We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutbacks Don't Always Work Out Well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Early for Summer!
Ranked #86 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cutbacks Don't Always Work Out Well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great property. Have stayed many, many times and will again. My comment today is abou tthe concierge lounge. Cutbacks are obvious; food variety, staffing etc... While it is still a great value and a beautiful hotel, the management should reconsider the small amount saved by making cutbacks to return guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    1,978
    894
    421
    220
See reviews for
952
1,418
356
1,900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel the foyer is AMAZING!!!!check in on New yrs eve 2012 to a vvv full hotel of young adults going to a ball so they had v little rooms available so we got a wheel chair friendly room but were told we could change in the morning if we wanted but we were vvv happy as the room was massive,bed super comfy,great location and helpful staff.
Only downsides I can say was no free wi fi in room only in lobby and the concierge was ALWAYS vv busy there should have been more than one person on the desk.Had a burger on last day in lobby before heading to airport the best burger I had throughout the whole trip loved this hotel would highly reccommend!!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade or wheelchair friendly room they are way bigger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Palmer House before, but this was our best stay ever. We arrived New Year's Day and our room was not ready...this was okay with us. We checked our luggage and spent time on State Street.
When we returned to the hotel our room was ready and we were told that we were getting a very nice room. And we did! We reserved a standard room with a King sized bed. When we have stayed in the past the rooms were very nice, but this room was fantastic. It was larger than any room we had in the past and we were in a very quiet part of the hotel. We were thrilled.
Our stay was great and the Palmer House is a beautiful hotel. It is located close to all the theaters so we were able to walk to the Cadillac theater and back. We did get the parking package and that worked out wonderfully ( in and out privileges and the parking is good until late afternoon the day after you arrive).
Every staff member was kind and attentive and we will definitely be back next year for another great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Palmer House Hilton is beautiful. The lobby is stunning and one can feel the history of the property while staying there. In addition, the location and staff are top-notch. When we arrived, there was a long line of folks waiting to check-in. A couple of hotel staffers walked up and down the line, handing everyone bottled water. This was a great welcome to the Palmer House. In addition, we were told if we were HHonors Members, would could check-in from a much smaller line.

My main issue with the Palmer House was the size and functionality of the room. Cosmetically, everything looked great. But, the room was one of the smallest I've ever stayed in. The size of the bathroom was almost comical. Again, it looked great, but the size was similar to that of one on an airplane. The walls of the room did not do a good job of keeping sound out as we were woken many times each night by the sound of our neighbors. Our view? A large brick wall. Finally, the bed and pillows were too soft for my taste, but that's my personal opinion. I'm sure others would find it suitable.

We didn't have any major issues with our stay. We did enjoy the property as a whole, but would probably stay elsewhere on our next trip to Chicago.

Room Tip: The Palmer House does have some rooms with two bathrooms. These are very large compared to their st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place was great! The staff was very nice and always asked if I needed help everytime they would see me browsing around. Very large and has lots to do. Prices arent bad for DOWNTOWN CHICAGO! Tons to do and the in room food service is great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Palmer House. We were very pleased with the location. We were able to park at the hotel then zip over to Navy Pier for Winter Fest. The hotel is within walking distance from some terrific restaurants, theatres & shopping. We walked to The Berghoff and had a deliecious dinner and then strolled around for a while. The lobby of the hotel was gorgeous. After stepping off the street, you are tranported to a different era. The history of the hotel is amazing. My children spent at least an hour walking the halls of our floor and viewing the pictures of all the famous people that played The Empire Room. Of course they then had to check out the Empire Room, and it did not disappoint. The entire main floor can only be described as sumptuous. We stayed in a room on the executive level with 2 double beds and 2 bathrooms(!) The room was huge, the beds were very comfortable and the 2 bathrooms were very helpful when traveling with kids. The only negative was the promise of a pool. The pool was too tiny and completely jammed with people no matter when we checked. Other than that, everything was perfect, quiet, clean, very helpful staff.

Room Tip: 2 double bed room with 2 bathrooms is a perfect chice for families. Lots of space in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Palmer House during a visit to Chicago to see The Book of Mormon. We upgraded to the executive floor and were pleased with the breakfast, all day snacks and happy hour service. Our room was small but we had a nice view of the skyline and a glimpse of Lake Michigan. We found all of the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating.
As the weather was unexpectedly mild and sunny for January in Chicago, we walked to and from Union Station and also to the Lake. The location of this hotel was perfect for visiting the Art Institute, restaurants and the theater. Definitely a 5-star visit all around.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.