We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Theater District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in the Theater District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Another great Kimpton property. Our room was beautifully decorated and in perfect repair. It was a nice sized king with a wonderful window seat that was the size of a twin bed. It was fun to perch there for a while and watch the city. The complimentary wine hour in the lobby was great and included live music. Parking in the hotel lot is a steep $48 for 24 hours, you can do better by finding a different lot online. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good and the service was pleasant. The location is great, within walking distance of Michigan Ave. shopping, Millenium Park and the Theater district. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We look forward to having you back. Thank you for sharing your review. Parking in downtown Chicago is not inexpensive, but luckily our valet team offers the least expensive hotel parking in the area, and it includes unlimited in and out service.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    373
    73
    28
    8
See reviews for
285
604
84
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotel Monaco has a great staff, very welcoming! From the doorman to the front desk, everyone was so helpful, friendly and kind. The rooms are a decent size, beds comfortable. The sheets and towels could be a little softer, but in general, this is a nice hotel. Great location near Macy's, and walking distance to Michigan Avenue. The wine hour on Saturday night included live music, a nice touch. Make sure to join the free loyalty program for free wifi and 'raid the mini bar' coupons! :) We stayed on the top floor and you can still hear street noise like cabs and the El, so light sleepers should request a higher floor. Great choice for a downtown Chicago hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I'm so glad to hear that you felt that genuine welcome and care Kimpton and the Monaco Chicago is known for. We are so lucky to have such a fantastic location, happy and cheerful staff, and great local musicians that come to entertain from our lobby during the famed Wine Hour. Thank you for the great recommendation.
Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Monaco and it is now our go to place when we visit Chicago. I have stayed at several hotels in Chicago and have been in many others when friends would come to visit while I lived here. Hotel Monaco is by far the best. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is top notch. It has a great location being only a block from the Orange Line, Chicago Theater and Michigan Avenue. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you Amy for the great five star review! We appreciate the loyalty! Amy is right- from the Monaco you are only steps to the theaters, restaurants and transportation lines.
Happy Holidays,
~Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location. Great adjacent restaurant Fab people watching. Rates are very reasonable and include drink coupons. Super friendly and accommodating staff. Very convenient to shopping and all the great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The location of our Monaco is really great for those looking to really get a vibe of what Chicago is all about. You can walk to everything from the Art Institute of Chicago to the famed Magnificent Mile for some great shopping.
Thanks for sharing your rave review.
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It doesn't matter if you arrive in a limo, an SUV, a taxi, or on foot from the train, the doorman greets you as if you were royalty, and the attention and service continues till you sadly depart.
We have stayed at the Hotel Monaco numerous times; it is our first choice for hotels in Chicago. The environment is inviting, and stylish with the well honed "Kimpton touch", newspapers and coffee in the AM, wine (special selections) in the evening. The hotel is centrally located with just a short walk in either direction taking you to Michigan Avenue or Millenium Park, respectively. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds, wonderful decor, and upscale amenities including their famous animal print robes; well stocked minibar, and jazz CD; complimentary yoga mats for the asking and more. The restaurant connected to the hotel, Southwater kitchen, has a great bar menu and full dining menu, if you can bear to leave the room; if not, there is room service. The one issue is parking; it is $40 per day for valet; but this appears to be standard for hotels in this area of town.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It is our pleasure to treat you as a vip everytime you walk through the doors and I'm so glad we have shown you true care and a genuine welcome each time you've stayed with us. Thank you for your continued loyalty, and your awesome five star review.
Parking is always unfortunately high in downtown/Loop hotels. Please do rest assured ours is actually the least expensive hotel parking in the Loop/Downtown area. $48 may seem high, but it's nice having that in and out as much as you like privilege and it's certainly much cheaper than the $58 a night average for our area.
Again, thank you so much for the kind review.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel to Chicago every year for a meeting and we always stay at Monaco. I think there would be a protest if we were made to stay anywhere else. The staff go out of thier way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are wonderful and I love the large bay windows to sit in. This is where I nap or read between meetings. Furthermore, Monaco is perfectly located near everything!!! When I finally visit Chicago with my family for a vacation, I will stay at Monaco ONLY!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Yes! An awesome five star review from a guest who would protest if they had to stay elsewhere! Wow! Kelli B thank you so much for sharing how our genuine, welcoming care and comfort has won you over! We are very thankful for your loyalty.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were travelling with two 15 year old boys, so we reserved a spacious Mediterranean Suite with a door between the rooms and 2 TV sets. The boys don't like "sharing a bed," so they took turns sleeping on the sofa bed or in the wide window box. The box had a comfortable cushion and the staff made it up like a royal bed with lush pillows and blankets. They could not sleep for sitting in the box watching the river! We always get a gold fish to keep us company-the boys named him Pablo. The concierge, Rich, was right on referring us to Hot Tix for day of show theater tickets and great restaurants that appealed to teenagers. The 5 o'clock wine tasting was fun, complete with hot cider for the boys. Everyone was so fantastic and sincere in their desire to help us. We were only two blocks from the State Street Macy's, so we were able to hit the Black Friday sales with no problem (and no crowds at 9 am).

Room Tip: corner rooms give more window boxes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Pablo is very happy to keep you and the boys company. What a great tradition! Those Mediterranean Suites sure are amazing, aren't they? I'm so glad you and the kids have had a great time staying with us and we look forward to sharing more special occasions with you all.
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.