We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location just of the Magnificent Mile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #32 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location just of the Magnificent Mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Omni, is just off the Magnificent Mile across from the Apple Store. It is convenient to all the shopping you'd want to do and 2 blocks over and 2 blocks up from the Red line, so easy to walk to after you take the train from Midway Airport. No need to rent a car and deal with the hassles and expensive parking associated with city driving.

We booked thru Hotels.com, great deal for three nights stay. We had a suite on the 21st floor, and initially we cringed when we discovered we were the room against the elevator shaft. It turned out to be a non-issue, as the rooms were quite quiet from elevator noise. All the rooms apparently are suites and ours was no exception. There is a sitting area with a big screen tv and a walk thru bathroom the links the sitting area to the sleeping area. There is also a second entrance to the sleeping area from the sitting room. My only gripe was a basic tv in the bedroom and the flat screen in the sitting area. Either swap them or get a nicer tv in the sleeping area.

There was turn down service every night, and the staff was all very friendly. We've made this trip on the first weekend of December for a few years now, always eploring new hotels with each visit. I think this one will be a repeatable location for us.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to minimize the noise from Michigan Ave, but it's not really bad anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your annual Chicago trip. As far as the TVs are concerned, we will be upgrading both TVs to flat screens during our renovation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you next December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    980
    511
    157
    47
    39
See reviews for
526
496
72
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this place could not have been better located but definitely not 4.5 star hotel. have to get elevator up to reception then change elevators to floor a little annoying when busy. restaurant and bar excellent and i have to say the bar maid was a genius with her cocktails you have to have one and the waiting staff were so friendly and helpful. cheese board worth a go too. the room we got first was a twin as no kings left even though booked this so not a comfortable first night but second room was great corner room with lots of light and a huge window behind bed. join omni rewards wifi expensive otherwise. the hotel needed some updating but on the whole good. gym facilities good and so is pool which is located through the gym as difficult to find

Room Tip: get a corner king room windows and view beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry that we only had a two double bed room upon check-in, but glad we were able to move you to a corner suite the next day. We are currently in the early stages of planning our room renovation. We hope you will come back and see the final product when it's complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We planned a girls weekend in Chicago and choose the Omni Hotel. In every way we were impressed by all staff members, their friendliness, helpfulness, and timeliness was suburb. The location was excellent, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our favorite meal of the weekend was the Omni's breakfast buffet. Delicious pastries and breads, delectable meats, and the freshest fruits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having stayed here a few years ago for a meeting, I decided to book the same hotel again, having nice memories of the place. I have to say that I will not be coming back. The hotel has 2 good points: Location (a half block from Michigan Ave, nicely situated between points of interest and shopping) and large suites. Getting in is odd, as you first enter a small lobby, take an elevator to the 3rd floor (where the front desk is) and then a separate elevator up to the rooms. There was almost no holiday decorations, as opposed to every other Michigan Ave hotel. The staff was moderately friendly, except that the concierge was not but the doormen definitely were (neutral). However, the bellman took my luggage to the front desk and no further, leaving me to lug it up to my room. I signed up for their preferred program but got no water and never had Starbucks delivered to my room like others have mentioned.

However, the rest of the stay was marred the a number of bad points. First was the room. The room, while clean, and big, was otherwise unremarkable. Flat screen in the sitting room offset by small bedroom TV, and the furniture was OK. The bed was not particularly comfortable, unless you like very firm mattresses, but was without lumps. My room was next to the elevators, and the bed is against that wall, so elevator noise kept me up the first night, but the bed was far enough away that hall noise was minimal. The towels were very scratchy and thin, especially for a nicer hotel, and while normally I do not notice this much, the toilet paper was single ply and so rough that it felt as I was receiving dermabrasion.

Housekeeping was spotty. Had turn down service only once my entire stay, and on 2 of 4 nights, they forgot to replace the travel cups so I could take a cup of coffee with me as I walked to the shuttle bus. Little things, but made my stay noticeably less comfortable.

Upon coming out of the elevator on 3 of my 4 nights at the hotel, the hallway literally reeked if cigarette smoke, so much so that I went back down and asked if they had mistakenly put me on a smoking floor (the entire hotel is nonsmoking I found out). As far as I could tell, no effort was made to stop the smoking form occurring, although they did send someone to liberally spray air freshener up and down the hall each time.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel at this point based on my stay. On my next visit, I will probably go with the Westin, Marriott, or Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Get a higher room to avoid traffic noise and do not get one by the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We apologize that we didn't provide help getting your bags to your room. You are right. The little things do add up. We're sorry that you had to deal with cigarette smoke in the hallway, a lack of attention to detail from housekeeping and a bed that wasn't very comfortable. When a guest is smoking on one of our floors we do everything possible to locate the source and warn them to stop or else we will have to remove them from the hotel. We also charge a large cleaning fee to any guest who smokes in the room to discourage it. We know you will most likely try another hotel next time you are in Chicago, but we hope that if you don't find a better place that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived at 7:30 a.m. to the hotel. Check-in wasn't until 3pm. They got me checked in right away. Don't forget to sign up for their free preferred program. Water on your arrival and fresh starbucks delivered to your room every morning. Uniquely tailored for each guest. Also a great location on Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and I will definitely be returning. There is a huge focus on customer service and we experienced nothing but the best here.

First of all, the location is fantastic. Right on Michigan Avenue and close to all of the shopping. We got to the hotel at noon expecting to drop off our bags and return at 3 for check in, but we were pleasantly surprised that our rooms were ready.

The rooms are large and it is definitely nice having a separate sitting area from the bedroom. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The bathroom is very big as well and there is lots of room for 2 people to get ready.

The staff here are amazing. Everyone was so friendly and we definitely felt welcomed. The perks that come with being a select guest (free to join) really made our stay exceptional. We had a high floor room, a morning beverage brought to our room every morning, free wi-fi, and shoe shining. The nightly turn down service is a nice touch as well!

We happened to be in Chicago for the Festival of Lights and received a full page letter the night before letting us know what to expect. (What time the parade would be passing by, delays to expect with parking and getting a cab) This was helpful since there were so many people out for the parade!

Some reviewers have commented on the separate elevators from the ground level to reception and then the ones up to the rooms. We did not find this an inconvenience at all.

We really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Omni Hotel right on Michigan Ave in Chicago! We have stayed at other locations on and near Michigan Ave & we felt this was one of the better locations that we have stayed at in Chicago. The location of the hotel can't be beat being right on Michigan Ave. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go to based on the great location of the hotel. Another advantage to the Omni over other Michigan Ave area hotels is that it is a suite hotel, so the rooms were much roomier than other hotels we have stayed at in Chicago. There was a large living room area with tv and wet bar, large & clean bathroom, and then a bedroom area with another tv. Since I was traveling with a friend, it was nice for each of us to have our own area. The staff at the Omni was all very friendly & helpful. We will definitely consider staying at the Omni again when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.