wise this is the most expensive and most disappointing hotel we have ever stayed in.

1) Amenities
The first problem we noticed is that the room lacks the most basic amenities you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel: no kettle, no tea/coffee for refreshments, not a single drop of drinking water, no mini-bar, no fridge, no sleeping gown, no slippers, only a very small amount of poor quality toiletries, no glass for guest to wash their mouths (not even a plastic or paper one).

While I do not require the hotel room to come with Nespresso machine, iPhone charger or a fabulously stuffed mini-bar (a lot of them already do), I would expect a kettle and a fridge (even empty) to be basic. These are stuff you can find even in a B&B or motel.

I have been to Hilton hotels in other cities before and the amenities are often as sparse as this one so it seems to be a norm for this chain.

As for the amenities they do provide, unfortunately the quality is rather poor. The iron board smelt so we had to cover it with a towel before we could iron our cloths. The quality of the shampoo, conditioner and body wash soap bar seemed to be industrious, the kind one can find in a public toilet and leaving a plastic-like unpleasant feeling on your hair and skin. No tooth paste. The mattress was unwelcoming and we felt our bodies 'sinking' in it. We also wondered if the duvet is made of 100% synthetic material. It didn't 'breath' so it felt like sleeping inside an oven at night. Overall, it's a feeling of staying in a very cheap, lower shelf not even 2 star hotel.

2) Room
Room was dark. Light was dim. The size of the TV may be fine if it is not placed 10 feet away from a bed. Whenever the housekeeper plugged in her vacuum cleaner next door, electricity would be drawn out from our room making the lights suddenly dimmer. Everything would be back to normal when she unplugged. The wiring does not seem to be done very well in this hotel. Same as the water pressure of the shower. It is so weak that one starts to wonder if they do so deliberately so as to save on the water bill as well.

3) Internet
No complimentary internet. And if you do purchase, they do not charge per room but per device.

4) Location
It is true that the location is good. Very close to the business areas, the Sears/Willies Tower and just several minutes of walk to the Art Institutes of Chicago, the Millennium Park, etc. But there aren't much eateries at night in the LOOP, except junk food. North of the Chicago river, around the Mag Miles would be a much more decent and lively area. If you would like to have some fun other than just sleep. I would suggest hotels around the Mag Miles. And they do look pretty decent.

5) Value
Last, but not least - the room costs you nearly USD400 a night + tax! The value is simply not there, so please do yourself a favour and avoid it at all cost.

To conclude this is definitely not a hotel we would come back to. We would also rule anything Hilton-related out in our future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our Route 66 trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were offered the upgrade to the Executive Level at $45 a night which turned out to be a real bargain - take it if you are given the chance. Enormous room with two bathrooms and breakfast and goodies included. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant or drink at the bar as everywhere was always so crowded. Excellent location - very close to both Monroe subway stations. Would recommend to anyone who likes an older type of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel was overall comfortable and staff efficient. Rugs in bedroom felt damp, some bed pillows smelled musty, shampoo was never provided, and the room was hot even though thermostat was set at 65 degrees and we had technician come up to resolve. Not resolved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A beautiful Hotel, with professional and helpful employees. This is our first time to Chicago. I am glad that we decided to stay in the Palmer House. I am currently in our executive floor room, and it is a good size room. I do wish they had queens instead of doubles, because I am tall, but I find that doubles are the norm in the Hyatts and older Hiltons when I travel. The bathrooms are very small, and this may be an issue for some, but for us, having two bathrooms is really convenient. The room has a safe, which is big enough for a laptop and some other stuff. I thought self parking was very expensive, but at $45 a night in the loop, it is actually cheaper than others down town. It is right across the street from the hotel, and and feel like a very short walk, because the doors to the garage lobby are just across from the doors to the hotel lobby. Other than a new large flat pannel TV, the room does not have a renovated feel, but an older boutique feel that has been cared for and kept up very well.

BTW: If you are driving, the rental car GPS stops working when you get inside the city with all he skyscrapers. Once you know you are on East Monroe Street heading east from the freeway, stay on the street until the hotel. Your GPS may start to take you on a wild goose chase like ours did. The Hotel Operator was nice enough to stay on the phone and helps us Navigate to the hotel.

We were able to park on the street while we checked in and took our luggage up to our room at 10:00 pm at night before parking in self parking. I did not see any other no parking signs, so I suppose you could do that any time.

Room Tip: Stay on the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was there for a business conference. The hotel was beautiful and staff was great. I did not appreciate, however, all the fees for using the different facilities/internet. Mattress was too hard. I've stayed at Holiday Inn Hotels that were half the price and were only missing the historical factor and beauty of an old hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

For a very large hotel we were made to feel welcome. The breakfast was good however the croissants at breakfast were very small, nice but small. There was plenty of choice on the menu. The dinner menu however does not change. The room was comfortable, however the L train was outside our window. I would certainly recommend that you ask for a room on the other side of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.