We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lots of room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #36 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location and lots of room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel rooms were all suites so lots of room. Clean and comfortable. Not much of a view. The pool was a little small. Exercise room was nice and big. Outside terraces from the pool and excercise room were very nice. Great location. Lot's of great resturants and shopping in walking distance. Self park a few blocks away for $45.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    665
    199
    64
    46
See reviews for
669
641
87
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at this Omni. For the money, it was worth it. We booked day of arrival for a last minute trip and got a great rate. If we had paid any more though it would not have been worth it.

The rooms are clean enough, except for the light switches and switch plates. Nothing grosses me out more than light switches with grime around them. The bathroom was clean, but the drain plug in the sink was broken so the water didn't drain fast enough.

The furnishings were nothing special. Nothing had a "wow" factor. The bed was comfortable.

The old tube tv in the bedroom was interesting. I didnt even know they made those anymore.

There are not enough outlets to plug in phones, tablets, computers, etc.

Room service was expensive but that is to be expected. It tasted fine, but nothing special.

Front desk and valet service were friendly.

The low point of our stay was when I called the front desk around 11pm to ask about our sofa sleeper. Long story short...the conversation started out pleasant enough, but when I needed a moment to verify something for the lady I was talking to, she told me she didnt have time to wait because her phones were ringing. She actually said "call me back" and HUNG UP ON ME in mid-sentence!

The high point of our stay was the last minute great rate we got.

The location of this hotel is hard to beat. It is the best thing it has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
First we apologize for our front desk agent hanging up on you when you called about the sleeper sofa. This should never be a solution for phones ringing for other requests. We will make sure to pass your comments along to our front office manager to address this with our operators and associates. As far as our rooms are concerned, we are hoping to begin a renovation in the near future. In the meantime we will make sure our housekeeping team is paying special attention to the cleanliness of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall we were disappointed in our stay at Omni for two nights for a family getaway. We are on a tight budget and this was a big splurge for us- unfortunately- it did not live up to our expectations. My husband wanted to stay at a no frills hotel downtown but I wanted the fancy Chicago experience- should have listened to him. The good: Omni put us on their "hypoallergenic floor" beause my 6 month old has allergies- really appreciated that. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent. Location can't be beat. View from our room (King corner on 21st floor) was really nice. Perks for kids (milk and cookies, backpack with toys) were a really nice touch. Delivered a fridge to us which was great since we have small kids (baby food, drinks for son, etc). The not so good: The room was dated and not up to expectations as far as cleanliness. Pull out couch looked dirty and bed was horribly uncomfortable (thankfully did not bother our 4 yo). Decorative pillows and spread were really awful- could not get them off bed fast enough. shade in bedroom did not close all of the way- had to use pillows up against window to block out the morning sun. bathroom was not entirely clean (black mold on toilet rim, sticker from previous guest on floor). carpet also not the cleanest- I am not a neat freak by any means and believe kids should be exposed to germs- but we laid a blanket on the floor before putting my 6 month old down to play. We are pretty low maintenance people and it doesn't take much to impress. We thought we got a great deal on the price for a "luxury hotel" but they just didn't deliver. I'm kind of sick to my stomach when I think about the credit card bill that is going to arrive for our stay (room, parking, one breakfast at hotel restaurant)- such a bummer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We’re sorry that the cleanliness of the room was an issue during your stay, and that you were disappointed in your stay overall. We certainly strive to make sure all our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards, but we didn’t deliver on that. We will make our housekeeping team aware of your review so that we can improve on our mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When searching for a hotel close to shopping and downtown, I discoved a wonderful package deal at the Omni that would appeal to my 5 year old and her desire for an American Girl Doll. The hotel catered to her new purchase with special treats and take home items. It was pure joy to see her enjoy our stay so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Amenities are great for the area, close restaurants and high end shopping. 4 blocks to the red line gets you into both Baseball stadiums. Courteous, friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately since the rooms face N.Michigan, noise from incoming ambulances can be distracting. However, I definately recommend a stay at the Chicago Omni Hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was completely blown away by the amazing experience I had at the OMNI.Great location, unbelieveble staff ready to assist and a great atmosphere for adults and children. Whether it is for business or pleasure, I will stay at this location when I am visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. I know it is unpredictable to know what you are getting when you bid this way. When I found out it was the Omni I was excited. It had a 4.5 rating and I knew Oprah used to put her guests there. Not the same hotel!!! Dirty run down rooms,they promised me a king room, but gave a queen with roll away bed. Beware of Hotwire and this hotel. At best I give it a 2 star rating and that's for location!

Room Tip: I don't think there is one,sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#83 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,857 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The James Chicago
#24 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#19 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.