We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Window Boxes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Suites!
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Window Boxes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were travelling with two 15 year old boys, so we reserved a spacious Mediterranean Suite with a door between the rooms and 2 TV sets. The boys don't like "sharing a bed," so they took turns sleeping on the sofa bed or in the wide window box. The box had a comfortable cushion and the staff made it up like a royal bed with lush pillows and blankets. They could not sleep for sitting in the box watching the river! We always get a gold fish to keep us company-the boys named him Pablo. The concierge, Rich, was right on referring us to Hot Tix for day of show theater tickets and great restaurants that appealed to teenagers. The 5 o'clock wine tasting was fun, complete with hot cider for the boys. Everyone was so fantastic and sincere in their desire to help us. We were only two blocks from the State Street Macy's, so we were able to hit the Black Friday sales with no problem (and no crowds at 9 am).

Room Tip: corner rooms give more window boxes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Pablo is very happy to keep you and the boys company. What a great tradition! Those Mediterranean Suites sure are amazing, aren't they? I'm so glad you and the kids have had a great time staying with us and we look forward to sharing more special occasions with you all.
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    401
    76
    32
    8
See reviews for
310
654
87
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff at the Hotel Monaco was super friendly and accommodating, making us and our dog, Bear feel like we were at home. When in Chicago again, we will definitely stay at Hotel Monaco! We especially liked the window seats in the room - great view of Chicago!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We are so pleased to have earned the loyalty of you both and Bear too. Please do join Kimpton InTouch and you'll get free wifi, personal preferences for each stay, and earn credits towards future free stays. It's a great way to ensure you get what you like, and it allows us to get to know you and Bear better!
Cheers,
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My new husband and I celebrated our wedding last week at the Hotel Monaco. And it was perfect. The food, the staff, the guest rooms, the event space...everything was incredible. A BIG thank you to all the staff who made our wedding day amazing: Luis, Tony (you rock!) and all the wait staff who just couldn't seem to do enough for us. Wherever we were in the hotel, there was someone waiting quietly in the wings to get us whatever we wanted or needed. We can not say enough about this property. Oh, and our Mediterranean Suite? My, my, my. It was just gorgeous and HUGE! The views of the river and the downtown lights were dazzling.

Getting married in downtown Chicago? Consider the Hotel Monaco. You will want for nothing and will go home feeling completely pampered and spoiled. Even if you're just visiting the hotel, do yourself a favor and give this hotel a try. This was our second stay, but will most certainly not be our last.

Thank you again Monaco. We'll see you again soon!

Warmest wishes for your continued success.

Don and Shelley

Room Tip: Mediterranean River Suite 611 was AMAZING. The window seats, the space, the decor and those views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Congratulations on behalf of all of us with the Monaco Chicago and South Water Kitchen! We're so happy to hear everything went so perfect and we really appreciate the great recommendation. It sounds like Tony and Luis and all were able to help put together a lovely experience for you and your guests. Congrats again, and happy holidays.
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado (San Diego)
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After attending the Notre Dame/Wake Forest game, our family from San Diego spent three nights here in the river view king and queen rooms and had a WONDERFUL time! (Why come all this way and not experience Chicago!)

Not only is this a beautiful hotel, but the staff are friendly and helpful....they can make a visit. Amy from the front desk staff emailed us suggestions for restaurants and made sure our rooms were on the same floor...this got us off to a great start. Rich, the concierge (even if he isn't a big fan of the Irish haha), "T" the doorman /bellman (loves the irish...we're good there!), and the lovely gentleman who checked us in and was there each evening were all awesome. Even the housekeeping staff who left us a note (Zuri...that's you!) added so much to the experience. We also enjoyed meeting other Kimpton staff when we went in the evenings for complimentary wine and treats.

The hotel itself is immaculate from common spaces to the rooms and we loved the decor. (I'm not sure how they do it but we must say that those are some of the comfiest beds we have enjoyed in a while.) This has that intimate boutique feel but you still have your privacy. And the river view rooms with the window seats? Wow....you could sleep in those....and one of ours did! A cozy place to read the paper and gaze out at one terrific city.

We also had one dinner and a breakfast at their restaurant South Water Kitchen and found the food delicious and the service efficient but not particularly friendly. Very cool place and just what we needed after a long day of walking...

The bottom line is I do believe we are hooked on Kimpton. The 2nd of our six kiddos is a junior at ND and parent's weekend is coming up in February...guess where mom and dada will be spending a couple of extra days!

A few of suggestions for those visiting to make your stay perfect:

-Sign up as Kimpton In Touch members. It's free and comes with perks...plus you'll likely become loyal fans and want to stay at their other properties.
-Pay a little extra for the river view rooms. So worth it. We had heard that higher rooms were quieter and were on the 11th floor. Perfect.
-If you book ahead, check back every so often to see if the prices have dropped. In our case they did, and since we had booked through the hotel, they happily extended us the better rate.
-Request "Guppy Love" if you don't have a pet with you...the kiddos loved their visiting goldfish:)
-Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Higher floor....and go for the river view rooms with the window seats. Worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Our team here at the Monaco is very happy to hear all of your wonderful comments! Thank you for such a rave five star review! You really took advantage of so much of the hotel, from the goldfish to the free wifi that comes with the Kimpton InTouch membership! I'm so glad that the Monaco and South Water Kitchen has earned your Kimpton loyalty!
Cheers,
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving week. We’ve stayed at other Hotel Monaco’s and enjoyed those previous visits. As in the past, this Hotel Monaco also excelled. Service from arrival to departure was solid on all fronts. I love the nightly wine hour with snacks. The bartender also came out and demonstrated a new unnamed drink they wanted to try on the lobby crowd.

