We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Suites!
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
grand rapids, mi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and live about 3 hours for Chicago and like to take long weekends there. We love this hotel and stay there anytime we can for a decent price. Twice we have stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite rooms, which are amazing I highly recommend it if you can afford it (sometimes they have good sales, that is usually when we go). The only downside, is that we like to walk or take El when we go and is a bit of a hike to the magnificent mile from the hotel, but is certainly doable.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    401
    76
    32
    8
See reviews for
310
653
87
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This place and the staff are amazing! We arrived around noon, even though official check-in was 3:00, and the front desk let us know a room was ready for us right then!! Beautiful river view --- great window seat built for 2 -- and the room was spacious and inviting. We spent the afternoon out and about in Chicago, came back to our room around 5 and found a delightful treat in our room and the wine hour going on in the lobby. Even had turn-down service and chocolates on our arrival back from dinner that night. Best service ever!! Would definitely stay there again - and again - and again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Entered the hotel with a friendly and smiling welcome. Received a free spring gift - a plush goldfish. Able to get early check-in about 30 minutes before standard 3p check-in.

The 9th floor room was away from elevator and had foam pillows (both as requested). The room was spotless and the warm color palette was inviting. I absolutely loved the padded window seats and cozied up there both nights of my stay - with the bolster pillow, the beautiful and soft throw, a book, and my camera.

I had wished the room had an in-room coffee maker. Although the hotel provided a free coffee and tea service from 6a-9a, I didn't want to have to get dressed just to get a cup of coffee from the lobby.

The walls and door to the room may as well have been made of cardboard, as hallway voices were as clear as if the door was open. And I awoke at 230a the first night and early the second morning to folks in an adjacent room gettin' busy... loudly. Folks can do whatever they wish in their rooms, I just don't want to hear them clearly. Turning on the tv and radio helped to mask their sounds...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvvisitor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We were able to stay at a promtional rate of $81/night, but would have considered it a good value at 4X that price.

Location is perfect for tourists (a two minute walk to the river and to Michigan Ave, and very near the public transit loop). We never told any of the staff we were actually on a mini-honeymoon, but we were treated as if they did know that... very professional and friendly, with a few personal touches like treats delivered to our room daily.

The room was average size, but extremely clean with very charming decor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable. Big king bed, enough room to stretch out and do some work. the Bathroom was spacious and the showerhead was mounted at about 7 feet so I didn't have to bend down to rinse my head.

The room (5th floor) had no view. Didn't bother me though.

Free NY Times and WSJ every day. Staff very attentive.

I didn't eat there - too many other delicious choices in Chicago!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Wonderful hotel--very centrally located. Great service, cleanliness; nice decor and nice sized rooms.

Would have liked to see free internet service, though. They charged me $5 to use their computer for internet service for 15 minutes.

All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed at the Monaco on a leisure trip with my husband. Hotel was great - true to Monaco form it was very trendily designed. Very nice rooms and excellent window bed overlooking the river, which was a nice perk. Staff were extremely helpful. And great location - close to shopping and other sites downtown.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.