We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Omni Chicago Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Parking or Rooms!
Ranked #27 of 167 hotels in Chicago
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this place could not have been better located but definitely not 4.5 star hotel. have to get elevator up to reception then change elevators to floor a little annoying when busy. restaurant and bar excellent and i have to say the bar maid was a genius with her cocktails you have to have one and the waiting staff were so friendly and helpful. cheese board worth a go too. the room we got first was a twin as no kings left even though booked this so not a comfortable first night but second room was great corner room with lots of light and a huge window behind bed. join omni rewards wifi expensive otherwise. the hotel needed some updating but on the whole good. gym facilities good and so is pool which is located through the gym as difficult to find

Room Tip: get a corner king room windows and view beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry that we only had a two double bed room upon check-in, but glad we were able to move you to a corner suite the next day. We are currently in the early stages of planning our room renovation. We hope you will come back and see the final product when it's complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    861
    445
    126
    42
    30
See reviews for
439
433
66
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We planned a girls weekend in Chicago and choose the Omni Hotel. In every way we were impressed by all staff members, their friendliness, helpfulness, and timeliness was suburb. The location was excellent, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our favorite meal of the weekend was the Omni's breakfast buffet. Delicious pastries and breads, delectable meats, and the freshest fruits.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having stayed here a few years ago for a meeting, I decided to book the same hotel again, having nice memories of the place. I have to say that I will not be coming back. The hotel has 2 good points: Location (a half block from Michigan Ave, nicely situated between points of interest and shopping) and large suites. Getting in is odd, as you first enter a small lobby, take an elevator to the 3rd floor (where the front desk is) and then a separate elevator up to the rooms. There was almost no holiday decorations, as opposed to every other Michigan Ave hotel. The staff was moderately friendly, except that the concierge was not but the doormen definitely were (neutral). However, the bellman took my luggage to the front desk and no further, leaving me to lug it up to my room. I signed up for their preferred program but got no water and never had Starbucks delivered to my room like others have mentioned.

However, the rest of the stay was marred the a number of bad points. First was the room. The room, while clean, and big, was otherwise unremarkable. Flat screen in the sitting room offset by small bedroom TV, and the furniture was OK. The bed was not particularly comfortable, unless you like very firm mattresses, but was without lumps. My room was next to the elevators, and the bed is against that wall, so elevator noise kept me up the first night, but the bed was far enough away that hall noise was minimal. The towels were very scratchy and thin, especially for a nicer hotel, and while normally I do not notice this much, the toilet paper was single ply and so rough that it felt as I was receiving dermabrasion.

Housekeeping was spotty. Had turn down service only once my entire stay, and on 2 of 4 nights, they forgot to replace the travel cups so I could take a cup of coffee with me as I walked to the shuttle bus. Little things, but made my stay noticeably less comfortable.

Upon coming out of the elevator on 3 of my 4 nights at the hotel, the hallway literally reeked if cigarette smoke, so much so that I went back down and asked if they had mistakenly put me on a smoking floor (the entire hotel is nonsmoking I found out). As far as I could tell, no effort was made to stop the smoking form occurring, although they did send someone to liberally spray air freshener up and down the hall each time.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel at this point based on my stay. On my next visit, I will probably go with the Westin, Marriott, or Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Get a higher room to avoid traffic noise and do not get one by the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We apologize that we didn't provide help getting your bags to your room. You are right. The little things do add up. We're sorry that you had to deal with cigarette smoke in the hallway, a lack of attention to detail from housekeeping and a bed that wasn't very comfortable. When a guest is smoking on one of our floors we do everything possible to locate the source and warn them to stop or else we will have to remove them from the hotel. We also charge a large cleaning fee to any guest who smokes in the room to discourage it. We know you will most likely try another hotel next time you are in Chicago, but we hope that if you don't find a better place that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived at 7:30 a.m. to the hotel. Check-in wasn't until 3pm. They got me checked in right away. Don't forget to sign up for their free preferred program. Water on your arrival and fresh starbucks delivered to your room every morning. Uniquely tailored for each guest. Also a great location on Michigan Ave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and I will definitely be returning. There is a huge focus on customer service and we experienced nothing but the best here.

First of all, the location is fantastic. Right on Michigan Avenue and close to all of the shopping. We got to the hotel at noon expecting to drop off our bags and return at 3 for check in, but we were pleasantly surprised that our rooms were ready.

The rooms are large and it is definitely nice having a separate sitting area from the bedroom. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The bathroom is very big as well and there is lots of room for 2 people to get ready.

The staff here are amazing. Everyone was so friendly and we definitely felt welcomed. The perks that come with being a select guest (free to join) really made our stay exceptional. We had a high floor room, a morning beverage brought to our room every morning, free wi-fi, and shoe shining. The nightly turn down service is a nice touch as well!

We happened to be in Chicago for the Festival of Lights and received a full page letter the night before letting us know what to expect. (What time the parade would be passing by, delays to expect with parking and getting a cab) This was helpful since there were so many people out for the parade!

Some reviewers have commented on the separate elevators from the ground level to reception and then the ones up to the rooms. We did not find this an inconvenience at all.

We really enjoyed our stay here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Omni Hotel right on Michigan Ave in Chicago! We have stayed at other locations on and near Michigan Ave & we felt this was one of the better locations that we have stayed at in Chicago. The location of the hotel can't be beat being right on Michigan Ave. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go to based on the great location of the hotel. Another advantage to the Omni over other Michigan Ave area hotels is that it is a suite hotel, so the rooms were much roomier than other hotels we have stayed at in Chicago. There was a large living room area with tv and wet bar, large & clean bathroom, and then a bedroom area with another tv. Since I was traveling with a friend, it was nice for each of us to have our own area. The staff at the Omni was all very friendly & helpful. We will definitely consider staying at the Omni again when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, mi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family stayed at the omni during thanksgiving. First of all, the big plus of this hotel is obviously the location : in the middle of Michigan avenue, perfect spot for shoppers.
First issue is the size of the beds : not really queen size and difficult for 2 adults. The second issue was more important : they forgot to clean the room ! Inacceptable at this range of price. The third issue was the bill for the bar : the hotel charged us something that we never used.
Maybe bad luck for us but I was disappointing and probably will not come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Chicago Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for coming to stay with us during Thanksgiving, and we're glad you enjoyed the hotel's location. We're sorry for any confusion on bed types. Our rooms with two beds are double beds, not queen beds. These rooms do have a sleeper sofa to accommodate more people if needed. Our housekeeping staff should have cleaned the room each night of your stay. We apologize that it didn't happen, as well as for the billing issue for the bar. These are not common issues for our guests, so we hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future. We would like to show you the service we're capable of delivering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Chicago Hotel

Also Known As:
Omni Chicago
Omni Hotel
Chicago Omni
Address: 676 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Chicago Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Omni Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.