Location of this Hotel Monaco is superb. Easy walk to the Art Institute. About a liesurely 15 minute walk to the Magnificent Mile and LookingGlass theatre. Rooms were clean, roomy, and well equipped. The windows are setup such that you can sit on the window sill with a pillow. Wifi was fast but wasn’t free, although free for InTouch members. We had breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant a couple of times. Service commendable, portions plenty, and menu selections diverse.

Our minor gripes: the front bellman repeatedly gave the incorrect destination to every cabdriver. The bellman would ask where we were headed, then say a destination totally unrelated to what was said, and we’d have to correct the confused cab driver. Our other gripe was that the hotel restaurant wasn’t open on Thanksgiving for either breakfast or lunch. The hotel sent out a memo that laundry services wouldn’t be available on Thanksgiving; but no notification about the restaurant. We’d have thought the restaurant closure would be more noteworthy.

If on the Orange Line train from Midway Intl [the train is easiest to reach the hotel from Midway], I suggest you get off the Randolph/Wabash station instead of State/Lake recommended by the hotel’s website. The Randolph/Wabash station is 2 blocks from the hotel, and you’re already on Wabash and thus no guesses required on which direction is East or North. Whereas, we used the State/Lake as recommended by the hotel website, then walked in the wrong direction for a block because we couldn’t see Wabash from the station exit [had to consult our iPhone to guide us correctly]. The Randolph/Wabash station isn’t any farther from the hotel than State/Lake.

This hotel is dog friendly. One evening at the wine hour, seemed all 5 dogs in the hotel were in the lobby [we were told there were a total of 5 dogs in the hotel that night]. It didn’t bother us, but could bother others.

Room Tip: Pick river view for a nicer view, but it will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience here over the holiday. I'm so glad you enjoyed the location and easy access to places like the Art Institute of Chicago. Aren't those River View Room window seats so awesome? They are a great upgrade to consider when you stay and certainly they are unique to this hotel. I'm unsure how you were missed on our Thanksgiving restaurant closure notice as we sent it to all of our guests, either way- I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience. I hope on another day of your stay you got to check out South Water Kitchen and Chef Roger Waysok's creations.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed overnight the night before Thanksgiving and got a GREAT deal; 20% off! This was off of their website too, we did not book through a discount website. We don't normally stay in boutique-type hotels but were looking for a pet-friendly place downtown. Stayed in a river-view king on the 4th floor and the room was spectacular! Very clean and very spacious! LOVED the window nook (although our dogs were too short to get up there alone, lol). We took the dogs down to the river's edge, which was right across Wacker Dr., to do their "business," which was very convenient. There were multiple other dogs we saw on the property as well (most of them on our floor) which made us feel more comfortable leaving them unattended for a few hours (knowing that a few barks here and there wouldn't disturb our neighbors). We also loved that they had a 24-hour room-service with a great late-night menu. Wet bar had some good choices, although most of the snacks were a little "trendy" for our taste. We also parked in the Self-Park around the corner, which was $42 for overnight, as opposed to the $48 valet (+ tip) that the hotel offered. The only reason I didn't given it a 5-star rating is because I couldn't pick out anything that was "over the top." I had read on their website that pets received a welcome treat, a dog bed, etc. upon arrival; something that we didn't get (I thought we maybe had to ask for it, but it did not indicate this anywhere on the website, which gave me the impression that this would all be in the room upon check-in). We also "registered" them with the reservation beforehand, which gave me the impression that the staff knew the dogs would be coming with us. Definitely not a deal-breaker, so we didn't bother asking; we brought everything that they needed except the beds anyway. Location is unbeatable; very close to the El, shopping on State Street, Chriskindlemarkedt, restaurants, the Chicago River, etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those with pets (no pet fee!). Our dogs are part of our family, and we were looking for a place that was more "pet-friendly" instead of "pet-tolerant," and the Monaco fit the bill!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the Chicago RIver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
To our friends in Milwaukee,
Thank you for sharing you and your dogs great experience with us in the lovely suites we have. I'm glad you loved the location- being so close to the seasonal festivities like Chriskindlemarkedt has been really fun for guests and us employees alike. We definitely enjoy having pets, and I'm glad you appreciated that we keep the pets on particular floors. I'm sorry you didn't recieve the pet amenities- we had a glitch in our web registration form but it's fixed now.
Thanks again for the rave review,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I always love staying at Hotel Monaco when I'm in Chicago- business or pleasure. Perfect location- I always take the orange line in from Midway, close to the river, theater district, plenty of bars and restaraunts, and shopping. The staff at the Monaco are exceptional! I always feel welcome and taken care of. Be sure to see Rich at the concierge desk- he has great recommendations for dinner.
The beds here are also very comfortable. And you might just run into a four legged friend in the lobby- hotel is pet friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Your loyalty is much appreciated! Always feeling welcome and taken care of is just the kind of thing we like to do for our guests! Rich will be very happy to hear you recommend his services. Thank you again, and happy holidays.
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Green Hotel in Chicago
#12 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.