We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet-Friendly Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #12 of 169 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Pet-Friendly Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed overnight the night before Thanksgiving and got a GREAT deal; 20% off! This was off of their website too, we did not book through a discount website. We don't normally stay in boutique-type hotels but were looking for a pet-friendly place downtown. Stayed in a river-view king on the 4th floor and the room was spectacular! Very clean and very spacious! LOVED the window nook (although our dogs were too short to get up there alone, lol). We took the dogs down to the river's edge, which was right across Wacker Dr., to do their "business," which was very convenient. There were multiple other dogs we saw on the property as well (most of them on our floor) which made us feel more comfortable leaving them unattended for a few hours (knowing that a few barks here and there wouldn't disturb our neighbors). We also loved that they had a 24-hour room-service with a great late-night menu. Wet bar had some good choices, although most of the snacks were a little "trendy" for our taste. We also parked in the Self-Park around the corner, which was $42 for overnight, as opposed to the $48 valet (+ tip) that the hotel offered. The only reason I didn't given it a 5-star rating is because I couldn't pick out anything that was "over the top." I had read on their website that pets received a welcome treat, a dog bed, etc. upon arrival; something that we didn't get (I thought we maybe had to ask for it, but it did not indicate this anywhere on the website, which gave me the impression that this would all be in the room upon check-in). We also "registered" them with the reservation beforehand, which gave me the impression that the staff knew the dogs would be coming with us. Definitely not a deal-breaker, so we didn't bother asking; we brought everything that they needed except the beds anyway. Location is unbeatable; very close to the El, shopping on State Street, Chriskindlemarkedt, restaurants, the Chicago River, etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those with pets (no pet fee!). Our dogs are part of our family, and we were looking for a place that was more "pet-friendly" instead of "pet-tolerant," and the Monaco fit the bill!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the Chicago RIver!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
To our friends in Milwaukee,
Thank you for sharing you and your dogs great experience with us in the lovely suites we have. I'm glad you loved the location- being so close to the seasonal festivities like Chriskindlemarkedt has been really fun for guests and us employees alike. We definitely enjoy having pets, and I'm glad you appreciated that we keep the pets on particular floors. I'm sorry you didn't recieve the pet amenities- we had a glitch in our web registration form but it's fixed now.
Thanks again for the rave review,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    347
    69
    27
    8
See reviews for
270
560
78
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I always love staying at Hotel Monaco when I'm in Chicago- business or pleasure. Perfect location- I always take the orange line in from Midway, close to the river, theater district, plenty of bars and restaraunts, and shopping. The staff at the Monaco are exceptional! I always feel welcome and taken care of. Be sure to see Rich at the concierge desk- he has great recommendations for dinner.
The beds here are also very comfortable. And you might just run into a four legged friend in the lobby- hotel is pet friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Your loyalty is much appreciated! Always feeling welcome and taken care of is just the kind of thing we like to do for our guests! Rich will be very happy to hear you recommend his services. Thank you again, and happy holidays.
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I took our grandson to the Festival of Lights on Michigan Avenue. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had a large, clean double queen room. The hotel is an easy walk from the "el." Very nicely located for the Loop and walking down Michigan Avenue.
The adjacent restaurant is pricely with an upscale menu. We joined the Kimpton program online before arrival. This gave us free WiFi and a $10 coupon for the minibar. If you are lonely, the hotel will loan you a pet goldfish. Pretty cute idea. We used to stay at the Silversmith on Wabash, but after this stay we may switch to the Monaco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Sounds like a great way to spend time with your grandson! The rooms with two queen beds are very big- it's nice to hear you were more than comfortable. We're thrilled to have gained your loyalty, thank you, and Happy Holidays!
~Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here Saturday night for the Michicagn Ave. Festival of Lights. We live in the suburbs and come into the city 4-5 times a year. This hotel was reasonbly priced and a good value for the money. It is very stylish, modern and clean. We needed 2 extra blankets and they came right away. The kids loved the window seats and mini-bar (prices aren't too bad). The staff is really nice. Elevators are fast even on Sunday and checkout time. We stayed on the 9th floor and the street noise was not too bad. Overall we thought it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Families really enjoy those upgrade rooms with the window seats. Kids get a huge kick out of it, and parents enjoy the serenity and relaxing up in them. Thanks for sharing- I'm so glad you had a great room and an excellent stay.
Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed there on the first night of a business trip. Superb hotel with very friendly staff(Concierge was very helpful). Only a block away from Michigan avenue, and all the attractions are close.Minibar was very well stocked but I thought prices were a bit high, hence the 4 star review. Bar across the road is great and seafood restaurant McCormicks around the corner. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Join Kimpton club before you stay and ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We definitely look forward to having you back too! Join Kimpton InTouch- free wifi, earn nights towards a free stay, and you get to raid the mini bar on us!
So glad you found the location so convenient. It really is, even for us that work here! Thanks again for sharing and we look forward to seeing you again!
~Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, and room service is excellent! The best part of it is their "late night" menu... Their grilled cheese is the perfect meal after a fun night out with your friends. Hotel Monaco definitely exceeded all my expectation! If you're planning on visiting Chicago, Hotel Monaco is the place to stay at!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Grilled Cheese is so satisfying after a night out- we're glad you enjoyed it! I'm glad you and your friends had a fun experience with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for a great five star review.
Cheers,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed in queen/queen room 1402 for a business trip. Found the room to be very spacious for a downtown room and was pleased that it had a desk with two desk chairs to facilitate two people working together at the desk. While the view was of the building next door the large windows provided plenty of natural light.
The service in the hotel was all around great during our stay. We were regularly assisted by Foster who was always kind and helpful. The housekeeping service was top notch in always tending to the details. From leaving a note to ask if they could do anything additional to stocking the room with a few bottled waters from the gym after seeing I had been working out.
The only place I would suggest improvement would be the service in the restaurant. While it was often very good there were a few experiences we had where the servers seemed rushed or inattentive. This was especially true during breakfast one morning.

Room Tip: Reserve a river view room instead of a standard one to avoid looking directly at another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
On behalf of Housekeeping and Ryan Foster, we are very thankful for the kind comments. We are hear to give that genuine kindness and hospitality Kimpton is known for. Thank you for sharing. I'm glad to hear 1402 was a great business room. I'll definitely share with our restaurant about the inattention you recieved from breakfast service, I'm sorry about that! I can assure you, next time it will be more of a pleasant experience.
Thanks for sharing your review,
Ryan Parker, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Green Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.