We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend in Chi-Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #36 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls Weekend in Chi-Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

College reunion gone great! Loved this property! Stayed here with 3 friends from college. The room was perfect - 2 beds in separate bedroom and fold-out sofa. We had plenty of room and had a blast! The ONLY thing I can say is we wish there was more light in the room. We had to do our makeup by the window so we could see but everything else was wonderful! Starbucks available in the lobby and we cannot say enough about the location - perfect! We liked the security feature of having to take 2 elevators to get to the rooms - our peace of mind far out-weighed what some consider an inconvenience. I will be returning with the family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    686
    202
    66
    48
See reviews for
700
657
88
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We got a deal through Hotwire and stayed here for one night. Thanks to TA I joined their select guest program. We did get the Starbucks in the morning, which was great, but no water and no newspaper. Maybe because I only joined the day before... The location is great--perfect for our shopping trip. Everything was within walking distance. The room was pretty nice, just looked a little worn. The carpet was rippled in the center of the room and one tile was cracked in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice view. I enjoyed the pool. My only real complaint was the woman who checked us in seemed a bit snobbish and not very friendly. Otherwise it was a nice stay but I'll probably check out other places on my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We apologize that our front desk agent didn't make you feel welcome when you arrived. It's our top priority to make all our guests feel comfortable like they are walking into their own home. We will pass along your comments to make sure that we emphasize this to all our agents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Never been to Chicago before and couldnt believe we had picked the perfect choice of hotel for my Husband & I.for five nights in the "Windy City" We had a superb junior suite on the 24th floor with a lounge with wet bar, separate bedroom and bathroom - the breakfast buffet was superb and we ate most nights in the Hotel restaurant.which was also excellent The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The location of the hotel is perfect for shopping etc.
We also enjoyed the city tour and the Architectural cruise and the trolley tour - Gray Line had a shuttle to collect and return you to the hotel which was brilliant. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor - plenty hotel lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My friends and I loved our stay at the Omni. We could walk to hours and hours of shopping on Michigan Avenue (American Girl, Disney, Crate & Barrell, Tiffany's, Gap, etc.). We walked to some great restaurants (Ralphs and Quartino were awesome!) as well as a fun show at The Baton. The breakfast buffet was amazing with made to order omletes, homemade preserves, homemade sausage with blueberries, pastries, fresh berries and other fruit, potatos, and much more! We had excellent service, and a perfectly clean room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Omni, is just off the Magnificent Mile across from the Apple Store. It is convenient to all the shopping you'd want to do and 2 blocks over and 2 blocks up from the Red line, so easy to walk to after you take the train from Midway Airport. No need to rent a car and deal with the hassles and expensive parking associated with city driving.

We booked thru Hotels.com, great deal for three nights stay. We had a suite on the 21st floor, and initially we cringed when we discovered we were the room against the elevator shaft. It turned out to be a non-issue, as the rooms were quite quiet from elevator noise. All the rooms apparently are suites and ours was no exception. There is a sitting area with a big screen tv and a walk thru bathroom the links the sitting area to the sleeping area. There is also a second entrance to the sleeping area from the sitting room. My only gripe was a basic tv in the bedroom and the flat screen in the sitting area. Either swap them or get a nicer tv in the sleeping area.

There was turn down service every night, and the staff was all very friendly. We've made this trip on the first weekend of December for a few years now, always eploring new hotels with each visit. I think this one will be a repeatable location for us.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to minimize the noise from Michigan Ave, but it's not really bad anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your annual Chicago trip. As far as the TVs are concerned, we will be upgrading both TVs to flat screens during our renovation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you next December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this place could not have been better located but definitely not 4.5 star hotel. have to get elevator up to reception then change elevators to floor a little annoying when busy. restaurant and bar excellent and i have to say the bar maid was a genius with her cocktails you have to have one and the waiting staff were so friendly and helpful. cheese board worth a go too. the room we got first was a twin as no kings left even though booked this so not a comfortable first night but second room was great corner room with lots of light and a huge window behind bed. join omni rewards wifi expensive otherwise. the hotel needed some updating but on the whole good. gym facilities good and so is pool which is located through the gym as difficult to find

Room Tip: get a corner king room windows and view beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry that we only had a two double bed room upon check-in, but glad we were able to move you to a corner suite the next day. We are currently in the early stages of planning our room renovation. We hope you will come back and see the final product when it's complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We planned a girls weekend in Chicago and choose the Omni Hotel. In every way we were impressed by all staff members, their friendliness, helpfulness, and timeliness was suburb. The location was excellent, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our favorite meal of the weekend was the Omni's breakfast buffet. Delicious pastries and breads, delectable meats, and the freshest fruits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#82 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,943 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
The James Chicago
#25 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,371 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite luxury accommodations on Michigan Avenue are now even better - located in the heart of the city, the Omni Chicago Hotel is celebrating its recent renovation. The $11 million transformation includes a renovation and upgrade of all public space, and newly appointed guest suites, including 10 specialty suites. Inspired by Louis Sullivan's intricate sketches, the Chicago School's building materials of terracotta, limestone, steel and brick and the whimsy of modern sculptures synonymous with the city, the new Omni Chicago guest room is truly a reflection of Chicago's unique blend of modern and historical charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.