We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Intimate, Attentive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-15%
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Convenient, Intimate, Attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a very good place to stay in Chicago. Convenient to Millennium park, State Street, and Michigan Ave. The Valet and front desk staff was top notch. 4 star restaurant on the first floor. Plenty of elevators, no waiting. A very typical Kimpton property, an old building that has been restored in a classic, sophisticated way. Room is large and comfortable. Our faced directly up State Street at the Chicago theatre sign. Bathroom is VERY small. They have bikes to lend, wine social hour at 5:00 and multiple complimentary newspapers to choose from. Even the Sunday times! We’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room away from the street noise of chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Eatlocal1ofakind,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Chicago. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and services provided during this visit. We love making our guests happy and the staff works hard to exceed your expectations. Your five star review was most appreciated, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    223
    35
    17
    13
See reviews for
126
364
82
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent several nights here and everthing was wonderful. From the cordial, friendly reception to a very pleasant room with a great view it was all perfect. The atmosphere is casual and fun, and the well appointed period style with a contemporary twist was interesting and well done. We stayed on an upper 'historic' floor and the added cost was worth it. This is an iconic Chicago building and you should get the full benefit of staying in it. We were also given options for late check-out (added cost) that worked best with our schedule. The room was very comfortable and had all the comforts needed. Maid service was efficient. The neighborhood is convenient to many things and excellent for mid level shopping. The morning coffee in the lobby is excellent. We ate at the restaurant and it was terrific. We had a wonderful server and great food. We'd gladly go back.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner is best
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything seemed environmentally responsible. We were impressed by the details, including an emphasis on recycling.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear TomBoak,

Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. The world class ironic Reliance Building never let us down. The Staff is really what makes the experience and we can not accompolish any of this without them. Please keep all your friends about your experience, we want them to give us a try also. Can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chcago, Ill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First, you get a real key. A solid key. No getting up to your room only to find that your phone has magically demagnitized the key and having to trudge back downstairs.
The room was beautifully appointed, and very comfortable. I was on the 6th floor, facing Washington Street, with a view of Millenium Park, and it was very quiet. Location couldn't be better. The staff was friendly and courteous. Nice happy hour in the lobby. And the price was very reasonable. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Leilaluisa,

Thank you so much for giving us this amazing review. We are happy to know that the staff and services that were provided meet your expectations. The beauty of a real KEY. We are happy to be in the Reliance Building (first steel frame Skyscraper in the world). Please share your experience with your friends and family. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stay here often because it is conveniently located in Downtown Chicago. It is close to all of the great Chicago restaurants. The staff is awesome every single time I stay there. The only negative is that the rooms are small.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Tnutley,

Thank you for the wonderful review and thank your being a loyal Hotel Burnham fan... We really appreciate your business. I must agree with you the staff is amazing. We hope to see again really soon.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is so well located to Millennium Park, the theater district, and oodles of shopping you won't have to get weighed down with bags. This is my second stay in this historic hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The staff is lovely and the rooms are beautiful. This time I stayed in a double queen room and one bed practically floats over the street as it sits so close to a beautiful bay window. They think of everything from robes to an umbrella you can borrow if it's raining, even loaner bikes if you want to brave the streets of Chicago. There is a Walgreens right next door if you forget anything and the Target down the street is open until 11. The Atwood cafe seemed to be a hit but I wandered over to Seven on State in Macy's for awesome Mexican at Frontera grill. I love the historic details throughout the hotel and you can see some of the history of the building in the foyer near State Street. I hope to find a reason to stay again soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear SuperMommyJen5,

Thank you so much for staying with us, we are happy you had a wonderful visit to chicago and appreciate your kind words. We also hope that you can find time to stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Run, don't walk to stay at Kimpton's Hotel Burnham. My wife and I were traveling with another couple and from the moment we checked-in Concierge Jean-Luc and the entire staff made us feel welcome and special. These folks are in the customer service business and it shows.

Our king bed room on the historic fifteenth floor was large and bright with plenty of counter space in the bathroom. We could even see Lake Michigan from our window. The hotel location is perfect for sightseeing, shopping and theater; Millenium Park, "Chicago's front yard" is two blocks away. The Red and Blue Chicago Transit Authority ("the CTA") subway lines are literally across the street. Pizano's Italian restaurant and Berghoff German restaurant are a short walk away.

Put all of this together with free and fast Wi-Fi and a complimentary wine reception each evening and you have a memorable experience. Thanks again, Jean-Luc.

Breakfast tip: For a great breakfast try the Pittsfield Cafe at 55 E. Washington - a five minute walk from the hotel. Great food at very reasonable prices in the lobby of a historic building. Try the homemade corned beef hash - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the historic floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Frequenttraveleurope,

We absolutely love your review..... Thank you for the five star review.... It mean the world to us. Our goal to to make sure that every guests has first class experience with us. Our staff take full responsibility in this department. Without Jean-Luc and the rest of the team we would be just and average hotel. The location, attractions, staff and the history of the building make staying at the Burnham Hotel the Best place to stay. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future and please tell all your friends and family about the Burnham Hotel.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. A few of the highlights are: great location, heritage building, well-appointed rooms, great staff, free wine, great bar, and did I mention great staff? You have to experience the Burnham for yourself; you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurnhamGM, General Manager at Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Kevin H,

I'm very happy to hear that we did not disappoint. Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We really appreaciate all the kind thing you said. If I read the review correctly we will be BACK..... We really like to hear that.

Warm regards,

Tonya Scott
General Manager
Hotel Burnham
1 West Washington Street
1-312-782-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1 W Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#19 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the best hotels in the world, the Hotel Burnham is an intimate boutique hotel like no other. Housed in the landmark Reliance Building, now beautifully restored, the Hotel Burnham provides an authentic, luxurious and historic taste of the Windy City. In the heart of the Chicago Loop, across from Millennium Park, and adjacent to Atwood Café, the hotel is near Chicago's top destinations and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Kimpton
Hotel Burnham Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burnham - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.