We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersSilver level
essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September , and was totally impressed with this hotel. Arrived from the UK, for our first visit to Chicago. We were met by such friendly staff, helpful and informative.
We enjoyed the wine hour every evening, and the coffee in the morning is a real bonus.
Ryan the concierge set up most of our tours etc, he was so helpful. He also pointed us in the direction of 'Wild Berry' for breakfast, which was a great place.
The hotel is in a great location, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The window seat is lovely too.
But what really sets this hotel above any other is the staff........to get the kind of personal service you get here is just amazing.
All the staff are great, and an absolute credit to the hotel......managers take note!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMRyan, Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Wendi- Why thank you for such kind compliments! We really appreciate it! We enjoy the true spirit of hospitality like helping people find activities to enrich their time here in Chicago. Chef Concierge Ryan has all the best tips for great trips to take from here. I'm glad you mentioned Wildberry- it's fantastic, isn't it?
Thanks for sharing your very happy experience.
~Ryan Parker, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    373
    73
    28
    8
See reviews for
285
604
85
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, GA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Since this hotel was pre-scheduled by the conference planners, I did not expect very much. However, when I arrived I was very pleasantly surprised! The location was wonderful (right off Michigan Avenue), the wine hour super, and the rooms were very well appointed. The room was very tastefully decorated and the housekeeping service was "invisible" but very efficient. It was no nice to come back to my room and be welcomed by an adorable "bunny" made out of towels and face cloths - my first!

The conference and meeting rooms were great - nice temperature, great accommodations, and the service was really nice - friendly and quiet. The meals served during the meetings were so good I needed extra time in the fitness center! Dinner in the restaurant was great - the scallops were perfect and DO NOT miss the macaroni and cheese!!

I used the fitness center every morning and it was terrific! There were towels, great machines, and plenty of room for the number of folks who were using the center.

So, while I expected a typical conference hotel, I was greatly surprised to spend a wonderful three days at this hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time in leaving us such a nice review! I'm so glad you got to enjoy several of our amenities throughout your conference. Our fitness center got completely redone and doubled in size just within the past year. It's been very popular.

We look forward to hosting you and your conference again!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just spent 5 nights at The Monaco in a River view Room and rate it as one of the best hotel's we've stayed at (and we've been around). The room itself was a good size and as previous reviews have mentioned, the window seat was fantastic and big enough for my wife and i together. We had a prime view of the river and intersection of Wacker / Wabash. The bed was honestly one of the comfiest we've slept on and the drapes when closed kept the room near pitch black which was great after a late night out!! We were on the 14th floor & heard no street noise. The staff were ALL excellent, from the front office to the doormen & cleaners. My wife was sick with a cold and after we asked the housemaid if she could wait an hour or so to clean the room, we returned to our room later in the day to find a tray with a selection of tea, honey, a kettle and a note from Maria (housekeeper) explaining she'd heard my wife coughing and hopes she's better soon. Awesomeness!! Each day we'd come back to find little treats in our room from Maria - Monaco, don't lose this one! We took advantage of the free bike rental and rode the lakefront path which was great. Rich the concierge booked us on a great architectural river cruise and the wine reception each night was welcomed after pounding the pavements of Chicago all day. We had breakfast at South Water Kitchen and it was great too. Amazing coffee just down the road 2 blocks on Randolf called Intellegensia (they have free coffee/tea in the foyer each morning too, i'm just super fussy with my coffee!) and convenient to all other locations (mag mile, millennium Park, great restaurants etc etc). We would stay here again in a heartbeat if ever back in the windy city (which wasn't that windy at all for our stay). Well done Hotel Monaco - we look forward to returning one day...

Room Tip: The riverview suites are worth the extra $$....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Nathan, Thank you for the really nice review! I'm so happy to hear that you and your wife had a great time in Chicago and our staff took extra care of you. We are very lucky to have such an amazing and friendly staff who genuinely cares about the building and our guests.

The architectural river cruise is one of the best and most popular tours of Chicago. It's definitely amazing to go down the river looking up at all of the high rise buildings, from new to very old ones.

Thank you again for the review and staying with us.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for our stay for the Ryder Cup and what a great choice. Location is paramount walking distance to just everything, Navy Pier, M Mile for shopping and the great Macy's is literally 2 minutes walk. We emailed the hotel before we left to request our two rooms to be on a high floor near each other and on check in our request was granted. Great big rooms with great drapes and comfortable beds - lots of space for a city hotel. We did not have a window seat in room 1104 but we were more than happy with the room but not the view! The rooms had no coffee making facilities but made up for it by having tea and coffee served in the hotel lobby each morning which was very welcome. Housekeeping fabulous. Our rate included a continental breakfast which was OK. Paul is a great server by the way in SWK.

We did eat dinner in SWK which was a bit pricey but very nice food - a glass
of wine steep at $8 for a small one. One blip was that we were charged for a coke for our son and the waitress (Stephanie) admitted the coke needed replacing in the horrible taps (not bottles) and still charged us - although not a great deal but shouldnt have been on the check in the first place as it was disgusting.

We recommend The Emerald Loop literally across the road - great food and drinks cheaper and for the same price you get a proper glass of wine.

We will definitely stay here again if we visit Chicago and you really cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for high room for (1) little street noise and (2) they do not allow (so we were told) dogs in fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
So glad to hear that you had a great time in Chicago and the Ryder Cup! Our location is definitely one of the best in Chicago, as we are in the middle of everything. We do offer complimentary Starbucks Coffee and Tazo tea in the lobby every morning, and we can also place a Keurig coffee maker in the rooms upon request.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Monaco is close to everything we wanted see and do in Chicago. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is fun. We are not a morning people. So free wine in the evening, rather than free breakfast, was just write for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. Glad to hear that you got to enjoy our wonderful evening manager hosted wine reception! It's definitely one of the most popular amenities that our chain of hotel's offer.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Monaco is in a perfect location, close to the train station (convenient from the airport), the river and the theatre. Loved the attention to details from the employees. From the door man to the concierge, to the bag handler, everyone was so attentive and happy. The fish bowl was too cute!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for leaving the nice review! I'm glad you got to experience our hotel and the amazing staff we have. Kimpton Hotels is ranked #16 in the Fortune's 100 Best Company to work for, and it speaks volumes about our great staff!!

Thank you again.

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Like someone mentioned before, it's all in the details. My best friend and I stayed at the Monaco for the weekend to celebrate our birthdays. As we entered the room we were gladly surprised to see that the hotel had arranged a "birthday cake" for us made out of towels, how cute is that!!! We also had the perfect room, 1415, great view of the city. We heavily relied on the recommendations of the concierges and they were both right on with the restaurant recommendations. Loved everything about the hotel. Thank you for a memorable weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoScherer, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving us the nice review! The room you stayed in is a nice large room with two queen beds and a beautiful view of the Chicago River.

Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your return!

Cheers,
Marco Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 225 N Wabash, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pure sensory indulgence at the Hotel Monaco Chicago. Nestled in the heart of downtown Chicago, this luxury hotel was named one of The Travel Channel's top 40 hotels in the country. Located on the Magnificent Mile, the hotel overlooks the Chicago River and is within steps of the city's favorite destinations. This dynamic location is matched by exceptional service, exquisite amenities, stylish décor and the adjacent South Water Kitchen, creating a luxuriously rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.