We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great kimpton hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chicago Summer Package
Ranked #11 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another great kimpton hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location. Great adjacent restaurant Fab people watching. Rates are very reasonable and include drink coupons. Super friendly and accommodating staff. Very convenient to shopping and all the great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
The location of our Monaco is really great for those looking to really get a vibe of what Chicago is all about. You can walk to everything from the Art Institute of Chicago to the famed Magnificent Mile for some great shopping.
Thanks for sharing your rave review.
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,070
    337
    67
    27
    7
See reviews for
262
552
77
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It doesn't matter if you arrive in a limo, an SUV, a taxi, or on foot from the train, the doorman greets you as if you were royalty, and the attention and service continues till you sadly depart.
We have stayed at the Hotel Monaco numerous times; it is our first choice for hotels in Chicago. The environment is inviting, and stylish with the well honed "Kimpton touch", newspapers and coffee in the AM, wine (special selections) in the evening. The hotel is centrally located with just a short walk in either direction taking you to Michigan Avenue or Millenium Park, respectively. The rooms are spacious, with comfortable beds, wonderful decor, and upscale amenities including their famous animal print robes; well stocked minibar, and jazz CD; complimentary yoga mats for the asking and more. The restaurant connected to the hotel, Southwater kitchen, has a great bar menu and full dining menu, if you can bear to leave the room; if not, there is room service. The one issue is parking; it is $40 per day for valet; but this appears to be standard for hotels in this area of town.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
It is our pleasure to treat you as a vip everytime you walk through the doors and I'm so glad we have shown you true care and a genuine welcome each time you've stayed with us. Thank you for your continued loyalty, and your awesome five star review.
Parking is always unfortunately high in downtown/Loop hotels. Please do rest assured ours is actually the least expensive hotel parking in the Loop/Downtown area. $48 may seem high, but it's nice having that in and out as much as you like privilege and it's certainly much cheaper than the $58 a night average for our area.
Again, thank you so much for the kind review.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel to Chicago every year for a meeting and we always stay at Monaco. I think there would be a protest if we were made to stay anywhere else. The staff go out of thier way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are wonderful and I love the large bay windows to sit in. This is where I nap or read between meetings. Furthermore, Monaco is perfectly located near everything!!! When I finally visit Chicago with my family for a vacation, I will stay at Monaco ONLY!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Yes! An awesome five star review from a guest who would protest if they had to stay elsewhere! Wow! Kelli B thank you so much for sharing how our genuine, welcoming care and comfort has won you over! We are very thankful for your loyalty.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were travelling with two 15 year old boys, so we reserved a spacious Mediterranean Suite with a door between the rooms and 2 TV sets. The boys don't like "sharing a bed," so they took turns sleeping on the sofa bed or in the wide window box. The box had a comfortable cushion and the staff made it up like a royal bed with lush pillows and blankets. They could not sleep for sitting in the box watching the river! We always get a gold fish to keep us company-the boys named him Pablo. The concierge, Rich, was right on referring us to Hot Tix for day of show theater tickets and great restaurants that appealed to teenagers. The 5 o'clock wine tasting was fun, complete with hot cider for the boys. Everyone was so fantastic and sincere in their desire to help us. We were only two blocks from the State Street Macy's, so we were able to hit the Black Friday sales with no problem (and no crowds at 9 am).

