We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The window box rooms are fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #12 of 169 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The window box rooms are fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here after the Navy Pier July 4th fireworks and enjoyed our experience. We had a river view room near the top of the hotel that included 2 window box seating areas. The window boxes are a fun place to sit and view the activity below. Service was attentive and the staff was helpful. Location just one block off Michigan Avenue and along the river is convenient. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Gary W -

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Monaco Chicago! We're glad to hear that your stay here did not disappoint, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    347
    69
    27
    8
See reviews for
270
560
78
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came to celebrate a birthday and 4th of July. Hotel gave my daughter a card signed by the staff and a delicious cupcake. Nice touch! Room was comfortable and quiet. Restaurant had great food and service. Location was great for all we wanted to do, either by walking or taking the local transportation. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to downtown Chicago.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mr_Kramerica -

Thank you for coming to celebrate with us this 4th of July! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you got a chance to have a great meal in South Water Kitchen We look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very rarely do you stay at a place and your room looks like the pictures on the hotel site. I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in and the room was the exact replica of the website.

Clean, friendly staff, great food. Try the PB&J for breakfast!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear tammy0406 -

So glad our online photos are able to perfectly capture the beauty & spirit of our guestrooms and that your stay overall went well. The PB&J is definitely a favorite here, and we're happy you liked it too! Hope to see you soon.

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Positive reviews on just about everything but the final bill and treatment at the front desk with trying to resolve the issue. A room service charge appeared on my statement, which was not mine (I did not order room service, nor was I in the room when it was charged). I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff (possibly even the manager) and was told that "sometimes a room is incorrectly charged for room service but that hardly ever happens." The clerk made it seem like I was in the wrong. I was told that accounting would look at the charge and if it was found to be incorrect they would take care of it. Was not thanked for staying nor did I receive an apology, both of those would have taken the review up to a very good, because all the other staff and services were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear JWag211 -

We are so sorry for the billing error upon check out, especially since you mentioned enjoying your stay overall. We hope that you might give us another chance, and I would be happy to assist with any further reservations, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very nice environment friendly employees who satisfy every need you have. Also South water restaurant offers tastyful plates in very good prices. Hotel is locate in the centre of Chicago next to River walk and some minutes far from Magnificent mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear anbonendo -

We're happy to hear that our location & accommodations were just what you were looking for on your most recent stay. Thanks for stopping in to stay with us, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco in Chicago June 19-22, 2014 for a non traditional double wedding. From the time we started planning, Lisa Danno was responsive and enthusiastic. The food and wine during the event were beyond our expectations.The staff were fun and welcoming. Our stay in the Mediterranean Suite was luxurious. The location was perfect. Out of town guests were amazed at the friendliness, cleanliness and overall feel of the hotel and city. We wouldn't change a thing. Thank you! We will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nancy A -

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. Lisa is pretty great, and we're so glad to hear that she saw through all the details of your stay & everything was even better than expected. It was truly a pleasure to host you and all of your guests. We hope to become your favorite anniversary destination in the years to come!

Cheers,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Been to Chicago many times, but first time at this hotel. Loved it and this will be our go-to place from now on. Great location, great rooms and loved the window seats. Splurge for the Mediterranean suite if you can - corner room and extra space is worth it. Wine reception is a very nice touch. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel. If you like entertainment, catch a show at House of Blues which is very close, or take a tour of the Chicago Theatre, which is a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Mediterrean suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear BillAmax -

Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay at the Monaco. We're so glad you took advantage of our Mediterranean Suite accommodations, and were able to join us for wine hour. We certainly look forward to hosting you the next time you are traveling to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Marco Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.