We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Exceptional hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, Exceptional hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Family vacation - fantastic hotel. Clean, modern room, excellent staff from service to desk staff.....can't say one negative thing about them. In fact, a number of staff went out of their way to help us with requests beyond what you'd normally expect. Location is super....the Omni is more or less in the center of the Magnificent Mile, and you can walk to most attractions or get easy transport access. Would recommend getting the GO Chicago Card that lets you get into attractions and skip some lines....if you plan on going to a number of attractions, you'll come out spending less than paying for each place separately. On some reviews people seemed really thrown by the check in desk being on the second floor.....not really any issue, though, jeez take the elevator one flight, no biggie. We requested a corner king suite and it was great, quiet and still had a nice window view of the Hancock Tower. The Grayline bus 'hop on / hop off' ticket is handy to get around to some of the attractions, and the only times we needed something else for transport was to go see Wrigley Field (took their Red Line train) and to go to Lincoln Zoo (hotel arranged a driver for us -- they have a hotel car that you can book in advance for transport to attractions). Great number of things to see in the city.....Navy Pier, Wrigley, Lincoln Zoo, the Shedd Acquarium, Oak. St. Beach if you want a wind down time, Hancock Tower, Sears Tower (now called Willis Tower), and even Water Tower Place (our little girl loved the Legoland store inside). The Hershey store was, well, what you'd expect.....and Ghirardellis as well. Food wise, loved trying some authentic Chicago Style Hot Dogs and the Deep Dish (go to Giordano's.....head and shoulders above the others). Ate at a few really good places along Rush Street (breakfast, dinner). The River tour is good for a slower pace. Millenium Park is great.....good food, the Bean is visually something to see, and our little girl loved playing in the outdoor water feature / water park they have there. If you're in town on a Saturday, catch the fireworks at Navy Pier, really well done production. Chicago itself....no real 'rough' areas that we saw, but we were on the Mile. It's a really big city, so night life is there and there's regular night time sirens going off, so bear that in mind when booking a room. Pretty much everyone we encountered was friendly, which was nice. I'd like to go back to Chicago and would not hesitate to stay at the Omni again, the level of service was really A+.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor, lots of sirens from ambulances / cops at night....very tall buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    682
    202
    66
    47
See reviews for
694
653
88
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Hotel for a weekend spring break trip this March. The hotel provided a convenient and comfortable shelter from the chilly, wet Chicago spring weather.

Location and service make this hotel a smart choice. The main entrance is just a half block off the Magnificent Mile: Visitors will have ready access to variety of restaurants (from casual to upscale) and shops. Those interested in cheap transportation can easily walk to the Red Line's Chicago stop, which is just a few blocks away. The service was also a highlight: Staff members always bid us goodbye as we left for excursions and welcomed us back as we returned from our adventures. Though we didn't' personally seek much assistance from staff, I got the feeling they would respond quickly and helpfully to any request.

My only (slight) complaint is that this didn't feel like a luxury hotel, as was advertised on the web site. Yes, the room was nice and clean, but the carpet was worn, and the sliding bathroom door between the bedroom and bathroom creaked and jammed every time it was used. Additionally, and this is not Omni's fault, the blaring sirens and honking horns of Michigan Avenue can hinder sleep; if you're a light sleeper, bring your ear plugs.

All that said, I would stay again based on the reasonable price, excellent location, and cheerful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there with my wife for a little weekend getaway. Great location if you like beingnear the hustle and bustle of The Magnificent Mile. Great shops and restaurants. Rooms are very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time visit to Chicago. Stayed at the Omni for 4 nights with my mother and met some other ladies for the weekend. Hotel was in a great location for getting around the city. Rooms are all suites so that is nice for the extra room. We were on the 24th floor so had a great view. Others in our group were on the 11th and their view not nearly so nice.
Only complaint was the lighting in the bedroom was really poor. Also the bathroom setup was just one big room. Hard for two people to get ready at the same time. If the lighting was better in the wet bar area that sink and mirror could be utilized better.
We also really enjoyed the hotel restaurant and lounge!
Ready to come back to Chicago when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the concierge told us the best places to eat, how to get around, gave us coupons, printed our boarding passes and much more! Her name was Catherine, and she is a number one reason my husband and I will return. The rooms are nice, clean and the beds are very comfortable (although if you are used to a firm pillow you might want to bring your own). The pool is a little small but very quaint and clean. We love Chicago and we cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on one of the higher floors to increase your view. Also, make sure you do the HOP o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I believed that this hotel had a higher standard and I expected more then I saw and got. For being on Michigan Ave. among the better hotels I found that the rooms left a little to be desired by comparison to some of the other hotels. But overall the service was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a suite for a girls weekend. It worked out nicely but beds were only doubles so we brought in a cot (comfy) and used the sofa bed. People were friendly there- it's close to water tower & shopping so great location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. If you are in need of a larger suite, please give us a call and we’ll be happy to let you know what options are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#82 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,929 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
The James Chicago
#24 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,362 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.