We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #11 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel - great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited to stay at the hotel after reading reviews. Sadly I was really disappointed with the room and hotel. The decor was modern but uncomfortable. The bathroom was in need of updating. The room service was yucky (ordered a grilled cheese that came on whole grain bread halfway cooked). If you are an avid traveler and have stayed at many modern hotels, this one falls short. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Robin,
Thank you for taking the time and giving us feedback on your most recent stay. I'm so sorry to hear about the grilled cheese sandwich and your disappointments. All of our guestrooms were fully renovated in March of 2011 and all of the public areas where completely done in February of this year. I do hope that you are able to give us another chance!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    354
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
274
580
82
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel Monaco was phenomenal. This was our first stay at the Monaco and a Kimpton Hotel. We were very impressed!! The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and the doorman were probably the nicest I've ever encounted. When we were walking to our room from the elevator even the housekeeper greeted us with a big smile. The rooms were incredibly well done. Leopard print robes, very clean, beautifully decorated. Though our room didn't have a great view, the location of the hotel more then made up for it. You were walking distance to great restaurants and Michigan Avenue. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sound side face a adjacent building. As for a room on the North or West side of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Alicia, Thank you for trying us out and I'm happy to hear that stay was enjoyable! Our location is definitely a major plus as you can walk to almost everything in Chicago! We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Central - near the river and within walking distance of major attractions. Unfortunately my first room was on level 5, looking out on an internal block, with very noisy machinery - air conditioners? - below. Also, the cleaner had not taken all the rubbish away so on request, I was moved to the 12th floor. Quiet, but not lucky enough to get a view. Room was a good size and amenity OK. Service courteous. Overall, a mixed experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Christine, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't like your first room and I'm glad we were able to place you in a higher floor. For your next stay with us, please take a look at the river view room types that we offer at time of booking, which guarantees the view of the river.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked the Monaco through priceline.com and expected the usual third party booking treatment by hotel staff. We went for a birthday and I emailed the concierge prior to the trip to see if they would do anything special for our stay. Ryan Immediately responded with an offer of cupcakes and bottled water in the room. They also signed a birthday card to top it off... a very classy personal touch. We arrived at the hotel very late at night and they had our room ready (with a river view) and were very professional and friendly. A lot of hotels and businesses could learn a few things about customer service from this hotel.

The location is fantastic right on the river and close to everything! Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Huskerinmo, I'm happy to see your positive review and how our concierge Ryan was able to make your stay more special! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this wonderful hotel on business last week. The property was in excellent condition & the room was great. The staff was extremely helpful & made the stay all the more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this property in the heart of downtown Chicago, for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
DavidAtty, Thank you for leaving us a nice review on TA. I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay and our staff made a positive impact! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chicago hotel Monaco ! The room is just as beautiful but even larger than the Monaco we had stayed at several times in San Francisco. The service and friendliness certainly lived up to the Kimpton standard.
The window seats overlooking the river and framing the Trump Tower are very cool if you can snag one!
Excellent value and a very convenient location, would definitely return or refer to the Hotel Monaco!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Bciliberto,
Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a nice review! I'm happy to see that you got to enjoy the window seats overlooking Chicago! Everyone is always surprised by how big they are, especially in our suites.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stay in Kimpton hotels when I can but had not stayed at the Monaco in Chicago before. It had the same vibe and level of service as the others - spacious, comfortable room, cool decor, great front desk personal, very attentive bellman, love that happy hour when I get back to the hotel after a long day of business. My ONLY comment was that the bathroom needed a bit of sprucing up - the grout in the shower needed some bleach! Otherwise, as always, I was very satisfied and am confident this has become my new Chicago base.

Room Tip: I had room 1010 and even though it faced the street, I didn't notice any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Basiluzzo,
Thank you for the review! I'm glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us! I've already asked our housekeeping manager to take a look at the grout in room 1010 and ensure that it is up to our high standards!

Looking forward to your next visit!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.