We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #39 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great weekend in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Perfect location for our family weekend in the city. Right on the mag mile. Close to shopping and things we wanted to take the kids to see. Extremely nice staff. Very comfortable rooms. The kids got little welcome backpacks when we checked in. Walking distance to fantastic restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    619
    187
    61
    46
See reviews for
627
598
83
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel's staff is comparable to "Ritz Quality" when it comes to customer service. The location is right in the heart of the "Magnificent Mile". The 676 restaurant serves an excellent morning buffet and lunch/dinner menus feature creative and nicely prepared meals. Our only suggestions for improvement: (1) carpet in our 24th floor room was in need of future replacement and (2) we ordered extra pillows but they never appeared.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aside from not delivering the extra pillows, we appreciate the great comments on our staff. We'll pass them along to our housekeeping team. We will be renovating in the near future and replacing our carpet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The prime location and top notch service make this hotel a fantastic stay. We celebrated our wedding anniversary with an overnight stay. The concierge recommended the back room jazz club with comp. tickets for a great night of music. A shout out to Jennifer Avellana for the wonderful gift of delicious chocolate cake and a bottle of champagne! The room was comfortable with all the niceties that make this place a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! We're so glad you chose to stay with us to celebrate. We'll be sure to let Jennifer know that she made your stay even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, big thank you to Amiri the superb concierge at Omni who made our first trip to Chicago so great. This hotel has excellent staff, it is clean, perfectly located. If I could say anything negative it would only be to say get the same mattresses as Omni LA has as they were more comfortable however it was a great experience. Great fitness facilities also.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We'll make sure to let Amiri know you appreciated his help during your stay. As far as mattresses are concerned, we're in the planning stages of our renovation, and we'll be upgrading them very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here for a shopping weekend, and had such a great experience. Everyone who works there was very nice, and the location is great for some mag mile shopping! I arrived early, and the room was all ready for us to check in. I will be back again!!!

Room Tip: Ask about what view your getting before you book the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We enjoy the holidays on the Mag Mile every year. One of the reasons is the Omni Chicago Hotel. The hotel is emaculate, classy and affordable. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. The valet service was very convienent and usually can be part of the weekend package. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. We love the fact we can walk right power shop, return to the room and then get back out for a bite to eat within an hour.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing michigan during December
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It was my first visit to Chicago, and first visit to an Omni Hotel. And if I ever come to Chicago again, I'll choose the Omni Chicago Hotel.

Our arrival and check-in went very well. Our room was already ready when we arrived at 12pm, so it was very nice to get to a comfortable room after a long trip. The room was really nice, although as many has been saying here, it's a bit worn out, but nevertheless, it was big enough for the three of us, and the view! As our room was on the 25th floor, we could see the Hancock Building and a bit of Mag Mile! We loved it! The beds were comfortable and it was nice to be able to change the room temperature by our selves. As we checked in, we asked for a additional fridge so that we can put our own drinks and water there, and we got one really soon without any extra charges.

Overall the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the concierge got us a rental car for our Aurora Outlet trip so that we didn't have to hassle about it. And any member of the staff that we encountered on the hotel was really nice.

The breakfast is worth every dollar. Although for a traveller like me the 20 dollar price might seem a little high, but it was totally worth it. Probably the best breakfast I've ever had in any hotel. And I have to mention the omelette chef especially, as she was so nice and professional and made us perfect omelettes every morning! I miss those already!

And everyone should join the Omni Select Guest program! The benefits of it are great and it's totally free! You get a newspaper and fresh coffee, tea or juice delivered to the room every morning, and you get a free wifi.

Overall our visit at the Omni was perfect in every way. I'm really happy that my 30th birthday trip went so well, as our hotel choice was one of the major things that could've have effect on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a additional fridge for your own drinks. Join the Omni Select Guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.