We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palmer House - great pedigree, very dated.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Break Savings
Ranked #83 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“The Palmer House - great pedigree, very dated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The Palmer House is famous for its historical significance in the Chicago hotel scene. Long gone are the heydays of celebrities and royalty. What exists now is a grand old hotel well-past its prime.
The hotel has over 1600 rooms and it feels as if the investment to keep it fresh and up-to-date is missing. My room on the executive floor has dirty carpeting - inexcusable in a hotel that talks so much about its own grand heritage. The windows are single pane so everything going on outside is heard if not experienced.
I'm a faithful Hilton patron, but if I'm honest, I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family. Find a smaller, newer Hilton property instead.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share a review—we take our guest feedback into great consideration. Please feel free to contact me for any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,002
    1,922
    865
    416
    214
See reviews for
920
1,369
345
1,817
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A great pleasure in the best lobby a treat you should do it least once hours are from two until four. variety of breads, scones parfaits, petit-fours, opera cakes (the lyric opera is just down the street). Try the executive floor as an upgrade, it is worth it. An easy walk to millennium park and the magnificent mile.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Staying at the Palmer House in December is truly wonderful. Best lobby ever. Historic building in downtown. Have Afternoon Tea it is delicious and a lot of fun. Be sure to check out the Christmas Tree and the Peacock Doors and the gingerbread fireplace

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

So I like to book hotels through Priceline, I usually bid on the rooms and get a decent price, at least 40% off the published price. Which is what I did for this room. We stayed there for 2 nights in October. When we got there the front desk informed me that there were no rooms with double beds except 1 which was a "accessible" room. Even though I booked the room with 4 people, 2 adults and 2 kids they didn't have any rooms except this, so I had to take it. The room itself was actually nice, it was an updated room. The bathroom was a bit of a problem. It had a stand up shower, with a seat for accessibility, but it had no door, just a small curtain which caused the floors to get very wet. and slippery. Again its an accessibility room, so I understand it was probably required to be that way. So the other annoyance was that the room was directly behind the elevator, which was extremely noisy, all night sounded like an airplane was taking off next to our room. Again, luckily my wife and I and the kids are heavy sleepers and weren't too annoyed by it, but it was terribly noisy. The other thing was that this hotel seemed to be in the business area of downtown, which is fine. But not a lot of restaurants were open past 9 within walking distance, at least not for a family with kids. One other thing I discovered was that SpotHero.com which is a parking service had a parking deal for this hotel, which was extremely reasonable, as long as you didn't need to take your car out during your stay. The lobby was great. The staff all seemed friendly. The indoor pool starts at 4 ft and is very tiny. So overall, I was mostly disappointed by the fact that they didnt have a double bed room even though that's what I booked through Priceline...so it was a nice hotel, but....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I apologize that we were unable to meet your request, and for any additional noise issues you experienced. We appreciate your review, for that we take guest’s feedback into great consideration. I hope you will give us the opportunity to make it right on your next visit.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My first stay at this hotel was in December 2011. When I entered the hotel I was amazed by the lobby. Very impressive. I was greeted at the Hilton Honors desk by an extremely nice person who welcomed me as a member, offered me free internet and a free upgrade to a higher floor. I was surprised by the size of the room, small, but the bath was lovely. Enjoyed my stay and vowed to return.

November 2012. This time, my family joined me and I was excited to show them this hotel. It was a special visit, as it was a birthday celebration, and we were attending a show in the area that evening. Upon our arrival, around 1:00pm, we were told our room wasn't ready, but the registration person took our phone number and promised to call when it was available. No problem, went to Art Institute around the corner. At around 5pm, we just went back, having never received a call.

We had booked a room on the executive floor as this was a special day/evening. Upon seeing our room, my family was happy that we had booked this "large" room, as anything smaller would not have been good for 3 people. It was a standard room at any other hotel. The room was located between the cleaning staffs supply closet and what must have been the common wall to the elevator's machine workings. Bothersome at night, but especially irritating starting at around 6am.

On the executive floor, a continental breakfast is served, that is if you can find a seat. It was completely crazy with people roaming with plates of food, some taking it back to their rooms. If you did find a table, you may have had to clean it. Internet service was available for 12 dollars, but don't bother. It worked for about 10 minutes in the evening and than 10 minutes in the morning.

Generally, I had a better time in my little room last year than on the executive floor this year. The beds, pillows and bath accessories are very nice and pretty much the same on the executive floor as in the smaller rooms. The concierge was very helpful and the bellman nice. Another plus, the Chicago Art Institute is only a block away, State St. is just outside the hotel's door and the lobby of the Palmer House is impressive, but you can visit without being a guest.

I only get to visit Chicago once a year, and if I do get another chance, I will consider a different hotel. For the price, there are better deals in the area.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better if facing the L train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love the old timey historic grandness of this hotel -- but I am here for business and traveled after a nasty bout of food poisoning, and just wanted to grab a bite at the bar and rest in front of the tv in my room. I am a Hilton Honors member and have stayed at a fair number of properties, but I have to say...it's strange that I could not find any of the standard (CBS, ABC, NBC) networks on the tv. 90% of the television offerings required a charge. It's so petty and yet, it has turned me off. I have to come back to Chicago next month, but I think I'll be staying elsewhere. Also, the offerings at the Lockwood were expensive for what you get. I don't mind paying $16 for a seafood appetizer, but I've had some amazing meals in Chicago for half the price. It's odd that I've had far better experiences at Hampton Inns in Arkansas than I've had here. Sad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPalmerHouse, Manager at The Palmer House Hilton, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, and I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We most certainly offer those channels you mentioned in your review, without any additional charges as well. We offer quite a selection, and now offer HD channels. Please feel free to contact me for any additional questions or concerns. Again, thank you and I hope you will decide to return to our hotel on your next visit.

Thank you,
Dardan Mehmeti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Did one night at the Palmer House using Priceline - just to take my son to Chicago for a day - I have stayed there many times both for business and pleasure. I have always enjoyed my stays at the Palmer House - each room is different - this one had two queens and an updated (but tiny) bathroom.

Valet parking went off without a hitch, the bell staff were all super nice and we got room service as well (most expensive lunch ever - but all part of the experience)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.