We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!! Stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #13 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel!! Stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to Chicago to celebrate my daughter's 7th birthday. The staff were great! They had a small gift and card waiting in the room for her and that made her day.
The hotel very clean and well put together.
The room was wonderful! Clean, modern, comfortable.
Easy walk to Michagan ave.
Felt safe at this hotel.
We have found our new Chicago hotel!
My advise - Stay here!

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Jason,
Thanks so much- we really appreciate the great review. The whole team loves to hear we could help a special young lady celebrate her 7th birthday! Thats really great. When you return nextime, make sure to ask for one of our goldfish to be in the room- everyone always loves that.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    395
    74
    30
    8
See reviews for
298
632
87
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is such a great hotel for the location, price, and wonderful service! Walking distance to so many things including Millenium Park and Andy's Jazz Club! We stayed for a wedding, but would stay again for a get-away weekend in the city any time!

Room Tip: Request a lower level facing West
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Jeanne,
Andy's Jazz Club is a fantastic spot! I'm so glad you enjoyed the location- with the river walk, lake front and shopping/eating areas so close it really makes us in an ideal spot. Next time you come back try our complimentary bicycles we rent out to our guests and go enjoy the parks! It's a great experience.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a few of the big hotels in Chicago on the 'mile', but this is the best business hotel I've seen. At the Monaco, you are out of the rat race, atmosphere, brilliant service, quiet and personal. The business centre is great. The hosted drinks in the evening was terrific and I met some lovely people. The South Water Kitchen was my office for breakfast meetings each day. I had the escape of State Street shopping and the river for views. A fabulously comfortable bed which is critical for a working visit, particularly when flying from Australia. I have now changed from big name hotels to smaller boutique hotels when I travel and the difference is vast. When women travel alone safety, a sense of security and the personal touch make it such an enjoyable visit. Recommended to women business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Gallasingery,
I'm so happy to hear that after such long travels from Melbourne, you found brilliant service, fabulous accomodations and great meals. I'm so glad to hear you tried the experience of boutique hotels and loved it, and we look forward to your next visit stateside.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco for two nights and loved it. My room (and I think all rooms) had a window box with a cushion and pillows and overlooked the Chicago river. It was so comfortable and such a great view that I could have slept in there rather than the bed! The rooms were large and had everything I needed.

The staff at the hotel was exceptionally nice and helpful. They made great dinner recommendations and when we were going to the airport at 5pm they recommended taking the train rather than sitting in a taxi in traffic the whole time. They made sure we knew where we were going and the train ended up being great! Exceptional service.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Colleen,
Great to hear you experienced exceptional service and had a smooth trip to and from the airports. Aren't those window seats just amazing? Thank you for sharing!
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, oh
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We came in to celebrate our daughters birthday, she lives downtown.
Great hotel and the deco it has gives it character.
Our first stay here, for 2 nights, we received a room deal email from Sneak Away. Excellent price.
About $160 a nite.

We checked in hour before the free wine hour, that was a treat that we enjoyed in the comfortable lobby. Great touch.
The morning offers complimentary coffee and tea in lobby.
The staff is top notch.

We had Sunday brunch and saw a play Big Fish and all were walking distance.
Our corner room was large and had all the amenities you would expect.
Only negative, adjacent parking is $48 a nite, but at least you have in and out privileges.
Hotel Monaco was a nice find. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Toltom-
Happy Birthday to your daughter! I'm so glad you got a great rate for a weekend visit with us. May I suggest joining Kimpton InTouch so you can start earning free nights stays and free wifi? You also get two items out of the mini bar at each visit- try the Dagoba dark chocolate bars!
I am glad you enjoyed Big Fish and the location, and we can't wait to host you again for the next special weekend you have in Chicago!
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Agree with all the reviews that say this hotel is beautiful, but the customer service is stellar. I was in Chicago for a conference (at another hotel) and had a very nice experience at the Hotel Monaco. But when the Heavens opened up and Chicago began to flood, my flight was delayed over and over and finally canceled, along with 400 others. I was fortunate enough to get a room again at the Hotel Monaco, but my luggage did not accompany me, as it was stuck at the airport. When I asked for a tooth brush, toothpaste, razor and comb because I didn't have my toiletries, the front desk took the time to go the extra mile and upgrade me to a suite just because they knew it had been a long day. (And I promise I was not even complaining about the day! Weather is unpredictable.) I tweeted and FB about the experience and got a personal note back each time. When I got the automatic survey about "how was your stay?" I got a personal email back as well, thanking me for the high marks and welcoming me back any time.

I've always enjoyed Kimpton hotels, from the handwritten notes from the cleaning staff to the free wine hour each day. They are often in architecturally beautiful buildings and always have wonderful restaurants associated with them.

I will definitely return to the Hotel Monaco and will recommend it to anyone who is in Chicago. Good weather or bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window seats - they are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Ms. Destefano-
You sound like a true Kimpton fan! The weather that weekend was terrible, but I'm glad we were able to provide not only some good accomodations, but we were able to connect with you and help you make the best of your flight cancellation. It's great to hear you felt well taken care of and that you'll be back.
Many thanks,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have walked past this hotel several times. I finally had the chance to stay there just a few weeks ago. I LOVED IT! The hotel is very nicely decorated but the best part is it's location. If you get a room facing the river your view will be wonderful. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The train station was within two blocks. Macy's was withing 3 blocks. Our favorite pizza place was only two blocks away. But the best thing of all is that they are pet friendly AND they don't charge extra. I had never stayed at a Kimpton hotel before but mark my word......from now on I will check them out first when I travel to NYC and Phoenix.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view overlooking the river. Each room has a window seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Lolo1865,
I'm so glad you had such a positive experience at the Monaco that you're now looking to book in Phoenix and NYC. Pets are special to Kimpton- we love taking good care of both types of guests- people and pets too.
I'm so glad you visited with us and that the experience was memorable.
Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.