We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmer House Hilton to your Saves list
The Palmer House Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Offer - Save Now
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old School Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a hidden gem in Chicago. The hotel is like 144 years old. Right in the heart of Chicago. The Lobby is a masterpiece. Old world charm. Yes the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors if they are rowdy. They have 2 bars both are beautiful and the service is second to none in Chicago. The staff is perfect and so friendly. The rooms are a bit small.But spotless. They are a bit dated but for the price you pay, if you don't like it go spend a hundred dollars a night on another hotel. Overall a great hotel. I will be back. And the location is perfect. Right by the Blue line and Red line.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,881
    1,836
    830
    404
    207
See reviews for
855
1,299
339
1,743
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked this hotel for the central location in the "Loop" and the good reviews. It is a great hotel and although very large, it was comfortable, quiet and efficient in operations. The staff was friendly and helpful. Located just off State St and a block south of Madison it was perfect for all things for the holiday season. FYI the lobby bar is quite expensive Amaretto & mostly coffee $12. Before tax and tip !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Attended a conference at the hotel and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Was upgraded to an executive room and it really makes a difference. Private elevators and great snacks during the day. Service was excellent and the location can't be beat. Great place to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There may be better hotels in Chicago, although I haven't found one. There are some minor negatives like "no in-room coffee pots", "no in-room refridgerators", etc. Also, some rooms are fairly small. However, for sheer class and a sense of history, the Palmer House cannot be beat. What other Chicago hotel offers a 2.5 hour historical tour? Where else in the city can one find a lobby ceiling reminiscent of the Cistine Chapel? This hotel restored it's treasures, rather than destroying them. Wow!
For those of us who love the theatre, the hotel is very well-placed. There are five great theatres (with Broadway-class productions) within easy walking distance. The Art Institute of Chicago, with its great collection of impressionist masters is a very short stroll away. There are also a number of very good restaurants nearby.
For the more casual tourist, the Palmer House is a stop for the hop-on hop-off bus tour. This makes such things as Navy Pier, the Shed Aquarium, the Field Museum, the Museum of Science and Industry (with a real WWII German sub), etc. easily accessible.
The Magnificent Mile is a comfortable (if not short) walk but the more reasonable State Street shopping district is very close, as is the jewelry district.
This is not an inexpensive place to stay but it has location and class. Not a bad trade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my first time to Chicago where I lucked into staying at this amazing hotel I was able to upgrade to the executive floor where I surprised my sister (also her first time there) with a room with two queen sized beds and count them...two bathrooms. Was as decadent as I could imagine and since it included a very large continental breakfast, coffee, tea and soft drinks all day and a "high tea" from 5:00 to 7:00 which covered our dinner meals, we only had to buy our lunches while seeing the sights and shows around town. The hotel is lovely, historic, spacious rooms and definitely top notch.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, see about an upgrade to the executive level--well worth the extra cost. Rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very good stay at Palmer House for a conferecne. It is very close to the M for a quick trip from O'Hare airport. I was recognised as a Hilton Gold member and given a king size room away from any noise in the hotel and access to Executive lounge. Although the hotel was busy with conferences during my stay, I never had trouble finding a seat in lounge area. Restaurant was good for a couple of meals. Well situated in town within ten minutes of Magnificent Mile. Good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everyone will tell you about the beautiful lobby. It certainly is. I had a suite, so I can't comment on a regular room. My suite was very nice and clean, beautifully decorated, two full baths. I found that every employee I dealt with in person was extremely nice. I had quite a different experience when I called the hotel a few times over the months leading up to my stay. Some of the oddities: common items found in even cheap hotels are not including in these rooms, not even in my pricey suite, like a coffee maker (!), microwave, pull out couch/bed, mini-fridge. You can request a coffee maker be brought to your room and it is complimentary. But a microwave, fridge, roll-away bed are all for an additional fee. No free wi-fi in your room either. Oddly, I had ordered the fridge when I made my reservation as instructed by the website, but when I checked in, they told me it came with my suite at no additional fee, so that was a bit of misinformation. I couldn't order the coffee maker ahead of time (one of the unpleasant phone calls I mentioned earlier) so I ordered it when I checked in. It didn't arrive that day or the next, so I had to call again and it finally came. I still have a hard time with these so-called "extras" needing to be ordered and paid for on top of the premium price already paid for these premium rooms at this premium hotel (and they warn you that there is no guarantee they will have the items available!) The hotel was packed when I was there... piles of people trying to get on the elevators, which are a bit slow. But that was just at certain peak times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palmer House Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmer House Hilton

Address: 17 East Monroe Street, Box 75845, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmer House Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North America’s most established hotel, the Palmer House Hilton first opened its doors in 1871 and has remained the place to "see and be seen" in downtown Chicago. We continue evolving to serve you with the latest conveniences and comforts in meetings, accommodations and dining - a hip and historic blend of modern nuances and Chicago cultural significance. Whether you’re holding a gala in the famed Empire Room or an intimate gathering in one of our hospitality suites, your event is sure to be a success. Here, you’ll be the host in the Chicago hotel that’s been the venue of choice for celebrities, politicians, and royalty for more than a century.When you come to the Palmer House Hilton, you don’t just stay here. You live here—even if it’s only for a night. That’s why all of our guest rooms and suites have just the right touches to make you feel right at home. You’ll sleep well on our Hilton Serenity Dream bed featuring a plush top mattress and crisp linens, lathering up with Peter Thomas Roth bath products, perceptual service and a full host of amenities to keeping you connected – from flat screen HD televisions, wired and wireless high-speed internet to alarm clocks with auxiliary ports, you’ll find everything you need to rest easy. Lockwood Restaurant, your Farm to Fork, AAA 4 Diamond destination open for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as afternoon tea. The Lobby Bar at Lockwood is a favorite for locals and travelers alike for craft beers and craft cocktails with Palmer House private reserves and labels. Potter’s is the hip spot to enjoy a retro mix of perfectly poured libations and delectable light fare while reminiscing about the hotel’s history. The hotel is walking distance to the Blue Line and the Orange Line “L” stations for quick transport to O’Hare International Airport and Midway Airport, respectively. The Palmer House Hilton is steps to all the action along State Street including Macy’s, Nordstrom Rack, American Apparel, H&M, Block 37 Mall and the Chicago Theatre. The hotel is also a short walk to The Art Institute, Joffrey Ballet, Cadillac Theatre, Jeweler’s Row, Millennium Park, John G. Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum and Adler Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Palmer House Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmer House Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Palmer
Palmer House Chicago
Chicago Palmer House Hilton
Palmer House Hilton Chicago
Palmer Hilton House
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmer House Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.