We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My only Pad in Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #38 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“My only Pad in Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I am on my seventh stay at the Omni Chicago. I love the location and the staff. The rooms are huge and all have a separate enclosed living room area. I am sorry to lose my Platinum status because I missed four Omni nights in 2013. But I will continue to use the Omnis wherever I go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We appreciate that you always stay with us when you’re in Chicago, and at other Omni Hotels in cities across the country. Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and please let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable.
Aaron, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    625
    187
    61
    46
See reviews for
628
606
83
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Upon arrival, we were incredibly disappointed to find that the indoor pool was "closed for maintenance." Not to worry, the front desk told us happily that we could WALK to the hotel a block away and use their pool IN SUB FREEZING TEMPERATURES. NO THANK YOU. While taking a shower, I found MOLD growing on the shower walls. Looking closer, it was clear that the walls had not been cleaned in quite some time. There was no hot water, yet water pressure so high the water physically hurt coming out of the shower head. We ordered room service the prior night to be ready by 7:30 AM. It finally showed up 20 minutes late. After this, we went to talk to the manager, who found us a new room and apologized for the inconvenience. The new room was much cleaner and had a better view. The restaurant seemed very pretentious, like they are trying to make up for the quality of the rest of their hotel. My wife and I struggled to find things we could eat. We paid way too much for this hotel to have these problems. We will be staying elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Adam-

Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry of the issues you experienced at the hotel from a maintenance and cleanliness perspective. Unfortunately, closing the pool was required in order to replace the line and The Peninsula, the closest hotel to Omni Chicago, was kind enough to allow our guests to use their pool. While we posted notice of the pool closure on the Omni Website, notified our third party partners and had our voice agents trained to notify callers over the closed dates, we cannot guarantee that word will get to all channels and therefore all guests.

The cleanliness and maintenance issues are unacceptable and will be addressed. I also understand that Sarah P, our Front Desk Manager has also reached out directly to you. Please let me know if you did not receive her email.

Thank you
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Took my daughter and 2 friends to the American Girl Doll Store and they had a blast. Our room was all set up and ready when we got there. It was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The next time we are in Chicago, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
That’s fantastic! Our American Girl package is very popular, and we’re glad you enjoyed our hotel and the American Girl Store just up the street. We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a trip with 6 moms taking our 5th grade sons to tour Chicago. We were greeted at check in by friendly staff who stored our luggage while we were waiting for a room and off to tour the city. Lemonade in the lobby was nice on hot days. Close enough to walk just a few blocks to Hancock and shopping on Michigan Avenue. We felt it was in a safe area but one of my friends still had her wallet stolen at breakfast (not at the Omni but right around the corner). Our rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. The beds comfortable. We were glad they had a pool for the boys in the evening. It was small but still fit the bill. We ate dinner in the hotel one evening and found it very pricey with a somewhat limited offering (especially for kids) We took taxis more then we thought we would need to in order to go to some of the sights but overall it was a well-appointed hotel and a great place to stay. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great Location, Exceptional Service. I came with two friends for a Fiftieth Birthday. They brought up a bottle of champange, a piece of cake and a box of chocolates at no extra charge. This is an all suite hotels. The rooms are spacious, clean and the service is impeccable. The location is in the center of the magnificant mile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your 50th birthday. We’re glad you had a great time. Our staff does a great job of making special occasions memorable, and we hope your birthday was no exception. Please come back next time you’re in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Whenever I am in Chicago I try to stay at the Omni! This time i brought my family - rooms are large and comfortable and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Highly recommend the breakfast buffet in the restaurant - something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great location to Magnificent Mile. Hotel Nice a bit pricey compared to other hotels in the area that have more things to offer. Breakfast not included like some of the other hotels nearby at comparable prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Amex, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.