Room Tip: corner rooms give more window boxes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Pablo is very happy to keep you and the boys company. What a great tradition! Those Mediterranean Suites sure are amazing, aren't they? I'm so glad you and the kids have had a great time staying with us and we look forward to sharing more special occasions with you all.
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff at the Hotel Monaco was super friendly and accommodating, making us and our dog, Bear feel like we were at home. When in Chicago again, we will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco! We especially liked the window seats in the room - great view of Chicago!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so pleased to have earned the loyalty of you both and Bear too. Please do join Kimpton InTouch and you'll get free wifi, personal preferences for each stay, and earn credits towards future free stays. It's a great way to ensure you get what you like, and it allows us to get to know you and Bear better!
Cheers,
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My new husband and I celebrated our wedding last week at the Hotel Monaco. And it was perfect. The food, the staff, the guest rooms, the event space...everything was incredible. A BIG thank you to all the staff who made our wedding day amazing: Luis, Tony (you rock!) and all the wait staff who just couldn't seem to do enough for us. Wherever we were in the hotel, there was someone waiting quietly in the wings to get us whatever we wanted or needed. We can not say enough about this property. Oh, and our Mediterranean Suite? My, my, my. It was just gorgeous and HUGE! The views of the river and the downtown lights were dazzling.

Getting married in downtown Chicago? Consider the Hotel Monaco. You will want for nothing and will go home feeling completely pampered and spoiled. Even if you're just visiting the hotel, do yourself a favor and give this hotel a try. This was our second stay, but will most certainly not be our last.

Thank you again Monaco. We'll see you again soon!

Warmest wishes for your continued success.

Don and Shelley

Room Tip: Mediterranean River Suite 611 was AMAZING. The window seats, the space, the decor and those views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Congratulations on behalf of all of us with the Monaco Chicago and South Water Kitchen! We're so happy to hear everything went so perfect and we really appreciate the great recommendation. It sounds like Tony and Luis and all were able to help put together a lovely experience for you and your guests. Congrats again, and happy holidays.
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado (San Diego)
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After attending the Notre Dame/Wake Forest game, our family from San Diego spent three nights here in the river view king and queen rooms and had a WONDERFUL time! (Why come all this way and not experience Chicago!)

Not only is this a beautiful hotel, but the staff are friendly and helpful....they can make a visit. Amy from the front desk staff emailed us suggestions for restaurants and made sure our rooms were on the same floor...this got us off to a great start. Rich, the concierge (even if he isn't a big fan of the Irish haha), "T" the doorman /bellman (loves the irish...we're good there!), and the lovely gentleman who checked us in and was there each evening were all awesome. Even the housekeeping staff who left us a note (Zuri...that's you!) added so much to the experience. We also enjoyed meeting other Kimpton staff when we went in the evenings for complimentary wine and treats.

The hotel itself is immaculate from common spaces to the rooms and we loved the decor. (I'm not sure how they do it but we must say that those are some of the comfiest beds we have enjoyed in a while.) This has that intimate boutique feel but you still have your privacy. And the river view rooms with the window seats? Wow....you could sleep in those....and one of ours did! A cozy place to read the paper and gaze out at one terrific city.

We also had one dinner and a breakfast at their restaurant South Water Kitchen and found the food delicious and the service efficient but not particularly friendly. Very cool place and just what we needed after a long day of walking...

The bottom line is I do believe we are hooked on Kimpton. The 2nd of our six kiddos is a junior at ND and parent's weekend is coming up in February...guess where mom and dada will be spending a couple of extra days!

A few of suggestions for those visiting to make your stay perfect:

-Sign up as Kimpton In Touch members. It's free and comes with perks...plus you'll likely become loyal fans and want to stay at their other properties.
-Pay a little extra for the river view rooms. So worth it. We had heard that higher rooms were quieter and were on the 11th floor. Perfect.
-If you book ahead, check back every so often to see if the prices have dropped. In our case they did, and since we had booked through the hotel, they happily extended us the better rate.
-Request "Guppy Love" if you don't have a pet with you...the kiddos loved their visiting goldfish:)
-Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Higher floor....and go for the river view rooms with the window seats. Worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Our team here at the Monaco is very happy to hear all of your wonderful comments! Thank you for such a rave five star review! You really took advantage of so much of the hotel, from the goldfish to the free wifi that comes with the Kimpton InTouch membership! I'm so glad that the Monaco and South Water Kitchen has earned your Kimpton loyalty!
Cheers,
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.